Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic August 30, 2007 Share August 30, 2007 Read in today ST that another cases of kidnap scam where the old couple lost more than $50,000 to the con man by claiming that they are holding their son in custody. Police had adviced members of public since 25/08/07 and another 5 scarm were reported on 28/08/07 and bringing a total to 10 cases. It should be easy to trace the con man as the account number was given for the bank transfer. (another catch me if you can) As a son/daughter it is our duty to inform our parent to be alert and not to listen to any phone calls claiming that we had been kidnap. Those responsible should be not be spared of jail term up to 3 years. The old couple hard earn money just gone like that. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 30, 2007 Share August 30, 2007 Times are bad mah so people are thinking of ways to get money... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 Read in today ST that another cases of kidnap scam where the old couple lost more than $50,000 to the con man by claiming that they are holding their son in custody. Police had adviced members of public since 25/08/07 and another 5 scarm were reported on 28/08/07 and bringing a total to 10 cases. It should be easy to trace the con man as the account number was given for the bank transfer. (another catch me if you can) As a son/daughter it is our duty to inform our parent to be alert and not to listen to any phone calls claiming that we had been kidnap. Those responsible should be not be spared of jail term up to 3 years. The old couple hard earn money just gone like that. my father just received a similar scam call. background some wailing young chap crying for help. lucky he called my bro and me, both of us advised him of the scammer's tricks. when got chance do educate our parents about the rising incidence of such scams. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 If you are gullible and pure stupid... NOBODY EVEN GOD... CAN HELP YOU! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 If you are gullible and pure stupid... NOBODY EVEN GOD... CAN HELP YOU! you and your sarcasm again some people are not stupid, just careless or kan chiong. i don't mind helping such people, even people that are stupid by helping to pass the message around. by this post, you have also shown your intelligence is mediocre Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 my father just received a similar scam call. background some wailing young chap crying for help. lucky he called my bro and me, both of us advised him of the scammer's tricks. when got chance do educate our parents about the rising incidence of such scams. my auntie kena about 1.5yrs ago Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 (edited) My MIL kenna 2 yrs ago. She also thought his son kenna kidnapped and panicked. LOL... She said the man on the phone sounded very much like her son. Luckily that afternoon her son called her. When asked her son scolded her for being so gullible. Edited January 7, 2011 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
999 3rd Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 My MIL kenna 2 yrs ago. She also thought his son kenna kidnapped and panicked. LOL... She said the man on the phone sounded very much like her son. Luckily that afternoon her son called her. When asked her son scolded her for being so gullible. What kind of son is he? Mom is worried for him and he scold her? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 yeah, it seems from accounts here that the operation of these scammers are quite widespread. i think for family members that bothered to ask and verify with their love ones, it is still reasonable for most people to play safe and cal their loved ones to ask without transferring money. next time if i receive such call, i will play along, ask for their bank account number, record the conversation down and hand all evidence to the police. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 (edited) you and your sarcasm again some people are not stupid, just careless or kan chiong. i don't mind helping such people, even people that are stupid by helping to pass the message around. by this post, you have also shown your intelligence is mediocre time to drain the oil from the system.. Edited January 7, 2011 by Beehive3783 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 my father just received a similar scam call. background some wailing young chap crying for help. lucky he called my bro and me, both of us advised him of the scammer's tricks. when got chance do educate our parents about the rising incidence of such scams. how old r u? i thought they only scam parents with young kids in primary or early secondary school? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 how old r u? i thought they only scam parents with young kids in primary or early secondary school? if they call anyone from phone book randomly, do you think they know if you kids are young or old these people are not even in singapore to check on you! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 If never scold she won't get it in her head. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 Anyone knows where to buy GPS tracking device to keep track of children? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 my cousin works and stay in JB and his dad is in Singapore on this day, my cousin was having dinner with his sis in JB and they were chatting on phone with their dad (house phone) ,then his mobile rang the caller called to his dad and said my cousin was kidnapped..background got a kid voice..he asked the caller where he kidnapped him from, he said Singapore.. his dad asked him oh,then kill him lor..the kidnapper stunned..LOL si bei heng timing.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 Times are bad mah so people are thinking of ways to get money... All these are mostly bright idea from our FTs friend lah ! Remit money into China A/Cs cannot track ! Why dont try remit into SG A/Cs see if mata can track you down or not ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 LOL thats funny. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 if they call anyone from phone book randomly, do you think they know if you kids are young or old these people are not even in singapore to check on you! so amateur ar, i thought they would at least check and scam those with young kids and what time the kids are usually not at home with the parents... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...