Viviobluerex Clutched September 1, 2007 Share September 1, 2007 What an Idiot! Study too much le. Increase ERP? OK, he want to siao, I follow him siao! I write in to LTA, tell LTA to increase the ERP Rates at Orchard to $45 All Day. 0000 hrs to 2359 hrs. Entry $45, Exit $40. Once Orchard is Dead and all the properties there starts to drop price, then we see what happen. Business will fail, Singaporeans will end up at heartland malls. No one wants to work there, go there, shop there. http://kcarclubsg1975.spaces.live.com/ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 1, 2007 Share September 1, 2007 yup.. if they good, they sud force smrt to 5 yr plan and convert all buses to CNG, tat wud reduce emission, save $$$ which can transfer to passengers. green cars overtax, over parf! even green car cannot Euro 5 diesel car also can. obviously they hv other agendas in mind... keep petrol companies happy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear September 1, 2007 Share September 1, 2007 on the basis of the writer.. yeah lah.. FT should just learn to shut up and speak when we ask their opinion.. or else shut up.. but basic econs.. he is right.. we do need to control the amt of cars... it is getting too congested liao!! but i rather have ERP than COE increases.. cos at least with ERP, i can still afford the car and make a choice on whether to travel thru a gantry... like u, im also wondering about 'green' cars.. why hasnt there been tax breaks yet!??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 1, 2007 Share September 1, 2007 Quote I think what they're worried is by increasing ERP substancially in Orchard Rd may cause prices in shopping centres to inflate. If u'r a shop owner there in one of the shopping centres. U face ERP, high rent, parking charges, your supplies have to go thru ERP, utility, credit/NETS cards charges. U will eventually have to put the 'extra' charges on the consumers. Who would still wan to go there to shop? Even tourists or locals would rather go Bangkok to do the shopping. Exactly the problem with raising ERP too high!!! The want to reduce congestion but want to at least maintain the people flow for the businesses to flourish. As i mentioned earlier methods to encourage people to find other ways of transport in is what is needed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 1, 2007 Share September 1, 2007 Quote who is this Pavin Limanont??? Read on "Pavin Limanont, who is one year away from serving his NS, said that he has plans to emigrate to the United States" "After all, he argues, if war breaks out between the US and Singapore after he has made the US his new home, he will defend the US and fight against Singapore if necessary." http://www.todayonline.com/articles/96314.asp It's clear that the FTs like this fellow who cannot make it to countries like the U.S. in the first place uses SG as a stepping stone to get themselves there. Any idea which f#*k dup country he originates? Slight correction bro. He is the son of a FT. He doesnt even have the T in FT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 1, 2007 Share September 1, 2007 actually not true also but if really congested, ie pple caught in a real traffic snarl, eventually some will just quit driving and take to buying a rubber dinty tat can go ard clarke quay and reach pasir ris faster. ie pple will think of alternative transport. just like in shanghai. peak hours --> mrt non peak ... taxi. so there is no certainties traffic congestion goes on a str8 line projection with traffic population. also it has to do with alternative living. as i ve said before. the potential to recreate a paradigm shift where certain support non essential industries to work off normal hours. eg car repair workshop. eg wet market. sensibility has to b applied against the grains of 9-5 working hours. it makes no sense. most skools operate at a period too close to erp opening. this artificially forces more traffic (parents) to the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 1, 2007 Share September 1, 2007 speaking of schools... you have noticed right. I notice an increase in congestion when school starts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 1, 2007 Share September 1, 2007 Quote LSL before becoming PM already make it a pledge to help those who wants cars to hv cars... if any of u rembrs... LTA is just trying to strike a balance. There r no one policy that satisfy all. For those thinking they belong to "elite" class and stay in "elite" place looking the world thru their shallow "elities" view.... I think they are pretty pathetic Saying is just saying. Its doing it thats hard, and for all their pay when they do, they never look at the ripple effect to try and prevent issues before they crop up. For so called elites who get paid as much as they do, they have absolutely no foresight in anything bar economic growth as a whole. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soonalvin Neutral Newbie September 1, 2007 Share September 1, 2007 i think the problem is that the govt isnt too worried about emissions, hence green car or not doesn't really matter to us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 1, 2007 Share September 1, 2007 which is why i question the point of still spending millions and getting some TP students to sell animations of SK. it's crap to the core. wonderful looking township for display but at macro level, it's in a gridlock of traffic jam with limited options of getting into town to work. anyone with 20:20 vision will quickly realize the $$ saving is not worth it. oh i forgot... it's subsidized housing. yah... some1 wrote to the ST forum before abt this.. his subsized flat more expensive then open market prices sold by HDB. wow... try eating tat. soon it may b even cheaper then Cat A coe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear September 1, 2007 Share September 1, 2007 Quote I predict this writer will have a bright future at the LTA or any gahment bodies.. Very bright..coz they can only see things from his own perspective.. Never care about what the 33.3% think.. No wonder I cannot get into gahment jobs.. Not really.. Not everyone in the civil service is a butt head. