Kianbeng Clutched August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 UA -> star alliance. Why can't redeem SQ flights? If KF members pay 40K, I think maybe you pay 50K from your FF. I know lufthansa's can..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 Whats the difference between the new and old biz class? Sorry to ask this mountain tortoise question coz I always fly economy. Only 2 times I was late for flight and was upgraded to biz. Even my CEO flys economy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 stop overs, usually have to pay more leh. Or with Thai Airlines, got free 1 stopover? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched August 17, 2007 Author Share August 17, 2007 I am glad that u touch on this cabin crew topics. Maybe we can expand the discussion here on the FFP liabilties in this angle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 New biz class you get a totally flat bed and seats are bigger, seat configuration is 1 2 1, so you will always be aisle seat even at window...... The old biz class skybed config is normally 2 3 2, you will always have to climb over one person at window, and the sky bed is not actually flat, it is reclined at an angle, even though you are fully stretch..... I flew the new biz class at least twice, last trip on way back from Frankfurt, SQ325, took off at 11 pm and then slept for at least 7 hours, after dinner was served, they woke me up for meal before landing, 2 hours before arrive..... nice..... For PPS card holders, even on Y class, the air crew will ask you discreetly what meal you would like beofre serving rest of passengers..... squat in front of you quietly asking you then serve you at the same time the special meals are served..... One thing I like about SQ is not matter which class you are in, they will always take your jacket to be hung, so it would not be crumpled, .... unlike many other airlines, you would have to stow your own jacket in over head lockers in Y class.... Don't forget, you will get discount even for tobacco product at Changi if you have PPS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 Oh....which means I've never seen the new business class yet. I've only seen 2 3 2 configs. I think it's only for selected flights?? I don't think this applies to all long hauls.... For PPS taking Y class....I wonder what will happen if the passenger takes a window / middle seat. Will they still ask? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 Most frequent flyers, including myself prefer aisle seats...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 PPS got 10% discount at Wah Lok Cantonese Restaurant also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chocobelle Neutral Newbie August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 yupz..free stopover, it's part of the deal. & thai chicks quite & helpful. i noticed on long haul flight, there's always a stewardess walkin' up & down the aisle when lights off unlike SQ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 ya same. I always book a middle isle seat myself. Infact, I don't like side isle seat that much coz you get 2 ppl walking pass you. For middle isle, on long hauls, you sometimes get no disturbance at all especially if the other 2 are a couple. But I believe there will be some times where the PPS member did not book himself and was probably late and got a middle-in-nowhere seat.... maybe if that happens then there will be no specials. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 Hmm...maybe I can consider Thai Air for a try next time. So far I've only taken Thai air to BKK and nothing further. Infact, going thru BKK....although waste time, but you also get a slightly inflated flown miles. But sometimes I won't go for the extra miles coz the penalty is too much ie, long transit.... I also try not to take long hauls coz I hate those 12-13hr journeys. I really cannot tahan after 7hrs or so. So if possible, sometimes I'll take a transit to basically have a walk and some fresh air. Infact, in the past 1 year, on 2 flights that I've taken, there were ppl hit with DVT. In 1 instance it was pretty severe and I had to help. So it's sometimes not too bad an idea to break the journey up a little if you can afford the time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spenz Neutral Newbie August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 har ??? When did you last visited the lounge ?? which lounge you go to ?? beer is as cheap as cola as long its duty free... Was last there 2 weeks ago... definitely no more canned beer both in the lounges.. think they stopped since beginning of this year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chocobelle Neutral Newbie August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 with the 20-30% savin', i dun mind lor coz i can splurge more on my shoppin' spree ltr Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt 6th Gear August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 (edited) I always break up my flights if its more than 7 hours. If not..I would take midnight flights. You sleep, wake up..and a few hours left to go. Only irritating part is they switch on the lights to serve you breakfast. Though you dont want it,your sleep is disrupted and its hard to get back to sleep. Edited August 17, 2007 by Davidtkl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 I'm really surprised. This is a big problem.... I see almost everyone in the lounge always having a beer or some alcohol drinks. Maybe you can walk over to the sat premiere lounge (which is nearby) and relax there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 The problem with me is, I'm a light sleeper. So esp at the front rows, you WILL always get babies. I feel they probably go thru a very hard time on long flights. So sometimes I'll try to watch movies until I doze off. But recently I've been taking some flights and they dont have movies on demand! I thought it was because its a 777-200 but I realised it's also happening on a 777-300. So I don't really know how to tell which flights have them nowadays. On a short flight like 2-3hrs, it probably made no diff. But for longer flights, movie on demand is very appreciated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 err...when you mentioned both lounge, I assume you meant the first class and the business lounge. Not the Sat Premium lounge for star alliance?? Coz I was there last week and it was the same. Got all the drinks you want. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spenz Neutral Newbie August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 Never tried the premier lounge.. always patronise the SQ ones, esp here at home. But looks like they are 2 up from the Krisflyer lounges now if they still have beer ! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...