Robin 4th Gear August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 I've called a few hotels and they dun carry yam mooncakes (usually with crispy skin?) any idea where to get them? need not be from hotel, old time bakery/confectionary also can as long as yummy can liao ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 Not sure (can't help) but I love traditional tau sar or lian yong paste mooncakes (without yolks). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 17, 2007 Author Share August 17, 2007 where to buy these type? is it near ICA building? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 crispy skin is teochew mooncake if i not wrong. try balestier road.. near to far east audio/ hotel 81. opp the rochor?? tua pek kong temple got 1 bakery Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 17, 2007 Author Share August 17, 2007 k... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weihui Clutched August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 Maybe the hotels have not started making them. Mooncake with yam paste can't be kept for long, need to be consumed within a week otherwise the paste will go bad. Hotel will not start making them so early as market consumption is still low now, my guess only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adwin Neutral Newbie August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 Agreed... it will easily go bad. Wait for one to two weeks later. The market would be flooded with them. Also look out for the bazaar at takashimaya square. it should be there everyyear at about this time. Anyway, my personal recommendation is from Dragon phoenix restaurant. Fresh from the oven everday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 17, 2007 Author Share August 17, 2007 i called 3. was told they dun sell yam version... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 interesting as i passed by east coast road. there is a tibetian restaurant there.... tibetian.. i wonder.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 17, 2007 Author Share August 17, 2007 this restaturnt was featured in a ch 8 variety programme earlier this week Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Virus 2nd Gear August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 Crown prince hotel, famous for their yam mooncake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 17, 2007 Author Share August 17, 2007 i've not called them. i'll call them to check.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blu_g Neutral Newbie August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 last time, saw the yam types at the takashimaya mooncake fair.. maybe u can go take a look there when the fair start.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 17, 2007 Author Share August 17, 2007 another dead end. they also dun sell mooncakes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Virus 2nd Gear August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 Cannot be leh.. http://www.can.com.sg/content/neocan/en/st...e_mooncake.html Try call the long jiang restaurant in Crown prince. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 17, 2007 Author Share August 17, 2007 i called Crown Prince Hotel direct .... they said they are not making i didnt try long jiang ... nvm i'll call the restaurant Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 i know the head chef of long jiang has quit quite some time back so not sure if the restuarant still making it without him.. he's the first guy who does that kind of yam mooncakes in sg... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 17, 2007 Author Share August 17, 2007 they dun make liao ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...