Complaint Singaporeans

Herk

Good morning all:

Yesterday "TODAYS" newspaper forum got 2 woman write in to complain about the new ERP regulations. The gist of it is they dun wanna pay ERP to use CTE, so they gotta leave home earlier to send their kids to school, then go to work. If day in day out early go out and late come bac, will affect their family life.

The women are Connie Kum and Jennifer dun noe wat.

I got few points that i pondered and wat say you.

1. The road conditions are worse now since GOV gave green light for easier car affordability, almost every family owns a car now. There is a need to regulate the traffic flow.

2. Why send the kids to school? Why not school bus or register in a school nearby? Its not the Gov's fault that parents have to send kids to school. Thats a privilege not an entitlement.

3. If say u take 1.5 hours to take train to work, and 1.5 hours to drive to work, why not take the train?

4. Without the ERP, we all noe, that the roads would have come to a full stop during the peak hous.

5. My take is, if u wana drive in Singapore, pay to do it. It should be a privilege since land is scarce. No point complaining about road-vehicle related increase because it will only continue to do so. Before getting a car, one should think carefully whether the usage is justified, whether u can afford all kinds of increase and of course, the road bullys and jams on SINGAPORE ROADS.

Tats just my personal view on some thorny issues like this. No offence will be taken for your views, dun worry.

[;)]

for me erp is okay.

but not too bad like every highway i go in i need to pay. if it is that i will need to pay more den 10bucks per day for only erp.

and of cos not 3-4 bucks per gantry.

as for this 2 woman i don't see their concern a problem. which to me, a lousy excuse.

maybe just admit erp gantry is too many. will do.

not the gov problem if u are late for work for children or whatsoever.

i like ur point about why parents must send kids to school using own car. nowadays parents pamper kids too much due to their own affluence, car affordability and shrinking number of kids in each household that the kids are treated like precious gemstones. how dare you ask the parents not to give the best care for their precious kids!!laugh.gif

that's the rebuke i always get when i tell some people not to give their kids all the pampering and grand treatment.

Edited by Acemundo

True enough, they complained for the sake of solely their needs.

Anyway, i think if you write a letter having strong points over the ERP, your letter won't be published.smile.gif

Parents choose to send their children to school for various reasons. Some had little time with their kids and the drive to school is a good time to bond and catch up with their kids. Driving the kids to school may also means that kids will get more rest either at home or in the car, cos the journey is more direct...instead of doing the rounds to pick up all the children. Yes it is a privilege but so does driving to work.

Some choose to drive to work cos their work place is not accessible to public transport or don't want to get sweaty for meetings, etc.

I feel that there are valid reasons for people who drive...just that some are more common ones and others are less so.

I think most people are ok with increase in ERP charges...but only if it has valid reasons to do so. But we all know the reason they give is not a good one. It doesn't solve the problem at all...maybe it does...for the 1 few weeks.

Edited by Silver_blade

arent we paying enuf already thru tax and coe?

pay erp and still jam. wtf? i dun mind if it is a toll! diff is that toll is to collect money to improve the road. erp is to collect money to pay million dollar salaries!

when erp was first mooted, was there any serious effort by gahmen to ease congestion thru other means? why waste money build a tunnel at old lib when other areas are more pressing like:

1. cte?

2. sle exit to bke towards tuas?

3. bke exit to pie towards changi?

4. tpe towards changi at punggol and after?

5. pie towards changi at kallang area?

knn all they know is increase erp! wtf!

why build expressway like kpe etc to cut travel distance (and thus cut travel time)? why not build expressway to ease congestion? travel more never mind if no jam. after all, how much more km can it be?

Edited by Arowana1

Good morning all:

Yesterday "TODAYS" newspaper forum got 2 woman write in to complain about the new ERP regulations. The gist of it is they dun wanna pay ERP to use CTE, so they gotta leave home earlier to send their kids to school, then go to work. If day in day out early go out and late come bac, will affect their family life.

The women are Connie Kum and Jennifer dun noe wat.

I got few points that i pondered and wat say you.

1. The road conditions are worse now since GOV gave green light for easier car affordability, almost every family owns a car now. There is a need to regulate the traffic flow.

There is a need to regulate car affordability. which means less loan and more cash upfront

2. Why send the kids to school? Why not school bus or register in a school nearby? Its not the Gov's fault that parents have to send kids to school. Thats a privilege not an entitlement.

It is a must to go to school... but i agree why must they send the kids by car...

3. If say u take 1.5 hours to take train to work, and 1.5 hours to drive to work, why not take the train?

Cuz they are blardy pampered [lipsrsealed]

4. Without the ERP, we all noe, that the roads would have come to a full stop during the peak hous.

In the first place, the govt should have anticipated that when they ease car loan regulations. Do not put the onus on the consumers...

