USA: Traveling to US - What to take note?

Albeniz

Dear fellow MCFers, I intend to go to US for a 3 month holiday. The last time I went to States was in 1997.

My passport was issued in 2002.

Is there any procedures I need to clear/ take note of?

Greatly appreciate any inputs from you guys. Thank you.

If you landing at LAX, please try not to look anxious or overly excited. If got mainland Chinese groups, dun walk near them.

http://kcarclubsg1975.spaces.live.com/

why arh? me gg LAX in Oct leh.

LAX is one of the most crowded and strictest airports in US, and messy too. Body searches are very common. I usually prefer to stop over in SF rather than LAX.

And you need to be at the airport at least 3 hours before departure for int'l flights. Not very effecient system they have and the queue is a nightmare.

Edited by Vit4wd

For political reasons, the VISAs for mainland Chinese are limited.

They are also notorious for illegal migration, hence checks on them would be more stringent. Best to avoid if you do not wish to have your time delayed.

1. Everything in Texas is big. The central divide on some of the highways can fit our HDB block with space for parking.

2. When going to strip joints, bring lots of one dollar notes. Its okay for them if you bring spouse, not sure about you.

3. If you are lucky, it might snow again in Texas this winter.

4. There are many good makan place in Dallas/Fortworth. Just need to find them.

5. Don't be greedy when ordering lobstors ... 2 lbs lobstor taste sweetest.

Edited by Fondue

your passport is still valid so no worries for now. so you will be in Dallas huh? take a short trip down south to south padro island near brownsville. pretty good beach.

Dear fellow MCFers, I intend to go to US for a 3 month holiday. The last time I went to States was in 1997.

My passport was issued in 2002.

Is there any procedures I need to clear/ take note of?

Greatly appreciate any inputs from you guys. Thank you.

If you landing at LAX, please try not to look anxious or overly excited. If got mainland Chinese groups, dun walk near them.

If not for nothing kena ask many many questions or worst still they invite you to a room to interview you on many things from where you going to why U are visiting US to even what's in your bag.

I kena until sian already....

LAX is one of the most crowded and strictest airports in US, and messy too. Body searches are very common. I usually prefer to stop over in SF rather than LAX.

And you need to be at the airport at least 3 hours before departure for int'l flights. Not very effecient system they have and the queue is a nightmare.

Dun forget the smoking area is damn jia lat also, you can actually check out after check in to go smoking area. then you have to re-check in again.

LAXthumbsdown.gif

Another question :-)

Our VISA-free stay is up to 90 days. If I intend to stay longer than 90 days, does it mean I have to go to Mexico on the 90th day and then re-enter into US? Can we extend the stay beyond 90 days this way?

i guess if you wanna stay longer, you will need a visa. but you do not have any reasons unless you have proof of employment or education etc... why not call up imigration department in US embassy and find out more. mine was done thru my company back then and i've a working permit visa which allowed me to stay for 2 years. should you intent to get one, remember to get a multi entry instead of single entry. this way you are free to get out and re enter the country.

usually, the custom in LAX is ok. so far on my return trip no issue. wasn't stop whatsoever. the custom in the mexico-US is different. i kanna interviewed everytime on my way back to US side afterwork.

fwah.. if they get a blonde to strip search me and find me lethal weapon in my pants jialat.

You can shoot her with your lethal liquid weapon then [laugh]

But those blonde immigration officers are old enough to be your grandma. I didn't know you liked very old women [laugh]

one more thing is to make sure that your camp is informed of your trip. getting the approval via phone notification is useless. a friend of mine was hand cuffed recently upon arrival in changi. was transfered to police station before listening to his explanation. dont know why even he had the acknowledgement number with him. was told that this arrest warrnt was issued by his camp. screw up big time! released him after clarification with his camp aqnd spending half a day in the lockup.

From my experience last century, the US Immigration do not give 90 days VISA to all.

They'll ask your purpose for coming and stamp the date accordingly.

My wife travelled with me on one of my business trip, and we were at the counter together. I told them I am on a 4 week business trip so they gave me 4 weeks visa whereas my wife gets 3 mths. When I ask why the difference in validity, the reply was cos she is travelling with me to shop and have fun. [:|]

Another colleage asked for 4 weeks but was only given 2 weeks. He did not check the validity date and only realised when he reach the hotel. Good thing we were near to the Canadian border so we took a trip to canada on a weekend and got a new visa.

Not sure if things has changed, but it'll be wise to check the date before leaving the immigration counter.

Edited by Fondue