Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie August 23, 2007 Share August 23, 2007 Hi bros/sis's, I know MCF does not stand for My Computer Forum but I am in desperate need for help and I hope that there computer experts here. Tried asking for help in Hardwarezone but so far no replies yet. Here goes the story.... Today, when I turned on my computer, there was no response at all. I had this problem last month and found that it was due to faulty power supply and got it replaced. But this time, the situation is a bit different. The power button was totally useless in powering up the PC. So I pull out the power plug to examine the power cable and change to another power socket. This time the moment I switch in the power on the socket, I could hear the fans running and the CD players and other LEDs lighting up for a very short while. The monitor screen showed the BIOS checking screen and after 1 or 2 seconds, the PC went dead. This problem is now happening all the time and I can't boot it up at all. This time doesn't seem like power supply fault at all. I don't what went wrong - motherboard, RAM or something else.... My PC was self assembled and I am basically on my own. Hope that someone will help soon as I need to use it urgently. Thanks a million! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear August 23, 2007 Share August 23, 2007 bro, there could be a few problems... if u r able to come down to toapayoh, i dun mind taking a look for u... absolutely foc, no need to scare tat i might con u or charge anyting... i can troubleshoot for u and let u noe the outcome on the spot.... pm me if u wan... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear August 23, 2007 Share August 23, 2007 cud b mobo cud b ram cud b ur overclocking of cpu/ ram when booting in, set bios to failsafe and try Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear August 23, 2007 Share August 23, 2007 buy new one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie August 23, 2007 Author Share August 23, 2007 bro, it seems like the problem has something to do with power. I tore the PC apart and re-plugged the power switch jumper. This time I can power up using the power switch on the casing but the power can only sustain for a short while. But this time a few more seconds longer than previously. Could this be due to faulty power supply? But I thought if this is faulty, there will not even be any power at all.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear August 23, 2007 Share August 23, 2007 wat is the Watt written on the PSU? hw much u paid for it? got warrantee boh? usually the chirper ones may gibe problem, the experienced vendor usually also do not recommend/ carry stock for them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie August 23, 2007 Author Share August 23, 2007 PSU is 400W. This PC was self assembled by me and is 1.5 yrs old now...so no vendor to warranty me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger21 Clutched August 23, 2007 Share August 23, 2007 Buy new one. Mine also like that dunno what happened. So buy a new CPU from SLS for $740. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched August 23, 2007 Share August 23, 2007 Your PSU may not be true 400W. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched August 23, 2007 Share August 23, 2007 Did you add any new peripherals like DVD drive recently? And what brand is your PSU? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hungryforcar 1st Gear August 23, 2007 Share August 23, 2007 Can you tell me where is the post check stop before rebooting? the calculation of the ram? devices detected? or harddisk booting stage? Any Beep beep sound? and how many times Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucien Neutral Newbie August 23, 2007 Share August 23, 2007 U have just fried either ur MOBO or RAM My suggestions. Use 1RAM, 1HDD, 1Keyboard & 1 mouse and just boot it up. NO CD-ROM, NO USB things! If same. I would say BYEBYE MOBO! Having a faulty PSU will cause power surge on MOBO. Urs already 1 yr wif this prob. Ur MOBO can survive is miracle liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie August 23, 2007 Author Share August 23, 2007 (edited) PSU is a cheapo one bought for $25 at Simlim, brand is VIOS Nothing has been added for the past few months. It was still ok last night but it just gone bonkers this afternoon. However, after pulling out the parts and re-assembled back, the PC was able to function properly again. Dunno what happened but I have a feeling that it is living on borrowed time now and it might happen again Edited August 23, 2007 by Lexxmexx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie August 23, 2007 Author Share August 23, 2007 If I paused for a few minutes and press the power switch, it will boot up to the part just before the Windows XP logo appear. If I power up immediately after shutting down, it will just flash at the VGA card RAM check section. The PC will produce a short beep once just before shutting down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bentwy Neutral Newbie August 23, 2007 Share August 23, 2007 i had the same issues before. sometimes the fans would whirr. sometimes could start up, other times could not. for me it was a PSU issue. i changed mine to a 'branded' one which has worked since. however, it could also be a mobo issue. but my bet would be PSU. it is one of the most overlooked things nowadays. mobos are usually tougher than we think. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie August 23, 2007 Author Share August 23, 2007 It is ok again but I dunno how long this will last. Hope I can fully isolate the faulty part and replace it without having to spend a bomb on others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear August 23, 2007 Share August 23, 2007 $25 PSU throw away lah.. i wun even touch. get ard $100 + 3 yr warranty. confirm nap nap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear August 24, 2007 Share August 24, 2007 bro, i can pin-point down the faulty part for u... psu i oso can take another and test for u... aiya, any problem oso can solved de... if u dun trust me dan go down sls and giv them $30 let them check for u lor... or another option is i can go sls wif u, i bring in to a shop (no charges) as i noe them... dan on the spot can tell u wat's wrong oso.. if like tat still dun trust me dan forget it liao... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...