5. My take is, if u wana drive in Singapore, pay to do it. It should be a privilege since land is scarce. No point complaining about road-vehicle related increase because it will only continue to do so. Before getting a car, one should think carefully whether the usage is justified, whether u can afford all kinds of increase and of course, the road bullys and jams on SINGAPORE ROADS.

Even if we can afford, the point is how much is too much and IS IT REALLY EFFECTIVE? which i think ERP is useless except for it being a cash cow..

Tats just my personal view on some thorny issues like this. No offence will be taken for your views, dun worry.

[;)]

Bro there are many reasons y parents send their kids to sch.

Not just because they pamper them.

Just stating a few:

1. If it is on e way, y not?

2. Sch bus fares are not cheap either

3. Since SG is so small, how much mileage can u clock? Just to work and back?

Tell them move to the West best, cos a lot of schools there, Poly & Uni also there. Work in the West also. Complaint no more.

I do agree with some having the real needs to drive. Then again, "Real needs" are relative to every individuals.

But I do feel that the ERP has solved many issues with regards to road congestion.

In the past (say abt 3 years ago), TPE-SLE-BKE-PIE was really under utilised. Then ERP kicked in hard on expressways like PIE and CTE, and sent vehicles onto them. (ie Re-routing)

Now, I feel it might be a slam down effort to tell ppl, hey u wanna car, u can get it, but no, u dun drive thru CTE in the early morning bcos everyone wants to. Unless u really need it, u will pay to use it, if not take other routes or dun drive.

So, some will choose not to drive, some take other roads, some bo pian continue.

Otherwise, I feel that CTE would be named "Continuously Trapped Endway".

If only votes against the goverment was not based on why other ppl have cars and I dun have mentality..........ERP may not have surfaced. [drivingcar]

Increasing ERP rates doesnt solve the prob at all. [smash]

It's just extra income u noe who. [idea]

Well if by increasing ERP rates will ease congestions den i dun tink so many ppl will complain.

They shld tink hw to solve certain issues before increasing e rates.

Eg, Drainage prob. One heavy downpour yesterdae and some roads got flooded like wad we see up North.

I fully agree with you.I rather travel 2 to 8 km more than jam and still pay ERP.with that jam and ERP,actually more than what we pay to travel the extra distance.I think our elite is more concern of money than solving the problem.Money don't always solve problem.Carry on to squeeze us dry,one day when everyone turn their back against them,then they will bring out cash to pull us back on their side.PUI!use 500 dollars to change our 5000 dollars!

1. If it is on e way, y not?

Then it means no matter what also need to pay ERP, so argument is not valid that need to get up earlier to siam ERP

2. Sch bus fares are not cheap either

Sure! But u get to slp longer and since money wise both are almost same then y still need to drive them?

3. Since SG is so small, how much mileage can u clock? Just to work and back?

You be surprised. Even for people that dun do sales, but what has this got to do with ERP and sending the kids to school ar? unless u mean cuz not much mileage clocked so send kids to sch to clock more mileage den the car seem more value for money? [sweatdrop]

You forgot about resale value for high mileage car, the higher possibility of accident and also more freguent change of wear and tear and higher petrol costs.

Agree...all talks are useless unless the really problem is solved.

I do agree that the gov would be better off using the money they used on the tunnel under the old library on CTE....where the problem is more serious and urgent.

Apparently they just don't know how to reduce or remove their self made problems. Easy way out- point fingers and blame on someone.They should simplify thier living style and the day to day difficulties will be reduce or just disappear into thin air.

i like ur point about why parents must send kids to school using own car. nowadays parents pamper kids too much due to their own affluence, car affordability and shrinking number of kids in each household that the kids are treated like precious gemstones. how dare you ask the parents not to give the best care for their precious kids!!laugh.gif

that's the rebuke i always get when i tell some people not to give their kids all the pampering and grand treatment.

Imo they buy car, muz fully utilise car. HEnce they will use car to fetch kids etc etc in staed of forking out extra money for sch bus. No doubt abt this as we buy car at a high price, hence human nature is use it watever possible.

I sometimes do not know what the gov is doing.

They :

1. Reduce road tax by 8% starting Sep 2007, this make road tax a little bit more affordable.

2. COE recently plunge twice to less than $10k level, this encourage more people to buy car.

3. With the increase in GST from 5% to 7%, HDB season parking and hourly coupon parking never increase their charge.

The above 3 are making onwing a vehicle more friendly but they increase ERP??

So at the end of the day,

1. Are they trying to get more vehicle on the road and get eveyone to pay more and still does not ease the jam problem?

2. It seems like they are not controlling the vehicle population (as COE seems to be the tool for it) as it still allows vehicle to grow 3% annually but road area only increase 1% for the same period.

3. Let people own more car but don't let them drive to city area? Singapore is only so big, if they let people own car and then don't let them drive, then what is the logic?

DON'T KNOW WHAT ARE THEY TRYING TO DO.