Whats the best war movie u have watched?

Trusty

I saw one movie during my ICT, Mel Gibson is the Col. American fighting with Vietnam. Dunno wats the name liao. Not bad!

================================

We were Soldiers - Starring Mel Gibson.

Yah....it is a pretty cool movie. It depcited the Battle of Ia Drang which was the first major encounter that the US had in the Vietnam War.

It was based on the non-fiction work called "We were Soldiers Once...... And Young" and it was written by Lt. General Hal Moore (the Mel Gibson character in the movie) and Joseph Galloway who was attached to Hal Moore's regiment as a war reporter.

I read the book and I must say the movie made the Americans looked much better than they really were.

The Mel Gibson movie only showed the battle of Landing Zone (LZ) X-ray and the Viet Cong really cut the Americal troops into pieces.

However in the book, you will read about a subsequent battle of LZ Albany where the yanks were completely decimated. They really had their tails between their legs when they pulled out.

Ironically it was this "defeat" that convince the Americans to pour more troops into Vietnam.

Edited by Wreckwrx

it will have to be Full Metal Jacket for me ..[;)]

Yah the part where the drill master got shot dead by Private "Piles" in the toilet reminded me of the case of the mad guy who turned around in the foxhole and shot his PC some years ago.

Tks for telling me the title!

In the movie, its like got Helicopter then win liao lor. haha..

Mel gibson say something like he will be the first to step on to the war field and last to step out of it. [thumbsup]

My #1 choice is Hunt for the Red October

as per the title.. whats ur best? just to start, i have a few which i like..

1. black hawk down

2. thin red line

3. behind enemy line

4. windtalkers

5. saving private ryan

6. platoon

7. band of bros

8. pearl habour

9. adolf hitler

Hey Hey Hey....you all forgot about "All Quiet On The Western Front" The ultimate on trench warfare in WW1...How about "Stalingrad" made in the early 80s??

1. black hawk down

2. thin red line

3. behind enemy line

4. windtalkers

5. saving private ryan

6. platoon

7. band of bros

8. pearl habour

9. adolf hitler

10. Full metal jacket (1987) [thumbsup]

漢武大帝

V11067-D.jpg

the epic of 3 generations. a young prince who watch his sister princess being sent off to be a bride in the mongolian camp so that they will not wage war on han dynasty.. eventually he accomplished to end 50 yr of internal turmoil, rid traitors and destroy the mongolian by beating them in their own game.

Band of Brothers really hit the spot.... Remind me of my ns days.... That time my battalion kena mobilized for the manhunt at tekong. Me and my platoonmates watched the movie before that to get in the mood. [rifle]

More to add to the list:

- Gallipoli (with Mel Gibson)

- The Lighthorsemen (WWI move about the battle of Beersheba)

- Lawrence of Arabia

- Glory (US civil war movie)

- Gettysburg (civil war movie)

- Akira Kurosawa's Ran

- Kagemusha