Followthelaw Neutral Newbie September 5, 2007 Share September 5, 2007 Hi all kind souls,the following is a true account of what happened. My grandmother stays in England,she married to there.Recently,her husband passed away.One of her grandson,flew to England,on the pretext of helping her transfer her pounds over to Singapore. We are talking abt near to 200,000 pounds,equal to abt 500,000 to 600,000 sing dollars He make her signed something,I suppose is some authorisation letter to transfer the money to s'pore Funny thing she does not have any bank account in s'pore.Which bank account did he transfer the money to.He helped her to open a OCBC account,but that was AFTER the tt transfer was done Normally,tt transfer will take about max a week.Now a month,not a single cent went into the OCBC account,cause I helped her to check and that is the only account she ever had in s'pore Now the old lady is at a loss abt how to recover her hard earned money and her pension,and she is very sad. Her this grandson even told her to sell off her property in England adn trasnfer the money again Now I am helping my grandmother to recover back her hard earned cash and to tell her to stop any sale of her property I decided to proceed to file a report with the police and seek their advice Is this correct ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veryfree Clutched September 5, 2007 Share September 5, 2007 if the story is true, file a report. unless you strike toto Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Followthelaw Neutral Newbie September 5, 2007 Author Share September 5, 2007 This is NOT a story/myth,is happening right b4 my very eyes.My grandmom's hard earned cash and pension was connedrite from her by one of her grandson,who's so kind to fly all the way to England and helped her with that Now the old folk cannot sleep day and night thinking of her cash and kept asking me what to do,she tearing Now I'm cracking my head how to help her,besides fling a report Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hicksau Neutral Newbie September 5, 2007 Share September 5, 2007 file a report both here and ur grandma's place .. hope it settles soon.. confront the a**hole on this money issue then .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dtvox Neutral Newbie September 5, 2007 Share September 5, 2007 Perhaps she can start by confiding in her children, aka 'the grandson's' parent??? When it comes to family, my view is to involve the authorities only as the last resort. If that is absolutely necessary, by all means... Hope all will end well for you granny... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 5, 2007 Share September 5, 2007 (edited) sud b able to sue under fraud and based on contract "not my hand" ie even though i sign it, this is not my intention. also, since u gg to sue, i suggest u get the lawyer to move for an injuction on his bank account immediately, ie freeze his account. Edited September 5, 2007 by Apollo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged September 5, 2007 Share September 5, 2007 (edited) I agree with the rest. File a police report in Singapore and England. It shouldn't be too difficult to catch hold of the one who cheated...cos his is a relative. You should know where he stays. Edited September 5, 2007 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched September 5, 2007 Share September 5, 2007 I think you cannot file a police report against 'this grandson of hers', on what basis? The direct interested party would be your grandmother staying England. She has to file a report and authorized you to follow up with a police report with the Singapore Police. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xiao_qiang 1st Gear September 5, 2007 Share September 5, 2007 Hope your granny can recover the money!! Hope could that cad do that to the old lady.. I believe the Singapore police will be able to help.. In contract law, this is called undue influence which I learn last time, hopes this aid your granny. Mostly likely have to use this to get a lawyer to fight the case and get the money back.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 5, 2007 Share September 5, 2007 civil case .. no use police she has to file a comprain with the magistrate. there after issue a demand for case in uk. if he fails to contest, she will win the case, then pursue to impose the ruling in singapore courts, plus injunction. best to seek PI to trace his $$$ route and ensure all bank accounts r frozen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched September 5, 2007 Share September 5, 2007 Quote Hi all kind souls,the following is a true account of what happened. My grandmother stays in England,she married to there.Recently,her husband passed away.One of her grandson,flew to England,on the pretext of helping her transfer her pounds over to Singapore. We are talking abt near to 200,000 pounds,equal to abt 500,000 to 600,000 sing dollars He make her signed something,I suppose is some authorisation letter to transfer the money to s'pore Funny thing she does not have any bank account in s'pore.Which bank account did he transfer the