Dipstick Neutral Newbie September 6, 2007 Share September 6, 2007 Is it a requirement, under the law, that everyone should have with him/her his/her identity card whenever he/she is asked to produced it by a police officer? A member of the SPF stated that it is not a requirement (see Forum page of ST, 7th Sept. 2007). I have always thought that it is......... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie September 7, 2007 Share September 7, 2007 Matas can ask to check your IC...but if u have some other form of ID, and they are satisfied, then I guess they won't arrest... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dipstick Neutral Newbie September 7, 2007 Author Share September 7, 2007 What if you do not have any other form of ID? Question is: Is it a requirement by law for one to have his IC with him at all times? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie September 7, 2007 Share September 7, 2007 Dun think so...from the Criminal Procedure Code online...doesn't say anything abt IC... Refusal to give name and residence. 33. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear September 7, 2007 Share September 7, 2007 If it's not a requirement, have IC for what? Keep at home and collect dust? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear September 7, 2007 Share September 7, 2007 No ... you don't have to ... think unless it is later than 10pm .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dipstick Neutral Newbie September 7, 2007 Author Share September 7, 2007 Quote:" If it's not a requirement, have IC for what? Keep at home and collect dust?" Unquote. That's exactly what I thought....... The IC is for identification purposes. If it is not meant to be carried on our person then what is the point of having one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear September 7, 2007 Share September 7, 2007 The Singapore laws never ceases to amaze or shock me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged September 7, 2007 Share September 7, 2007 The last time when I had to get my IC replaced due to pick-pocket, I posed this qtn to the MIB at the police station. He said, bring along a photocopy of yr IC plus yr driving license will suffice. So, now my IC is happily sitting in the bank vault The downside is, I need to bring my passport along when I need to access my vault Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear September 7, 2007 Share September 7, 2007 (edited) A bit LL right? So bring an IC along is still the best, although it's not required by the law? Edited September 7, 2007 by Typhoonz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged September 7, 2007 Share September 7, 2007 Ah the prob is MIB nvr give a Yes or No answer to whether is it required. Just replied if u can show proof of yr identify together with yr address can liao. Worse case, MIB will follow u home just for u to show them yr IC But then, what to expect fm the govt, can nvr give a definite answer. Only can commit answer when wanting to suck our monies. In this case, then we hv not choice but gong gong give in lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear September 7, 2007 Share September 7, 2007 I don't think they know also lor... If they are sure, they would have given you a definate answer... MIB will follow you home meh? Not throw you in the lockup and you have to get your family members to bring your IC to bail you out? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear September 7, 2007 Share September 7, 2007 its not necessary to bring ur NRIC with u..driving licence is enough already. u can also give ur particulars verbally but subject to the MIBs. if they haf a reason to believe it's not true, u can be brought back the station for ascertain particulars... in short, bring some form of ID like driving licence for the very least. why make ur own life diffcult? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie September 7, 2007 Share September 7, 2007 Quote:" If it's not a requirement, have IC for what? Keep at home and collect dust?"Unquote. That's exactly what I thought....... The IC is for identification purposes. If it is not meant to be carried on our person then what is the point of having one? Ahhh..History my friend, History...Why do we have ICs now? Because back in your great grandfather days, it was one of the measures in place to fight communist insurgents by having oneslf registered at the NRO...Proof of such registration ... NRIC card... The insurgents today are no less insidious... They film MRT stations and tracks to plot mass injuries to oblivious citizens who jus wanna talk abt cars all day... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shir Neutral Newbie September 7, 2007 Share September 7, 2007 even student's ez-link can do the job..a number of times, when i need to change to some visitor pass of a building, i just pass them my ez-link card and that does the job perfectly. if it's not a requirement, then maybe should just keep your IC safe. replacement of IC need to pay, $100 i think. unless you are able to prove that your IC is stolen. please correct me if i'm wrong about it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear September 7, 2007 Share September 7, 2007 No ... you don't have to ... think unless it is later than 10pm .... you not kidding are you? i'm quoting from a legal website "Under the present law, it would appear that it is not an offence to be without your identity card but the officer stopping you has the right to require that it be produced at a stated time and place. " Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear September 7, 2007 Share September 7, 2007 So what will happen if you fail to produce your IC at the stated time and place? So it's still a requirement lor... Aiyah... ICs are card sized for a certain reason... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gilgamesh Neutral Newbie September 7, 2007 Share September 7, 2007 if it's not a requirement, then maybe should just keep your IC safe. replacement of IC need to pay, $100 i think. unless you are able to prove that your IC is stolen. please correct me if i'm wrong about it.. If you lost your IC, the FIRST thing you need to do asap is to make a police report. That's very very important. OT a bit, I lost my passport before and I have to make a police report asap and then report to ICA to have a replacement. The ICA officer then interviews me and made me sign a declaration that I truly lost the passport before issuing a new one to me..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...