Turbonetics 2nd Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 this is singapore forum. most countries are left hand drive. so we are wrong to have right hand drive? if you are not happy with the TP reply,go screw them. not vent over here. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 yah, a workround...u justify it cos you can't pass it..u brag about it and tell others to do the same thing... Sure is nice to have ppl like u serving NS time and protecting singapore... Until TP states its an offence, its NOT legally wrong to use the hazard lights in poor visibility...thats a point of law that you cannot deny...Or can you qoute the section which states that it is an offence? ICekitten made a very valid point...Legally right does not equate to morally right. but then, morals are fluid...they become subjective to individuals...some would rather die of hunger than steal a loaf of bread...some would kill to do the same...can you judge both then? Based on your own moral standards? This is where the law comes in... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 what does hazard lights tell you? I believe driving slow in heavy rain is a hazard especially when visibility is low.... or does hazard lights = stationery lights so what are hazards in your defintion? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 since driving with hazard light ON is legal,we should just move on and accept it. for those who think it is not right to do so,ask yourself have you ever stop by the roadside with hazardlight ON just to go and buy a copy of newspaper,waiting for someone...etc. is this the purpose of a hazard light? is this legal in the first place? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philiplolc Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 i probably pissed out alot of frequent hazard lights users out there.. but hey, if you can't take the truth its not my problem.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 Sure its ur problem...When u ram into a car's arse with his hazard lights on during poor visibility, you can't claim what he did was illegal...he'll claim insurance against you, and u pay the price... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Omletteville Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrgggghhhhhhhhhhhh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcff_1980 Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 yyyaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 you also monkey see monkey do. follow monkey to gain postings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 Using hazard lights while driving is illegal in many places, although most traffic police say its not strictly enforced. SG ppl are not the only ones confused about the usage of hazard lights... as using hazard lights in rainstorms:- can be very distracting during heavy rain, can only hear the sound of rain drops, cant even hear the radio what distraction ?? maybe if zhabor beside perform something, then distraction lah - cause glare that limits vision heavy rain already limit the vision so badly, if still got glaring, that means rain not so heavy after all! - confuses drivers ahead and behind only kuku drivers get confused Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 since driving with hazard light ON is legal,we should just move on and accept it. for those who think it is not right to do so,ask yourself have you ever stop by the roadside with hazardlight ON just to go and buy a copy of newspaper,waiting for someone...etc. is this the purpose of a hazard light? is this legal in the first place? Legally wrong does not necessarily equate to morally wrong. Okay! Let's move on! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 No point arguing anymore lah. Legally - IT IS NOT WRONG. Morally - IT IS SUBJECTIVE. So if you guys wanna carry on debating, do it on moral grounds alone ok. Legally dun talk anymore, pointless. However if it pleases youself to carry on arguing on "moral perspective", then my frens.............. this thread will never end.......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 so after the discussion,everybody still stick to what they morally think is right or wrong. let's peace. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philiplolc Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 (edited) the common definition of "hazard lights", not just mine, is for use during emergencies or when vehicle is a hazard or becoming a hazard.. and yes, a hazard is stationary.. or going to be stationary.. normal moving vehicles are not considered hazards.. Edited September 14, 2007 by Philiplolc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philiplolc Neutral Newbie September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 legally not wrong doesn't make it right.. unless you want a law for every little thing.. since u like examples, let me give u one.. you use a pen to a letter to a fren.. that's what pens are good for, writing words on paper.. but nobody is stopping you to use a whiteboard marker to write a letter.. sure it looks stupid, but you kiasu use whiteboard marker scared fren who has normal eyesight still cannot see your writing clearly.. is it legally wrong? of cos not.. but is it the proper use of the whiteboard marker? the fact that other countries think its serious enough to outlaw the use of hazard lights for moving vehicles already give you a hint about the proper use of hazard lights.. and unless its illegal in SG, you can use a whiteboard marker to write a letter all u want.. but doesn't make it right.. just improper.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear September 15, 2007 Share September 15, 2007 legally not wrong means it is definitely not wrong. using marker to write letter,i can't be bother. so why others bother people driving with hazard light on during unclear weather since it is not wrong to do so? when you said hazard light is for emergency,but most cars stopped at roadside with hazard light on just to go and buy 4D,is it correct to do so? why nobody is complaining since he is breaking the law by stopping by the roadside and it is not emergency? while people complain driving with hazard light on yet it is not an offence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philiplolc Neutral Newbie September 15, 2007 Share September 15, 2007 so why others bother people driving with hazard light on during unclear weather since it is not wrong to do so?i tot i already mentioned this.. in the first place in unclear weather drivers should automatically be driving extra carefully looking out for vehicles in front.. but these ppl kiasu worry that cars from behind cannot see them when their tail lights are good enough.. still can't see clearly turn the wipers at fastest speed.. and if still can't see clearly then should not even be driving at all.. move the vehicle to the left and stay there with hazard lights on to warn others.. when you said hazard light is for emergency,but most cars stopped at roadside with hazard light on just to go and buy 4D,is it correct to do so? turning on the hazard lights at roadside to buy 4d, buy dinner, wait for ppl, buy "wan pao", whatever.. the car is still a hazard and is still the proper usage of hazard lights.. why the car became a hazard is not the fault of the hazard lights.. those moronic drivers are breaking the law.. just like the whiteboard marker.. you use it to write on a whiteboard generally to explain things to ppl, say in a presentation.. but if you want to write unreadable gibberish and doodling nonsense in a meeting.. u still use a whiteboard marker to write on a whiteboard.. nothing wrong with using the whiteboard marker, its the person writing the gibberish that's the idiot.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philiplolc Neutral Newbie September 16, 2007 Share September 16, 2007 (edited) although i gotta say the whiteboard marker is not as good an example, bcos its doesn't endanger the lives of others, and its not car related.. a better analogy would be when cars use high beam lights on a brightly lit SG highway on a clear night.. that's very similar to using hazard lights in a rainstorm.. its also not illegal in SG, i think, but its just as improper, just as kiasu, and just as irritating.. Edited September 16, 2007 by Philiplolc ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...