money to.He helped her to open a OCBC account,but that was AFTER the tt transfer was done Normally,tt transfer will take about max a week.Now a month,not a single cent went into the OCBC account,cause I helped her to check and that is the only account she ever had in s'pore Now the old lady is at a loss abt how to recover her hard earned money and her pension,and she is very sad. Her this grandson even told her to sell off her property in England adn trasnfer the money again Now I am helping my grandmother to recover back her hard earned cash and to tell her to stop any sale of her property I decided to proceed to file a report with the police and seek their advice Is this correct Is yr grandma english-literate? If not maybe the 'authorisation form' that she signed can be void in the eye of law, especially if she is a sick and a little senile... (get the doctor's support on this if can). The grandson would have to explain why all of a sudden he got such a large sum of money in such a short time. If the grandson has transferred into an account in other country, i think is a little more tricky... better get a PI to trace it.... This kind of person is really a filthy axxxxxe... old ppl money also cheat... pest sia... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jho0001 Neutral Newbie September 5, 2007 Share September 5, 2007 Sounds like she was conned while in the UK, therefore I would say it's under the juristiction on the UK law.....suggest you call the Citizens Advice Bureau in the UK (look it up on the net) they give out free advice and will assist however they can. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Followthelaw Neutral Newbie September 5, 2007 Author Share September 5, 2007 We went back to her grandson,his attitude very rude,keep pushing here and there.When we mention where's granny money,her 200,000 pound,almost 500,000 sing dollars.He got very angry and very defensive,telling us soon the money will be here,soon,very soon. We tell him how come take 1 whole bloody mth for tt transfer. Granny crying and asking where's her pension and hard earned money,78 years old liao.Thght she can trust her grandson.The axxxxxe said dun disturb him any more,the money will come.Tell us to go home and dun disturb him. Alamak,now to trust him or not.Feel like gg to file report liao. I also wanted to cry seeing granny like this Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear September 5, 2007 Share September 5, 2007 if you can meet up with him, try to find out what really happened and reason with him.. if all else fails, PM me.. i will beat him up for you and you can collect on his insurance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched September 5, 2007 Share September 5, 2007 (edited) U see... u have to use both the soft and hard approach. Ask the grandson if he really got the heart to take the money.. he is going to feel very very guilty for the rest of his life (though it may not work if he is the hardcore type, but if there is still a good side of him, probably it is just a moment of folly that he overcome by greed and do such thing.) His grandma is going to be 'down below' in the future... watching him spend every cents of her money.... Tell the grandson that if he refused to cough out the money, you got no choice but to take legal action because the sum involved is simply too much and cannot close one eye to it. The UK counterparts will tie up with singapore's law enforcers and look into this case.. it could be a long drawn case. He may have to answer to how he got such a big sum of money in such a short time. If the grandson is not a frequent cheater, mostly likely he will be feeling quite tensed up and kan chiong now... if he face police officers, fears and guilt may just write all over his face. One thing to take note is that.. he may use money and bribe a lawyer and cook up a wonderful loophole-less story... Dunno our local lawyer got integrity a not.... Using law maybe take a long long time... If u r good enuff, go the physcological way, if suceed, it is a fast way... hit him at his softest spot, make him feel guilty and scared. Like i say, if he is not a frequent cheater, probably his first time... he must be tensed up now and he is all alone by himself... he wun dare to tell anyone what he has done and that he has this sum of money! Gd luck.. Edited September 5, 2007 by Gantan88 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Followthelaw Neutral Newbie September 5, 2007 Author Share September 5, 2007 OK I'll take the soft approach.Think it's the first time he did such a thing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Landex Clutched September 5, 2007 Share September 5, 2007 go get a debt collector's help.. juz giv them the add of the wussie.. n he will kena day noise night hell... but u hav to pay a comm to them though.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Landex Clutched September 5, 2007 Share September 5, 2007 dio siong is claim on HSP leh.. hw to benefit anyone except himself?? giv the bustard a kick at the groin... or get a few brangra n AR him ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...