Acemundo Supercharged September 6, 2007 Share September 6, 2007 yeah lo. whatever price of COE they have and what level of ERP they implement jams are still here. so what type of good system are we paying to the roof for? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear September 6, 2007 Author Share September 6, 2007 (edited) Yah loh, everyone is so happy happy buy and buy, almost everything has increase in price liao. Not only more ERP to come, I just heard Caltex increase petrol price by another 2 cents yesterday . Edited September 6, 2007 by Ahyoo2002 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear September 6, 2007 Share September 6, 2007 (edited) but if it is being towed away so regularly, there will b less cars on the road. plus those used cars in the carmart. so technically tat statement still don't make sense. let's see. Do you agree there are people who can barely afford cars buying cars that adds to the jam with $0 down and 10 yrs loan? I did not mention regularly. I 've been on the road for the past 3 yrs and seeing more towed SG cars recently. More is relative. Just a observation with no statistics to back me. No need to pick on tat technically ya? Aint we all lamenting about how more ppl are joining the jam? Edited September 6, 2007 by Peqasus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nus24 Neutral Newbie September 6, 2007 Share September 6, 2007 This COE has survived for the past 17 years. Citizens have being complaining for the past 17 years (hmmmm...almost as long as I came into this world) What can be more fair? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freemen 2nd Gear September 6, 2007 Share September 6, 2007 I also complain, I complain ever since I born as a baby. When I was born , i complain hungry, place too cold etc etc.. My mode of complain, I CRY & CRY Peace Bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear September 6, 2007 Share September 6, 2007 how cud there b too many cars? the increase in car is fixed at 3-5%, one car in, one car out. the problem as usual is too many pple heading to the same direction at abt the same time excabated by idiotic driving behavior squeezing in betw lanes, road hoggers and heavy truckers. for the expressway, i think the best option is really reducing the nos of entry points to deter use of expressway as convenience and increasing the nos of exit points so more cars tat r caught in the congestion can filter out. They are gonna gradually reduce the no. of COEs...slowly though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear September 6, 2007 Share September 6, 2007 Ask any Indonesia which period they prefer...guess 99 out of a 100 will tell you Suharto time is better...Ask me which COE period I prefer...I will say when those time during close bidding when a piece of paper is worth 50k better.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 6, 2007 Share September 6, 2007 eh... lemme get back to the equation every year increase is only 3-5% so say this year 100 next year is 103, ie 3 more pple get to drive. u say more pple buying and spending w/o thinking... eh.. if say got 30 such person out of 100 so we place tat 30 pple into the 103. now. something wrong. to balance into 103, and hv 30 more drivers. smthg got to go. so there must b pple who gave up driving also. becos end of the day, still only 103 cars. dun really add to a serious jam anymore serious then it is. --- ur argument abt pple who cannot afford yet buy is therefore secondary. and as to their fate, no diff fr those in states with the subprime problem. some who r smarter comes in to MCF to argue their case and may walk away not to fall into the trap.but is only tat much we can do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear September 6, 2007 Share September 6, 2007 high COE is bad for every one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear September 6, 2007 Share September 6, 2007 i thk its good for existing owners like me to fight the temptation to change cars regularly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear September 6, 2007 Author Share September 6, 2007 This COE has survived for the past 17 years.Citizens have being complaining for the past 17 years (hmmmm...almost as long as I came into this world) What can be more fair? You so young ah How I envy you, so yound can afford a car liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear September 6, 2007 Author Share September 6, 2007 (edited) Hehe, I still prefer to pay $5k for COE, $50K can buy a car liao . Edited September 6, 2007 by Ahyoo2002 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear September 6, 2007 Author Share September 6, 2007 I support you, 100 * 1.03 = 103, no matter how much this 103 people paid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear September 6, 2007 Share September 6, 2007 could be honda jazz / fit hoh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear September 6, 2007 Author Share September 6, 2007 Yah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear September 6, 2007 Share September 6, 2007 hey think we got off on the wrong foot. Din know my comments rub you the wrong way rd this much. My apologies. Think we getting off the thread here. It's really about the COE isnt it? COE is used as a measure to control the car population. your calculation focuses on jam. I was trying to comment on how all these funny COE fluctuations occur using the SG cars taken off road as the tip of the iceberg. Bear with me. There are people who can afford or needs a car. There are people who can barely afford. Watever the case, low barrier to purchase makes it easier to purchase cars. Hence they join in the bidding too. If govt insist on 30% downpayment, we see if it controls the number of bids. For a $40K car + 10K COE =$15K downpayment For a $40K car +5K COE = $13.5K downpayment This will assist in ensuring that the buyer can afford at least cash 10K to begin with regardless of COE fluctuation. 30% is just for illustration. However, the control it can exert on the COE bids can be useful. However, gahmen is smarter to pass the purchase decision to the people. The trickling effect those purchases can bring to the economy. Someone speculated carpark prices goes up. A dollar goes there. Insurance purchased. A dollar goes there. Road tax purchase. A dollar goes there. More carpark wardens to subcon to. A dollar goes there. Agent spend on seafood restuarant cos huat ah. A dollar goes there. Agent's big boss gets the dollar and buys property. A dollar goes there. The list goes on..... Now who gives us tat dollar??? I dun own a car cos I cant afford to donate to so many parties. I ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged September 6, 2007 Share September 6, 2007 On a selfish note, the higher the COE, the better... for me who already own car and not intending to change car, i rather COE shot all the way up to 30k or even better.. 50k. if i choose to sell my car, this will give me the option to sell my car without any loss at all! if i choose to continue driving, at least the high COE should in some way reduce the number of new cars on the road thus i can avoid most of the jam. however, i dun think COE is gonna shot all the way up to 50k level.. i can only wish.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged September 6, 2007 Share September 6, 2007 actually i envy you for riding... i would prefer to ride but the problem is i did not managed to get my 2B licence and now my PDL has expired and i have to start from 1st practical again! maybe i should continue my bike licence again.. the cost of parking in singapore is driving me crazy. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...