Difference VTEC Sohc & Dohc

Llfr

u really never see before eg vs wrx run before? haiz

stock to stock the weight diff is over 300 kg liao

no need explain so much to u lah, weekend u got time, u go 40tiangs, tuas or GP or PG sat nite sprint see lah.

you are right.

i qute u an example, my fren said to test my ride against a EG, so i ask what engine, he say same engine as mine lor H22A 2.2L. then i say, test for what sure lose what, his power to weight ration sure win me liao... then he say but both same engine mah.

somemore he say, if the guy engine is only 2L or smaller than it is like i play cheat, i 'makan' him like that... [sweatdrop]

i was like [sweatdrop] . Certain cars have bigger CC for a certain reason. den argue and argue, then i say orh ok lor u win.... [:/]

so after everything, it only depends on how deep your pocket is

Edited by Galantspeedz

250horses and over 330 Nm ... Stock bro ... and that's just the 2.0

look at it this way, it is easier and cheaper to mod a car that is 8secs flat to 5.5 secs then to mod a car from 5.5 secs to 4 secs.

and i do know a evo that can makan ferrari ro lambo at least for pick-up but hor far can it go then i duno liao

except for Honda Civic R eninge claiming cam phasing with SOHC configuration, this partially right only for marketing purpose.

1. Would you say Honda SOHC V6 VTEC engine used in their RL model is also partially right only for marketing purpose?

2. Would a SOHC VTEC be really less tunable? SOHC would be cheaper to manufacture? Why are we not seeing cheaper SOHC Cars around like Impreza, Civic, Octy and etc? May be DOHC makers enjoy econ of scales.

Regards,

I mentioned that so far I never see cam-phasing ability on SOHC, honda call them i-Vtec on R18 engine because it can shut one valve during low RPM not really cam-phasing true meaning. Marketing strategy.....

Subaru claiming DOHC, another marketing ploy. Boxer engine is 180 degree oppossed of courde there 2 cam shafts one for intake and exhaust left bank pistons and the other for right bank pistons. True DOHC in Subaru boxer enginer is called QUAD CAM!!! there will 4 cam shafts so each cylinder bak will have individual intake and exhaust cam shaft.

Example Legacy i only 120 HP (not sure) running on SOHC (false DOHC as claimed by SE).

Legacy R is 165 HP running on quad cam (this real mc coy DOHC engine)

The rest no comments I am not a auto maker...

like that no meaning already lah ... an EG can be modded with Rocket turbine jet that one can outrun a ferrari

Honda make NA cars to give turbocharged cars a chance.

otherwise driving other cars become meaningless.laugh.gif

people who play car all know, never to take a EF/EG/EK hatch lightly

inside the lightweight body u will never know what kind of engine is inside [sly]

take a b20b n match it with toda pistons, jun3 cams and a quadtrottle, can easily achieve well-well-well in excess of 200++bhp in NA. and it is not expensive to get it done in msia [sly]

combine it with a fully lighten chassis (as light as 800+kg) , it is more than enough to smoke the crap out of any base/ light-mod rex/evo

i never sat on a heavily modd vtec before.

only drove 1 stock 92esi before. the 1st car i drove before legal age of driving.

very powerful quite good. better den alot of 1.6 i must say. can imgine if sir zhing heavy. how?

Yap test it b4 with a rex(long story dun intend to tok about since quite sometime ago) but after that no more. my ride everywhere dented people also want to disturb me on the road!!!! sight. in fact many times kena disturb but i just hack care. fyi i not those kind of people think i got higher bhp and like to eat other car. [;)]

My eg is NA b20 not turbo. not keen on turbo. what mod done sorry can't tell. just treat it as a normal engine. my ride is simple no guages at all. really look stock with no kits. simple setup thats all.

the 210bhp 1.7 civic lor...

had a drag with a ES civic, but duno is 1.5, 1.6,1.7 or 1.8, from traffic light. All the time, the civic was half a car behind/next to me only....

but come to think of it, if really is 210bhp on wheels, the civic may have overtaken me liao [laugh]