Ghostrider 3rd Gear August 28, 2007 Share August 28, 2007 I agree that there are peaceful protest but all it takes is a few loonies to change a peaceful protest into a full blown riot. Some of these trouble maker will tag along with the main body and create tension between the protester and police. Protest all you want, but not at the expense of others. While we may not agree with the government policy at times but imagine if we protest and grind our economy to a halt....not only will that group of protester suffer....we will suffer as well. France is famous for grinding their economy to a halt....look at their transport sector...I am not there but in my previous company, I used to take care of the europe sector...and those french fries protest only...my sector all kenna stuck !! Goods cannot move...delivery and production schedule all screwed...who suffer ? Everybody kenna pluck. Not saying that I agree with the government policy 100%...but here we have the tripartite that will sort out issues before it gets outta hand. Places like US, Europe, Japan and Korea...they protest will effect their economy...but they do not suffer...cos they still have stuffs to offer....technology eg...and their own domestic economy is enuff to substain on their own. But if we protest here in SG, our fragile economy will burst like a bubble. The only silent protest that I have seen in SG that work is back then when taxi company raise their pickup charge...and many commuters refuse to take cab...after 2 weeks...the cabbies pressure their own union and reduce the price....the power of supply and demand. But that was once only lah....most of the time, we consumers kenna pluck !! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear August 28, 2007 Share August 28, 2007 How? Refuse to buy daily neccessities due to GST increase, drive thru ERP gantry w/o cashcard and refuse to pay summon as a protest? Govt know this mentality, that is y they can do whatever they want. Then someone will start praising the PM for being bold to come out w such unpopular policy during his regime. THIS IS SG. Truely unique. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altec Neutral Newbie August 28, 2007 Share August 28, 2007 sorry to butt in but so you saying by not protest means that we are mature enough to talk, negotiate and compromise? you ever see the later 2 happening anot? talk quite alot I must say. MIW say their pay must go up, our CPF contribution must come down, must work till 67 are all these decided "for our own good" I think that your point is spot on abt protesting not helping with anything... but thats just only over here. Good example is HK's plan to implement GST.... pple make noise protest blah blah blah.... in the end got GST anot? Try that here dun help nothing and you may get in trouble with the law Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear August 28, 2007 Share August 28, 2007 We are Singapore...Singaporean !!! Aiyah...complain so much also no use....cut down on usage lor. Inflation rate goes up faster (off course after 14 quaters of grown...2% inflation is acceptable rite ?) than my salary. PM address stuffs that is beyond his political career....but not beyond the gov policy mah...I must praise the gov for this....they really plan ahead !! (serious...I am not sic at them !!) But give them credit for taking us so far...so far so good...at least our economy still in one piece after the storm in 97. Some countries have yet recover from it after 10 years !! what in future is install I dunno. But their track record speaks for themselves. If cow peh and change ruling party means to jump from frying pan into fire...I stay in the frying pan...which means unless someone can come out with a good idea that will make 4 million people happy while at the same time propel our economy forward....make him a GOD !! (even god also cannot make everyone happy...[no religious puns intended]) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear August 28, 2007 Share August 28, 2007 if anyone has a better alternative... i'm sure everyone would be very interest to hear it... and if en mass thinks it a good idea, then thru the various channels, someone up there will get to hear it... standing in the streets and making alot of noise is just not very intelligent, IMHO... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged August 28, 2007 Share August 28, 2007 No cos any participation in protest/riot will land u in jail. no need to go Court, u will be charged under ISA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged August 28, 2007 Share August 28, 2007 I agree that there are peaceful protest but all it takes is a few loonies to change a peaceful protest into a full blown riot. Some of these trouble maker will tag along with the main body and create tension between the protester and police. Protest all you want, but not at the expense of others. While we may not agree with the government policy at times but imagine if we protest and grind our economy to a halt....not only will that group of protester suffer....we will suffer as well. France is famous for grinding their economy to a halt....look at their transport sector...I am not there but in my previous company, I used to take care of the europe sector...and those french fries protest only...my sector all kenna stuck !! Goods cannot move...delivery and production schedule all screwed...who suffer ? Everybody kenna pluck. Not saying that I agree with the government policy 100%...but