Superwhite Neutral Newbie May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 he should on it, i on it too, but when i want to filter, i will off it and give sufficient time for the car behind to know my intention, so the one who start this post should learn this... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aeromania 1st Gear June 1, 2010 Share June 1, 2010 please leh , if its raining heaily , just turn on the headlights lor , the tail lights will automatically light up . and as what you quoted , IF the condition is really so bad that you can't even see 5m ahead of you , then the only rational thing to do is to slow down , find your nearest exit and head for a rest stop . Singapore standard of living high leh. How to afford a rest stop? Later CTR guy gets fired, his car get re-possessed then we can start to bid for his car. LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freifeit Neutral Newbie June 1, 2010 Share June 1, 2010 My Volvo came with rear fog light. I presumed all the Contis do have rear fog light as standard.. But I have yet to see one Jap fitted with rear fog light. Anyway, hazard lights should be used only when the driver observed hazard in front of him and he prepared to stop or may have emergency stop. Switching on hazard lights during rainy day on road will irritate and confuse drivers from the rear. With hazard lights on, other drivers may have difficulty to see your brake lights.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged June 1, 2010 Share June 1, 2010 My Volvo came with rear fog light. I presumed all the Contis do have rear fog light as standard.. But I have yet to see one Jap fitted with rear fog light. Anyway, hazard lights should be used only when the driver observed hazard in front of him and he prepared to stop or may have emergency stop. Switching on hazard lights during rainy day on road will irritate and confuse drivers from the rear. With hazard lights on, other drivers may have difficulty to see your brake lights.. last time my subaru TS have.... at least that is what the SE tell me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboy7718 Clutched July 23, 2010 Share July 23, 2010 (edited) Hazard lights should only be turned on when the car is stationary. As it is moving now, it becomes confusing if he later decides to use the right/left turn signal. Those following him will only see both blinkers on, and not be able to tell which direction he is going to. Whether it is a CTR or a Veyron, he shouldn't drive with hazard lights. Agree. If you are moving straight with double signal on, it is fine. Make sure you stick to it and do not pull over left or right to overtake car. If you are on the faster lane, you turn on and keep moving it is fine to me also. I need to turn it off first then give left/right signal, if I try to change lane to let the car behind know. This is the same topic that many local ppl like to use double signal to do reverse parking. As we understand it is the habit locally, we will be more caution when come to one car who suddenly turn on double signal when we are following him at the back. Some cars think that it is his private road, when suddently turn on then suddently do reserve parking and do not watch out how close the car follow him. At most case, I need to honk it. Really no one will know what do you want at the back! Edited July 23, 2010 by Beachboy7718 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear July 23, 2010 Share July 23, 2010 My Volvo came with rear fog light. I presumed all the Contis do have rear fog light as standard.. But I have yet to see one Jap fitted with rear fog light. You sure or not that you didn't even spot a MIJ with a rear fog light? or you are not looking at their rear hard enough? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear July 23, 2010 Share July 23, 2010 Common sense lah ...... how to signal when the hazard lights are turned on ? Hazard lights serve as "warning" to others that the car is stationery and it is not for used as warning when driving when it is raining or when visibility is low. For those that support the notion to use the hazard lights when raining, I really have nothing to say. By the way, turning on the headlights will also turn on the tail lights unless the tail light are not working. For info to those that not aware of the fact and insist to turn on the hazard lights when driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keira 4th Gear July 24, 2010 Share July 24, 2010 My Volvo came with rear fog light. I presumed all the Contis do have rear fog light as standard.. But I have yet to see one Jap fitted with rear fog light. My aunt's altis have rear fog light on the right side. Even the suzuki carry van have rear fog on it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Willydevil Neutral Newbie July 24, 2010 Share July 24, 2010 HAZARD lights ,,,which means what,,, bro ... wake up leh.... hazard lights not only use when it is stationary.. when d vision is blur in front of you on d HAZARD LIGHTS ,,, slow down let those bro. driving behind to be careful keep a distance away,,,, am i right .