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear September 2, 2007 Share September 2, 2007 actually im already relying on alternative transport which is quite stupid.. more often than not, trips down town are made thru MRT and my car stays home to collect bird s**t. schools have to operate at that hour becos it actually serves the parents who go to work.. they dump their kids.. go to work.. shifting school hours earlier wont work.. our kids are already overworked and a sleepy bunch.. shifting ERP to later will defeat the purpose cos it is designed to catch those going to work!! anyway, all this isnt new to me.. cos with simple economics, you will see either the visible or invisible hand taking place.. while i was living in sydney, most of my frens dont own cars altho there is no ERP or COE.. basically they said parking would kill them!! in every society where there is a lack of space, there will be lesser cars (and hopefully a better public transport system).. if there arent lesser cars, then there will be more jams.. like KL.. it's give and take.. we have to live with it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched September 2, 2007 Share September 2, 2007 Wonder if he's actually taken public transport to town before. The people congestion is as bad as the congestion on Orchard Road. The only difference is that you either spend your journey seated comfortably in your own car or smelling BO in a standing position throughout your journey. Even for taxis, for the duration of time that I spend waiting for a cab, I would've already reached home if I drove there, despite the congestion conditions. Even calling for a cab takes ages to get through. What makes him think that raising the ERP will make drivers switch to public transport and ease the gridlock? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged September 2, 2007 Share September 2, 2007 Quote Aiyah... just a typical pro-gahment forum posting in ST... We need to educate our family and friends to open their eyes big big and don't just read whatever that is published. Didn't Durai arrange for articles of similar nature to be posted on ST forum page? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Niteblu Neutral Newbie September 2, 2007 Share September 2, 2007 I don't think he even cares if ERP gets raised to $10 per day. This is your classic FT family member. Living the "hard" life with daddy's 5-6 figure MONTHLY salary w/hardship allowance. Looking out from atop his ivory tower, on the 44th floor of a Cairnhill Condo. Here's what he really thinks. Unabridged. "Let's raise the ERP ever more. So those stupid dumbass poor locals who can't bear to spend that extra dolllar, won't come in. then won't congest my beloved Orchard playground at my doorstep. Even if they do raise it, by say $10/$20 per day. Daddy'll pay for it. After all I can hardly see the ERP device. Cos it's blocked by my Ah Mat's head in my good ol 7-Series family car." Typical expat mindset. Pavin. you, your parents. You either grow some empathy and realise that not everyone leads such a privileged life. like yours. then learn that no one owes you a living. Or Get the f**k out of our country. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged September 2, 2007 Share September 2, 2007 sooner or later, we will ends up like those plp in HK.... car is cheap, buy poeple cannot afford it cos the carpark & other taxes is killing them.... that fit to our our leader vision, "every family can afford to own a car" but he neber say "you can only wash your car, sit in your car, fark in the car but not driving it cos i'm gg to charge u kao kao!" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XLR8 1st Gear September 2, 2007 Share September 2, 2007 Quote Here is a nice economics student giving ERP theory in Orchard area posted on the Straits Times Forum. Happy reading. Quoted from the url as below. Raise Saturday ERP rates to ease gridlock I REFER to the letter by Ms Naleeza Ebrahim, 'Saturday ERP keeps Orchard Rd traffic going' (ST, Aug 29), and could not agree less with the views of the Land Transport Authority (LTA). From where I live, I have a perfect view of Cairnhill Road and Orchard Road and the weekend traffic gridlock is appalling. There was one Saturday evening when I missed four green lights even though I was just metres away from the traffic junction. Being a student of economics, I understand the relationship between the demand and supply of road utilisation. During the weekends, demand for the use of Orchard Road is far more than what the road network can supply, therefore a price, in the form of ERP, must be imposed to regulate demand so that there is optimal utilisation of the road. Unfortunately, many motorists don't understand the ramifications of not having ERP on Saturdays: emergency vehicles would be caught in jams, endangering the lives of whoever requires their service; goods vehicles would be delayed, resulting in late deliveries and affecting trade; the environment would be damaged by the fumes of vehicles; oil prices might rise in the long run due to wastage of petrol while engines continue running in jams, etc. I had even contemplated writing to LTA to suggest a further increase in ERP rates for the Orchard area during peak periods and on Saturdays. One of the reasons why rates for ERP are so high and are in operation for longer hours is to discourage the use of private vehicles downtown and as an incentive to take public transport. Furthermore, the tax collected from the ERP can be used to fund projects that benefit the environment, to offset the pollution caused by vehicles caught in jams. I thank the LTA for doing what it thinks is best for society. Pavin Limanont http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Sto...ory_153376.html This chap needs a good "Blanket Party" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soonalvin Neutral Newbie September 2, 2007 Share September 2, 2007 i think he's serving NS now. hope his section mates give him 1x good one. camou gao gao... colgate in groin... heh heh. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...