Tarzan666 2nd Gear August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 (edited) Now doing an audit on fuel purchase in my organisation...knn always kena arrow do car-related stuff audit,like carpark,vehicles,usage of vehicles,feasibility of vehicle models..blah2.. Think my boss knoe i surf car forums too much.. Anyway,currently all our vehicles are under the corporate plan for shell & mobil.Refuel using fleet card. I want to propose using the minimum grade for petrol say 92 or something coz the current stance is using 95. My organisation vehicle fleet consist of vans,old station wagons,saloon cars etc.. Only found this article to support my claim.. http://fifthgear.five.tv/jsp/5gmain.jsp?ln...=143&pageid=272 Recalled seeing some articles in AAS..any one got other articles to support my proposal? Edited August 16, 2007 by Tarzan666 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dynaway 1st Gear August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 i suggest its better to find out wats the suitable octane level for each individual car of ur company's fleet. cause using lower than recommended octane in the long run may not really save ur company $$$$, but instead may add up repair bills. dun forget, u can control the fuel grade, but the driver's behaviour u cant really control. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Symantec9 2nd Gear August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 (edited) nowsaday, less & less petrol coy carry ron 92, had u tried looking for ron 92 at shell lately...do u know where to find for tat matter? No luck on me side so far. Caltex also don't carry ron 92, but they don hv for very long time, so no surprise... Edited August 16, 2007 by Symantec9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 Another area which you are explore is, how to get better discount from these petrol company if your fleet of vehicle is of significant size. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 Your company's vans and lorries got emission smoke problem bor ? Can approach "moonstar" to get some bio-diesel to mix with the normal diesel. Can reduce the black smoke emission significantly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear August 16, 2007 Author Share August 16, 2007 discount i tink best liao..coz its like a gahmen wide ting..we are juz tapping into the main contract..but using our funds.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear August 16, 2007 Author Share August 16, 2007 wah dat 1 siong....suitable octane level?? we have like 200+ vehicles... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 (edited) i do not have any idea on what is the nature of your company, as such, will not be able to give further suggestions. perhaps look at the driving habits. does your drivers leave their engine running when they are 'loading' or 'unloading'.. Edited August 16, 2007 by Gadgeter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mubarakrashid Neutral Newbie August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 Now doing an audit on fuel purchase in my organisation...knn always kena arrow do car-related stuff audit,like carpark,vehicles,usage of vehicles,feasibility of vehicle models..blah2.. Think my boss knoe i surf car forums too much.. Anyway,currently all our vehicles are under the corporate plan for shell & mobil.Refuel using fleet card. I want to propose using the minimum grade for petrol say 92 or something coz the current stance is using 95. My organisation vehicle fleet consist of vans,old station wagons,saloon cars etc.. Only found this article to support my claim.. http://fifthgear.five.tv/jsp/5gmain.jsp?ln...=143&pageid=272 Recalled seeing some articles in AAS..any one got other articles to support my proposal? are u the MTO or MT Sgt? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear August 16, 2007 Author Share August 16, 2007 No la..MTO wont b bothered with fuel purchase... anyway regarding the vehicle usage..is mainly for transportation of staff,carrying goods,big boss personal corporate vehicle,go inspection etc..mainly short distance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mubarakrashid Neutral Newbie August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 it depends... if its a huge corp cost cutting exercise, the project manager can even be logistic officer/S4.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mubarakrashid Neutral Newbie August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 since u oredi tied to shell and mobil, some other things u can consider is for them to throw some freebies.. free car wash, servicing, better discount etc. ..just need to negotiate hard.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dynaway 1st Gear August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 wah dat 1 siong....suitable octane level?? we have like 200+ vehicles... well 200+ vehicle is not really a lot... jus filter them by make & model... most of the car would have the minimum octane rating label at the petrol tank cover area. alternatively, can read the owner's manaual Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 Ask your boss to convert all vehicle fleet to use natural gas Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 Have you seen the price difference between RON 92 and RON 95? It isn't much. The gap to VPower/Platinum/whathaveyou is a lot bigger. Not every vehicle can run on 92 octane. The knock sensors on engines not tuned for 92 RON would retard the engine's timing, resulting in reduced power at the very least. For vehicles tuned for at least 92 octane, there'll be little if any effect of running a higher octane than necessary. So in terms of best fit, and assuming you don't have a Suzuki Swift Sport or some heavily tuned WRX in the fleet, staying with 95 RON might be the wisest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ed2win2 Neutral Newbie August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 For easier management, my company use 95 as a standard for all petrol vehicles, to be fair to all employees. Not all vehicles can use a lower ron. I suggest u to call shell & mobil arrange appointment with account manager to discuss corporate discount. If u pool your fleet to use just 1 company, they can give u higher discount. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 can point ur boss to MCF. there are probably some threads here support your idea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear August 17, 2007 Author Share August 17, 2007 We are already enjoying fleet discount...few cents cheaper than public rate. I've decided to drop this point coz of the following reason; -Difference between 92 & 95 is less than 3 cents per litre. -Fuel cost is less than $10,000 per month,so roughly savings only like less than $300 -Spoke to my engineering guys,they say about 40% of vehicles min ron level is 95. So b4 i get blamed for piston jammed or malfunction vehicle..tink i juz let it go.. Thanks 4 all ur help.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...