Difference VTEC Sohc & Dohc

Llfr

a 2L CRV engine can overtake a RX7 .. dont joke brother .. i dont know much but i sure know RX7 with the Rear wheel drive is power man ...

that 2L CRV engine at most generate 150bhp leh ... RX7 is 180 or something???

Ok ...

I think of all jap cars ... Honda engineering is the best i think...that why i see many Civic on the road .. new ones... also seen one boy at my condo carpark pasting a 2.0 Emblem on his civic [;)]

Vtec is jus a variable valve lift thingy.... BMW called theirs VANOS, Mitsubishi called it MIVEC....

does not mean u got Vtec ur engine is super power ranger liao... have to see the cam profile design... those newer SOHC Vtec engines are not made for power in mind.... more suited towards fuel economy and power range in the drivable rpm range.

there are too many mis-concept abt Vtec evolving ard for so many years...

I am considering getting the 2L Civic .. it's cheap now ... but can it outrun a RX7 ? i dont want to loose to my classmate!

if you talking about FD 2.0Si.. no u dont stand a chance with the rx-7

if you talking about a fully lightened ef/eg/ek hatchback with modded b20c.. yes it will smoke the crap out of the rx7 even in NA.. not talking about TC yet

different class of car....depending on wat type of race... if drag, a fully lightened civic with B20 will definitely put a run for the money against the RX7..

however if its in the circuit, tat may be a different story.

anyway, both class of car are so far apart to have a far comparision.

Its kinda weird that older engines are much powerful isn't it?

not really weird... those days, u dun have oil crisis... not so much global warming concerns.... so car's requirement are much different.

now, the car are made to be fuel economical in mind & ozone friendly..

90s is the time u'll see 1.6 NA engine giving u 130-190hp range....

now... its like 125hp is hoo haa ...ahaha

i can have a non-Vtec B16A that is giving more horses than a Vtec B16A..... i know there are some guys running locked cams in the Civic.

depending on the amount of work done on the engine and of course type of cam profile used.

dynaway bro u seem quite well versed in the B

i have never heard of locked cams before, could you care to enlighten me and how it can have more hp

im running b20 high-block with oversize piston, pnp b16 head and block guard, done in msia.

Yeah, its quite a shame to see a TC'ed 'todays' 1.6 churning out max of 175 when a 90s NA can do the same. [sweatdrop]

An old B16 if TC'ed + N2O will give those new 'performance' cars a real shock. Though, the maintenance and sourcing for parts, not to mention legality will kill. [sweatdrop]

whaha.... wat i know is jus peanuts lah..

locked cams are jus Vtec-less cam for the B/D series engine... nothing much special

depends on the cam profile... u need to know wat u r building the engine for.

i guess u r running B20B overbored with H22 piston.

some people said the DOHC Vtec opens twice one at aorund 5000rpm and the other at around 7200rpm.

there are no facts to prove though.

EK3 1.5 Vti does tat,but its SOHC

I 'll like to reinstated that EK3 VTi is 3-stage Vtec but only open once.

Rev 1 - 3K

runs on 12 valve == fuel efficent

Rev 3-6K

open up to 16 valve == normal fuel intake

6 to redline

Cam lifted ( Vtec open) == Chiong mode

What is that EK that's being used by the driving school??? one of my friend run a red light on his test ...but yet passed (according to him) the tester say it's okay because Vtec kicked in that caused the surge ... so in the end it was said the running of the red light is caused by the vtec

Wolverine,i enjoy your humour.thumbsup.gif

but the EK used in driving school does not have Vtec.

it is Civic Exi.not Vti nor SiR.

some people said the DOHC Vtec opens twice one at aorund 5000rpm and the other at around 7200rpm.

there are no facts to prove though.

Anyway if those ppl tat dun floor accelerator one, will DOHC vtec engine be redundant as it will not have chance to open at 7200rpm??

might as well drive a Sunny.tongue.gif