Choose your NEXT car wisely?

Meecar

doesn't really matter for us does it? hardly anyone in singapore drives until that kind of mileage. always by 5th year or so sell car alr.
hmm...possible ah.... mine only 2.5 yrs already done 110k km le.....

[sweatdrop][sweatdrop] sale line?errmmmm....no leh...just tt i go out often..... :-) so far no problems....

Edited by Sfrtuscani

Then what's the point of owning a car?

That is the old mentality when there's only COE to control the car price and it was sky high. Once you got a car, you should use it as much as possible to get the maximum value out of it.

However, I believe there's such a thing as quality of driving. Different people has different threshold. For me, if there's a certain level of jam and certain level of difficulty of finding a parking lot, I will give driving a miss.

For parking difficulty, jam traffic, expensive parking charges, ERP, i already start to minimize unnecessary traveling to town during peak period liao. I think this is what govt want us to do, minimize unnecessary traveling. Cars can bring convenience but over and unnecessary usage will cause inconvenience to both driver and other road users.

Thanks vidz!!!

Do you still have to go through the bid process (COE) if you want to renew your COE? or just drop by LTA office and get a renew COE at the current rate???

[confused]

Anyone

over the years since model T from ford

cars should be getting better and last longer

that is why I cannot understand why we cant keep cars longer but will be penalised for doing so

on the other hand,

my grandma's fridge is still going on strong >25years some Kelvinator brand

but my new fridge, LG and Whirlpool died after 2-3years of use respectively

when asked about repair the guy said the repair would be more expensive than buying a new fidge because the design of these new fridge have everything built in.

what to do?

Life is filled with contradictions

[:)]

This is the product of Consumerism fueled by Capitalistic greed. When I'm doing my Engineering degree, we were taught to include a "useable life span" into the design of a single or a few key components of the end product. This normally coincides with the warranty period [:p] The costs of replacing such components will not be very economical as compared to buying a new one. So, what to do? Spoilt? Buy a new one lor! If not, all those bosses will have not enough $$$ to buy their yatch or planes or Bentleys.

My Dad used to be a proud carpenter who can boast that the furnitures he made can last a few generations. My Mum will then sarcastically jokes that that's the reason he is out of business... [laugh]

my ride 3 yrs old and mileage only 50k niah.. sigh.. not OPC.

dunno buy for what.

Mine approaching 3 years and mileage only 30k! Not even OPC. I buy it for convenience. Got family too. Sick of taking public transport and jam-session with other people. Waste time too. I save about 50% of total travelling time.

over the years since model T from ford

cars should be getting better and last longer

that is why I cannot understand why we cant keep cars longer but will be penalised for doing so

on the other hand,

my grandma's fridge is still going on strong >25years some Kelvinator brand

but my new fridge, LG and Whirlpool died after 2-3years of use respectively

when asked about repair the guy said the repair would be more expensive than buying a new fidge because the design of these new fridge have everything built in.

what to do?

Life is filled with contradictions

[:)]

[nod]

400km per week is not under utilised.

400k per week = 20,000k per year which is the average.

mine is slightly higher, about 500k per month.

dunno buy for what.

my colleague's one is 30k km for more thatn3 years. [:p]

doesn't really matter for us does it? hardly anyone in singapore drives until that kind of mileage. always by 5th year or so sell car alr.

Agreed.... it's a matter of whether got money to change car comfortably only.

400km per week is not under utilised.

400k per week = 20,000k per year which is the average.

mine is slightly higher, about 500k per month.

dunno buy for what.

My dad's car 3 yrs 8mths, mileage not even 20k and he drives everyday. Muahahahaha [sunny][cool]