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yellowrx8 Clutched July 24, 2010 Share July 24, 2010 HAZARD lights is a warning for u to slow down, danger in front! Wat will ur first reaction when u see a car hazard lights on? U will confirm slow down ur speed. Scenario 1: I will on my hazard lights if there is a sudden braking in front. Then lane 1 all jam brake. Being the last car that manage to brake in time. I would on my hazard lights to indicate tat there is danger in front to those behind me. If not they can't brake in time. Scenario 2: Heavy downfall, can't see much in front but can onli see the idiot car in front braking continuous. I on the hazard lights becos the front car is a hazard and i dun wish to be kiss by some retards behind me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear July 24, 2010 Share July 24, 2010 HAZARD lights is a warning for u to slow down, danger in front! Wat will ur first reaction when u see a car hazard lights on? U will confirm slow down ur speed. Scenario 1: I will on my hazard lights if there is a sudden braking in front. Then lane 1 all jam brake. Being the last car that manage to brake in time. I would on my hazard lights to indicate tat there is danger in front to those behind me. If not they can't brake in time. Scenario 2: Heavy downfall, can't see much in front but can onli see the idiot car in front braking continuous. I on the hazard lights becos the front car is a hazard and i dun wish to be kiss by some retards behind me. Certain cars come with the feature in the event of a sudden braking scenario the car automatically switches on the hazard lights. But they don't remain on forever. So yes its only for Hazard Situations. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 24, 2010 Share July 24, 2010 (edited) But I have yet to see one Jap fitted with rear fog light. Both my Subaru WRXes (2002 and 2005) had them. I honestly have no idea about whether my Vios has one, though. Edited July 24, 2010 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 24, 2010 Share July 24, 2010 (edited) Common sense lah ...... how to signal when the hazard lights are turned on ? Hazard lights serve as "warning" to others that the car is stationery Not true. It's for signalling a sudden and unexpected hazard of some sort - e.g. if traffic suddenly comes to a crawl in front of you (not necessarily a complete stop), it's good etiquette and safe practice to momentarily turn on hazards. This is an international convention, and I (and others) in Sg do this too. This is in addition to its most commonly recognised use as indicating when a car has come to a stop in an unexpected or dangerous position, e.g. anywhere in the middle of the road, or at the shoulder on the e'way. The usual understanding of the Hazards is to signal a problem of some sort, and not just that the car has been stopped. However, Singaporeans often use the lights indiscriminately to signal that their car has been parked, especially when the parking is illegal and/or likely to cause inconvenience to others. I think this is often partially a defensive strategy - if a cop comes asking, you can say you had momentary mechanical issues and the car was threatening to stall or whatever so you pulled over for safety, but miraculously, it's all better now. But it isn't correct usage of Hazard lights. And, strictly speaking, neither is usage in a parallel or reverse parking situation - supposed to use signals there, but often idiot drivers follow too closely behind (then refuse to back up) unless you flash hazards at them to wake up their bloody ideas. and it is not for used as warning when driving when it is raining or when visibility is low. For those that support the notion to use the hazard lights when raining, I really have nothing to say. I agree with you here. Hazard use in low visibility is not an international convention. It can be very dangerous because hazards generally mean stopped or slow traffic, which means traffic behind would tend to slow down more than "usual" when they see hazards. Dangerous in slick conditions. Use tail-lights and rear fogs (if you have them) for low visibility and heavy rain. Don't follow the Malaysians, they are not practising the right thing here. BTW, there's a whole thread on this. Edited July 24, 2010 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear July 24, 2010 Share July 24, 2010 I support Team Jacob. Oh, I mean I support turn on hazard if the visibility is really bad. I think many bros have explain the pros & con. In the end, there is no right or wrong answer, but rather, which is the better option. I feel turn on hazard is a slightly better choice. In any case, if you see a person put on hazard, or didn't, don't get angry lah. He may be team Pattson or team Jacob, technially no wrong in either choice. Just drive safely in the heavy rain, & turn on your lights. Best is don't drive if you don't have to. Drive only after the rain stop or something. Cheers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...