Amazon777 3rd Gear September 3, 2007 Share September 3, 2007 Market expects across-the-board reduction in COE numbers CAR buyers can expect higher certificate of entitlement (COE) premiums ahead, as far fewer cars are being scrapped this year. This is likely to mean fewer COEs in the highly anticipated October 2007-March 2008 mid-quota year review - and higher premiums. Prospective buyers will know the answer this month when the review is released. In fact, the market expects an across-the-board cut in COE numbers - the first time since mid-quota year reviews were introduced in 2001. COE supply hinges largely on a replacement principle. Land Transport Authority (LTA) figures show that the number of all vehicles taken off the road in the first seven months fell by 20 per cent to 52,195, compared to the same period last year. Since 2001, the LTA has in place a system to tweak COE supply in the middle of a quota year, to better match replacement demand. As it turned out, it has always released more COEs in the middle of each quota year, since actual scrappage has always far exceeded its estimates at the start of each quota year in April. For the past six years, the release of make-up COEs for October-March has led to a drop in premiums in the six-month period. But not this time. The number of cars scrapped in the first seven months just about matches what the LTA had forecast. The chief executive of multi-brand agent Jardine Cycle & Carriage's motor operations, Mr Cheah Kim Teck, said: 'Definitely, there will be no extras this time.' Going forward, he said COE supply in the next financial year starting April 2008 could fall by '15-16 per cent'. But he does not expect any drastic cut. The managing director of Toyota distributor Borneo Motors, Mr Mark Choong, agreed. 'I don't think there will be extra COEs coming onstream but I don't expect any significant reduction,' he said. Mr Choong said there might not even be much of a cut in the commercial vehicles quota, despite a sharp drop in the number of vans, trucks and buses taken off the road in the first seven months. 'Commercial vehicles are an economic necessity,' Mr Choong said, adding that higher concrete prices and higher cost of 'clean-diesel' commercial vehicles - mandatory from October 2006 - had already raised overall business cost. Mr Choong expects COE prices to climb from the current $16,000-$18,000 levels - 'but not just yet to $30,000-$40,000'. Motor traders expect the expanded presence of parallel importers and the arrival of used cars from abroad, following a relaxation of rules, to keep up bids for COEs. So, higher car prices seem almost certain. But even if premiums rise by $10,000, a Japanese sedan could still be had for below $70,000, compared to the more than $100,000 mid-1990s days. For sellers, the foreseeable drop in volume in the coming years could result in lower profits and downsizing. 'This is a feast-or-famine business,' said Cycle & Carriage's Mr Cheah. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuendi 3rd Gear September 3, 2007 Share September 3, 2007 COE quota will not increase + New Models launch + Long lead time (year end delivery --> people plan their 13th month pay ahead) = Disaster COE prices. Appreciating Japanese Yen = Higher OMV Value. Disaster COE Price + Higher OMV Value = Expensive Car. What do you people think? Or am I imagining things? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 3, 2007 Share September 3, 2007 i dun hv to think for another 4 more years and 2 weeks fr now... saved a few braincells liaoz. hur hur. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear September 3, 2007 Share September 3, 2007 (edited) For the past six years, the release of make-up COEs for October-March has led to a drop in premiums in the six-month period. But not this time. The number of cars scrapped in the first seven months just about matches what the LTA had forecast. The chief executive of multi-brand agent Jardine Cycle & Carriage's motor operations, Mr Cheah Kim Teck, said: 'Definitely, there will be no extras this time.' Going forward, he said COE supply in the next financial year starting April 2008 could fall by '15-16 per cent'. But he does not expect any drastic cut. The managing director of Toyota distributor Borneo Motors, Mr Mark Choong, agreed. 'I don't think there will be extra COEs coming onstream but I don't expect any significant reduction,' he said. Please look at the highlighted colour in red, I had check the figure from LTA, te de-registration is comfirm very close to what the LTA had forecast. Maybe this year is the ony year that LTA forecast correctly . So my bet is, no extra, also no reduction . Edited September 3, 2007 by Ahyoo2002 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear September 3, 2007 Share September 3, 2007 Haha . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear September 3, 2007 Share September 3, 2007 Also, less car scrapped = less replacement needed = less demand . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unic 1st Gear September 3, 2007 Share September 3, 2007 You should have apply for a job in LTA, COE department... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unic 1st Gear September 3, 2007 Share September 3, 2007 I feel that car dealers always invite reporter to release this sort of news to stir up demands for car. Result in all the kancheong spider will rush in to buy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear September 3, 2007 Share September 3, 2007 good...you catch it...so why price will go up...unless everyone started crazy buying after looking at this article or there is still alot of zero downpayment risk taker out there whom still have not give car buying a shot... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear September 3, 2007 Share September 3, 2007 For the past six years, the release of make-up COEs for October-March has led to a drop in premiums in the six-month period. But not this time. The number of cars scrapped in the first seven months just about matches what the LTA had forecast. The chief executive of multi-brand agent Jardine Cycle & Carriage's motor operations, Mr Cheah Kim Teck, said: 'Definitely, there will be no extras this time.' Going forward, he said COE supply in the next financial year starting April 2008 could fall by '15-16 per cent'. But he does not expect any drastic cut. The managing director of Toyota distributor Borneo Motors, Mr Mark Choong, agreed. 'I don't think there will be extra COEs coming onstream but I don't expect any significant reduction,' he said. Please look at the highlighted colour in red, I had check the figure from LTA, te de-registration is comfirm very close to what the LTA had forecast. Maybe this year is the ony year that LTA forecast correctly . So my bet is, no extra, also no reduction . since you are Mr COE ... we shall believe u Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear September 3, 2007 Share September 3, 2007 where's ur cOE bid thread ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear September 3, 2007 Share September 3, 2007 its just another piece of news to make ppl get their car asap. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear September 3, 2007 Share September 3, 2007 You should have apply for a job in LTA, COE department... Haha, I flip thru newspaper, no such opening leh . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear September 3, 2007 Share September 3, 2007 (edited) haha, actually hor, less and less people can change car as high chance they are stuck with their high loan liao. That is why even car dealer like KM also put up a sentence in their ads saying "Is your high outstanding loan stopping you from buying a new Honda?". So I think the situation must be bad . If less people can change = less demand . Edited September 3, 2007 by Ahyoo2002 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear September 3, 2007 Share September 3, 2007 you believe me also no use bc you not going to change car for at least 2-3 years time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear September 3, 2007 Share September 3, 2007 coming, if no one starts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear September 3, 2007 Share September 3, 2007 i think so too ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear September 3, 2007 Share September 3, 2007 only one bid for cat A now ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...