here we have the tripartite that will sort out issues before it gets outta hand. Places like US, Europe, Japan and Korea...they protest will effect their economy...but they do not suffer...cos they still have stuffs to offer....technology eg...and their own domestic economy is enuff to substain on their own. But if we protest here in SG, our fragile economy will burst like a bubble. The only silent protest that I have seen in SG that work is back then when taxi company raise their pickup charge...and many commuters refuse to take cab...after 2 weeks...the cabbies pressure their own union and reduce the price....the power of supply and demand. But that was once only lah....most of the time, we consumers kenna pluck !! well, without protest, no body can judge the amount of dissatisfaction there is. sure there will be trouble makers, but pent up frustration can be bad too. and then everyone will be affected like it or not. by repressing public dissatisfaction by banning protest, the negative energy will be channelled else where. can be individual disobedience.. think some bloggers wrote about this b4. anyway since we don;t know how to protest peacefully, better not protest, or at least allow petitions so that people can see something is done. people hate to see most is NATO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear August 28, 2007 Share August 28, 2007 catch u w/o any reason n keep in custody indefinitely right Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie August 28, 2007 Share August 28, 2007 Generally, we only dare to KPKB behind We cannot afford to set a precedence. Once someone does, it will be difficult for the govt to clam down on those real trouble makers who come from foreign countries to stir sxxt in our soil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear August 28, 2007 Share August 28, 2007 Protest is the last resort. The union and employee must first sit down and settle their difference. Cannot settle... Union, employee PLUS gov (that is labour ministry) will sit down and la kopi and try to settle difference. Still cannot settle ? Union must give notice to the employee when they intend to strike/protest. Who say cannot protest ? Just that most dispute will be settle before they reach 3rd stage. Cos 2nd stage gov will step in to avoid going into 3rd stage and then they find the "trouble maker" and send him/her home...(read SIA) Suka suka anyhow strike/protest is call illegal gathering. But give notice and its legal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 28, 2007 Share August 28, 2007 I think very soon S'poreans will also become penniless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear August 28, 2007 Share August 28, 2007 Union??? dun joke leh, NTUC is our union meh? more like gahment union. When did NTUC ever fight for our right? They are good at bootlicking, just take a look at NTUC boss u know liao. An Minister wor........... of course pro gahment. Whatever policy, just nod head n say good. no good also good, "all of us must tahan abit, what gahment do is for our good....." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged August 28, 2007 Share August 28, 2007 just like public speaking is legal, but no permit can ever be given Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dtvox Neutral Newbie August 28, 2007 Share August 28, 2007 (edited) I don't think Singaporeans are hope-less. On the contrary I think Singaporeans are hope-ful... Hope that next toto jackpot win.. Hope that prices of property is the lowest when I buy and highest when I sell.. Hope that COE will be $1 when I buy new car Hope that I have enough money to retire Hope that I don't get stomped Life is good when there is hope...no less... Edited August 28, 2007 by Dtvox Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear August 28, 2007 Share August 28, 2007 NTUC is for those Aunties call Lucy join one lah... There are other unions you know...depending on your profession lah. NTUC cater to those low income workers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear August 28, 2007 Share August 28, 2007 I have not applied before...but the Speaker Corner permit has been approved before (correct me if I am wrong)....as long as the content is submitted to Police before they speak...the Police will issue the permit as deem fit. But I know it has been issued before. Dr. Chee one off course not approved lah...tok machem like gangster like dat...I won't want him to speak on my behalf man....he can speak for himself for all I care....or please take ME out of his WE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear August 28, 2007 Share August 28, 2007 Yes i know there in union for those in marine, banking and other sectors but u think they are working???? hardly hear from them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear August 28, 2007 Share August 28, 2007 I remembered there were a few dudes who wore brown shirts at City Hall. This was a silent protest for firing Mr Brown from Today Column. Ended up all led away by plain clothes policemen for questioning. Silent and peaceful protest also kena, you think Singaporeans dare to stage a major one? In the manner of brown:"You want to protest ar? Ok, go sign up the protest license package here. Takes at least 3 working days to approve ok? No approve, cannot protest." "Ok? Sign already? Ok, your protest location is in Bintan, here's a free loud hailer, go. Next!" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...