COE up to 50k soon? want to buy(change) car? hurry up!!

Quantum

汽车商公会会长黄哲忠估计,如果车辆增长率下调,中小型汽车组(A组)可能会上涨到约两万元的水平,大型及豪华车组(B组)则或许会起到四五万元的高价位。

Automobile Association Chairman estimates that if the rate of car growth is reduced, Cat A COE will increase to $20,000 levels and Cat B COE will likely reach $40,000 to $50,000 levels.

actually..it's good for us who still owns and operate cars..

it means less cars on the road = less jams = less reasons for them to increase ERP..

Well, also has to consider the time when we need to renew COE......assuming my current ride can tahan until then [:p][sweatdrop]

Its time to start bike license lesson liao... [:)]

Edited by Gilgamesh

It's possible that COE may inch upwards to these level, Gahmen just need to reduce the quota to make it happen.

Edited by Amazon777

Guest Julio369

The revenues from current numbers of COE & the various indirect taxes recieved after putting a car on the road is a force $$$ to be reckon with...they won't reduce COE so dramatically...don forget they got their secret weapon...ERP.

more COEs = more ERPS= more $$$, a win-win situation.

My guess will be it cannot be true as the number of gantries going up...

and also by increasing the price of ERPs if traffic gets too heavy.

The "pay as u use" will mean gamen will be able to make more money as they will be charging u daily as u use ma

Edited by Fireball2k

read this, it may change your buy(change) car mind [:p]

http://zaobao.com/sp/sp070825_513_1.html

sorry, can't find ang mo version, whoever has please contribute [:)]

Haha, I thought the news is confirmed one. [sweatdrop]

Based on history, government will only make change to policy gradually, they will not reduce the car growth rate by a lot. Even the minister has said that it will be a balance of car population and how much to charge for ERP.

Once a while, these car dealers will find way to convince people that now is the BEST time to buy car. Everytime around Aug/Sept, they will always said COE quota will be reduced. And in the end, more COE was released as it mid year quota review in Sept 2006.

More COE = more tax ($$$) collected = more cars on the road = more jam = more ERP = more $$$.