Madsumm 1st Gear September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 I, on contrary, would not suggest to go through grading systems for adults. Its too much to go through initially. Just take it easy and enjoy the ride. And, its not going to be an easy ride, anyway you look at it. Ok,... nice time to wake the right side of your brain!! Rgds ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear September 12, 2007 Author Share September 12, 2007 Thank you everyone for your kind inputs....just got myself a teacher, a close friend's bro. Really excited about it...for years, i have been thinking abt it and now finally taking concrete actions. Cheers!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 is christofori adult piano lesson expensive ? charge per hour ? Quote 1) i think christofori is a fine school from learn. go for the pop song adult classes since u not the classical kind.. 2) never too late to learn anything.. but fingers are not as nimble compare to the kids.. effort are much much needed. 3) get those digital pianos.. they are not made to feel like those normal kind. book for classes, go for 1 lesson and search online for which pianos suits u best and then get advice from the instructor.. happy learning.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 i not sure about price ley.. i learn from there 15 years ago.. but got a friend pick up piano over there a while ago.. he seems happy about it.. maybe the instructor quite chio.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 haha .... maybe i should INSIST for a instructor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 Quote I can teach you for a small fee. PM me. I teach guitars, drums and bass guitars too for part time. http://kcarclubsg1975.spaces.live.com/ u got teach saxaphone? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 Quote Porker teaches how to play the ORGAN er, I shan't specify which ORGAN Siang kar pager??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 (edited) Quote Piano is a piano, doesn't matter if its Digital or real acoustics.Even for acoustics, the feel and touch is different. Don't need to compare with digital However, in SG, digital seems to fit well. Plug in earphones.. and you can play your nights away without waking your neighbours... and no need to spend money twice yearly to tune your piano coz.. digital.. always perfectly tuned... I beg to differ, if you actually intend to go through all 9 grades of the piano, you will not say this. There are so much difference in the key weights between digital and real piano. Even a high quality digital keyboard with weighted keys will not sound the same, will not play the same as pianos using strings. It's just like saying a guitar is a guitar, but everyone knows the wood quality of a guitar matters so much that it determines whether the sound come out is crap or a note. It's the same for piano and other instruments. IMHO, digital piano can only max allow one to go up to grade 6. Beyond that, have to invest on a real piano, the catch here is, if your habits and foundation has been wrong (because it was not corrected ) from the digital stage, its very hard to unlearn and learn back the good habits to get all the feel correct. Just my 2 cents. Edited September 12, 2007 by Slowmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 If you are totally noob to music, including reading taugeh, then the Yamaha Pop Piano is ideal. If you want to buy a piano, get the Yamaha Clavinova Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 Quote 1) Where is a good place to learn? Any recommendation? I'm looking for a music school but there are just too many choices 2) Dumb question...but is it too late? I'm in mid 20s and everyone has been telling me that i'm too old to start. 3) Should i get a piano first then go for lessons or vice versa? I'm looking at those digital pianos first before getting the real mccoy... 1) Depends on how you want to learn, there are schools that offer group and individual tuition. There are private tutors as well. If you go according to grading, be aware that certain schools do not use the more popular accreditation. eg. yamaha has their own accreditation. 2) In a way, those people are telling the truth. Musical instruments requires a lot of discipline, time and effort. Also, as adults, our fingers are not as nimble or flexible, and we must commit time, effort and lots of practice. But it's not the end of the world, we just need a lot more practice than the kids, thats all. If music is not your passion, then pray that you have more discipline. 3) Piano (unlike guitar) is quite an expensive investment, the tuition fee is high, (thats why a lot of people prefer to be piano teachers), can range from 40-250 a month (of 4 x 45 mins lessons) depending on grades. And we are not prodigies, so one grade can take from 6 months to a year (or more at the last few grades) to master, remember the time part I said earlier? This is where kids can afford to mess around. Investment on a piano, depends on how serious you are, I've seen people buy then leave it there 2 mths later and thats it. It becomes an expensive shelf. But if you are really going into piano, a decent beginner piano is going to cost you between 3k-5k. The make and origin of wood for the piano matters also, china,korean, indonesia, japan (i think they outsource already), malaysia. Get something that will last you at least 6 grades. But bear in mind that, there are particular models that will be use in the official exams. I strongly believe digital pianos of any kind, are not one of them. So far, this is some information that I've collected in my journey to learning musical instruments. Hope they are still correct. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 (edited) wah lau. that one can do mixing.... but IMHO, the keys don't give a good feel but too expensive la, the price can get a entry level digital kawai or a nice standing grand piano leh. IMHO, kawai digital sounds better and the keys are quite close to the real thing. Edited September 12, 2007 by Slowmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 The keys are real weighted piano keys with very good touch response, and have full 7 octaves or 88 keys, I think. The entry level models cost about $1.5k plus and should be good to classical piano learning. The added features will make playing less boring. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 (edited) which model u are talking about ar? The one I saw was quoted to me at 5.5k something. I remember there were only 2 models then. the other is 4k + ... is this a new model? Because I remember yamaha piano is never under 2k especially entry level ones will not have weighted keys, the only one I was able to find is kawai. Edited September 12, 2007 by Slowmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 The CLP series but I always feel that Yamaha is better than other brands in this area. http://music.yamaha.com/products/categoryP...5769?groupId=16 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 (edited) the entry level CLP keys are of different weights than the higher levels. Anyway, I've tried out for myself for 2 models of the CLP, don't like the keys even compared to their acoustic T121. The CLPs are too 'fake'. AFAIK, casio and roland are the leaders of digital keyboards/pianos, as usual, my info may be dated. Btw, have you touched a steinway? Lovely piece of art.... I know not highest quality brand, but maybe I sua ku never see before. Bo bian, I noobie ma. That day when I saw, i keep molesting the piano. Anyway, these are some luxuries I can't have anymore... can only dream. Edited September 12, 2007 by Slowmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 Quote haha .... maybe i should INSIST for a instructor u should... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 You will not want to sian piano instructors... they are naggy as hell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 i won't wanna want to.. its like suicide.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...