Why no life guard around, after so many incidents

Meecar

Boy, 10, drowns in condo pool

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,...,141319,00.html?

2 Jun 2007 - Anna Lim Pei Er, 6, drowned in Rasa Sentosa resort's swimming pool.

14 Apr 2007 - Madam Wei Li, 35, a Chinese national, drowned in Changi Court swimming pool.

1 Dec 2006 - Mr Arndt Starke, 39, a German national, drowned in the spa pool at Goldenhill Park condo in Mei Hwan Drive.

26 Jun 2005 - Chua Siew Ling, 12, drowned at Hillington Green condominium's pool.

26 Jun 2002 - Mr Zhang Yuhua, 22, drowned at Parkview Condo's pool.

u should see the secu guards at my place... i think i will be drown and dead if they gonna save me.. most are of grandfather ages liao... [sweatdrop] wat timing will the life guards work?? 24/7?

how to lock a pool out of use ?? some like late nite swim.. some like in the morning... they put a sign stating swim at own risk.. or kids to accompany by adults..

2 Jun 2007 - Anna Lim Pei Er, 6, drowned in Rasa Sentosa resort's swimming pool.

14 Apr 2007 - Madam Wei Li, 35, a Chinese national, drowned in Changi Court swimming pool.

1 Dec 2006 - Mr Arndt Starke, 39, a German national, drowned in the spa pool at Goldenhill Park condo in Mei Hwan Drive.

26 Jun 2005 - Chua Siew Ling, 12, drowned at Hillington Green condominium's pool.

What part of "swim at your own risk" is difficult to understand?

Should the state also mandate compulsory installation of a voice chip in every car that says" Why you go so fast?!" whenever the car exceeds 110kmh? Or that everytime a packet of cigarettes is sold, that the cashier must remark: "You want to die painfully ah?!" Or whenever you buy big sweep or Toto or 4D: "You almost sure to lose the money you know?!"

not all condo can be install gates.. some condo's designs and spaces might not allow..

the safety should be in the hands of the swimmers themselves... self-discipline and safety awareness is highly needed.. fittings of gates can still be broken into..

My area aso dun hv security guards to guard the pool. Once a while, they will sit a distance at the gym cos when we (residents) ned to go gym, we ned to sign in & out.

IMO, This is so typical singaporean mentality. U are responsible for you and your family members' safety in swimming pool (public or private) Everything also ask for government. U wan life guard, u pay more, u pay more u kpkb.

If u cant swim, dun go swimming pool or seaside.

I guess it depends on the MCST .... perhaps under the current ruling ... it is not necessary to have a lifeguard around.

If they make it mandatory to have life guard .... then the MCST will wanna increase the maintenance fees .... and if that's the case .... the resident will make noise.

So if they were to go by vote .... then perhaps most will vote NOT to have ... so that they don't have to pay additional $$.

So it's a "chicken and egg" story .....

not all condo can be install gates.. some condo's designs and spaces might not allow..

the safety should be in the hands of the swimmers themselves... self-discipline and safety awareness is highly needed.. fittings of gates can still be broken into..

in tat case no choice but to drain out the water when the pool is closed

for those in the MC for condo, they should engage a lifeguard. probably they cost in region of 1.2k or so. divide this by number of residents...it shouldnt be that substantial

then we can reply "hey i dun use carpark as i dun have cars..so i dun pay maintenance fees for that...forget to add..i dun like flowers/bushes...pls dun include me for billing of the agriculture maintenance ppl!" [laugh]