Recommend Amp for CDT-CL62

Theoldjaffa

hi all,

most of my old ICE system has been upgraded after 5 years of service, except for my 4-ch JBL amp (4x40w @ 4ohm), currently used to drive my front components active.

i bought my CDT CL-62 in may this year. Power stated on the website is 160 watt RMS. not sure if its max or nominal.

need recommendations for an acceptable 2nd hand amp that is good enough and not overkill for my entry level speakers to play my choice of music if chinese R&B (jay chou, david tao etc) and english 90s rock/pop/dance. seldom listen to instrumentals, jazz.

objective: to get clearer vocals with more depth in mids. currently i need to utilise the "loudness" setting in my P8650 to get "deeper" sound, and then again the vocals sound abit dim/muffled. want to use an amp that gives clearer sound without sacrificing on midbass.

i dun need too high end like Tru-Tech or Genesis or Audison. is it enough if i get a 4x100w or 4x125w rms amp? budget about $250-$300 only cos i still need to factor in re-wiring and changing my RCAs cos i'm only using 8awg and normal RCA cables.

looking forward to your recommendations. thanks!!

good luck in your purchase. hope your judgment is correct that the JBL is giving you unclear sound sacrificing the midbass ...

if u have the opportunity to swop an amp with a friend, you can have a free preview of what happens when you change this unclear amp for another more dear one, before you spend the money.

i know my CDTs are not SQ speakers. i hope to have a clearer vocal with another amp that produces this characteristic. also, i hope to get more power amplification than what my JBL can give, so i dun have to utilise my "loudness" setting in the HU.

according to my installer, JBLs are not known for clarity, and the 40w is not sufficient enough although he told me to "try first".

> i know my CDTs are not SQ speakers

although i'm currently no longer using my same model of CDTs, i don't think they are blur speakers lah. "not SQ speakers" simply means to most people, not expensive. but are they really BLUR? if u just fix them up at home and play it plainly like that, or play at an installer's sound board, it may not sound as clear as some other expensive models, but with a bit of EQ to depress any excess, perhaps in the region of 200-500hz, the difference might be corrected.

another common reason you might have "blurness" might be due to the mounting of the speakers in the doors, behind the plastic grill. same rationale as why some hifi owners play their speakers with the grill removed.

just suggesting that maybe it isn't your amp that's blurring your sound ...... good luck!

allo doctor, you coming to MU this Friday ? need your expertise and advice on my CDTs and general setup on my HU Alpine 9855.

kopi on me lah... [:p]

i am using alpine 4 channel amp to drive my CDT61 and tweeters. guess we have the same taste in music. [laugh][laugh] i listen to lots of kylie, 80s/90s music, dance.... [:p]

perhaps we can meet up and hear my setup. [;)]

heh thanks for the pointer :)

i also admit la.. my backside itchy.. keep having this nagging feeling that my amp is way too underpowered to drive my CDTs.

so kill 2 birds with 1 stone, change to a high RMS amp, and get 1 that can improve my sound as well.

Change out to better RCAs, speaker cables first then re-tune - if you are retaining your CDTs, you may like what you hear and don't have to change the amps after all.

If you are really into clarify / vocals, changing to any higher powered amp would NOT really help that much - the main thing is to find amps which match the speakers you like.

Also don't neglect sound-proofing for your doors - you won't want the doors to rattle when you really get the speakers "kicking" [thumbsup]

i'm not really into vocals, just like my David Tao to sound clearer thats all :)

yup soundproofing was done. guess i'll redo my wiring first.

thanks!

Hi Bro,

If you buy it from U.S. online, here is what you are paying:

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_8988_R...wer+T600-4.html

Rockford Fosgate Power T600-4 - 2007 Power Series Compact 4-Channel Amplifier selling for US$419.99

* Power Series 4-Channel Class AB Car Amplifier

* RMS Power Rating:

o 4 ohms: 100 watts x 4 chan.

o 2 ohms: 150 watts x 4 chan.

o Bridged, 4 ohms: 300 watts x 2 chan.

* Max power output: 600 watts x 4 chan.

I also have the CDT CL-62's and i have them hooked up to a Dragster Audio Art DAB 4300 wicch i have running at 160w rms x4chan @4ohm ( i also have my sub attached to it)

I can't crank the volume up too high cuz then u can clearly hear the speakers straining/deforming.

the CL62 sound great though.

My 2 cents worth (before you go all out to spend money on a new amp)

Do up your soundproofing. At least 2 layers in each door

Are the midbass drivers installed properly? The properway is to soundproof the metal structure, using 1/2 inch MDF to cut on a ring, then mount the driver on the MDF ring. Any gaps should be seal up with silicone sealant.

Use decent speaker cables, not that chickenshit that comes with the car originally. Run the cables into your doors from the inside of your car without cutting and joining.

Oh yeah, not all amplifiers' power ratings are honest...

hi all,

most of my old ICE system has been upgraded after 5 years of service, except for my 4-ch JBL amp (4x40w @ 4ohm), currently used to drive my front components active.

i bought my CDT CL-62 in may this year. Power stated on the website is 160 watt RMS. not sure if its max or nominal.

need recommendations for an acceptable 2nd hand amp that is good enough and not overkill for my entry level speakers to play my choice of music if chinese R&B (jay chou, david tao etc) and english 90s rock/pop/dance. seldom listen to instrumentals, jazz.

objective: to get clearer vocals with more depth in mids. currently i need to utilise the "loudness" setting in my P8650 to get "deeper" sound, and then again the vocals sound abit dim/muffled. want to use an amp that gives clearer sound without sacrificing on midbass.

i dun need too high end like Tru-Tech or Genesis or Audison. is it enough if i get a 4x100w or 4x125w rms amp? budget about $250-$300 only cos i still need to factor in re-wiring and changing my RCAs cos i'm only using 8awg and normal RCA cables.

looking forward to your recommendations. thanks!!

My 2 cents worth (before you go all out to spend money on a new amp)

Do up your soundproofing. At least 2 layers in each door

Are the midbass drivers installed properly? The properway is to soundproof the metal structure, using 1/2 inch MDF to cut on a ring, then mount the driver on the MDF ring. Any gaps should be seal up with silicone sealant.

Use decent speaker cables, not that chicken**** that comes with the car originally. Run the cables into your doors from the inside of your car without cutting and joining.

Oh yeah, not all amplifiers' power ratings are honest...

soundproofing done 2 layers per door

MDF ring included

silicone sealant --> nope.

speaker cables -> i think its 16/18 awg, not high end ones. think its coaxial ofc

anyway i'm gonna re-do my cabling first, get better quality RCAs, power cables and speaker cables.

then look for amps.. currently rockford p4004 is my first choice

if u were offered a brand new celestra fa-750 at $800 incl install (local set), will u grab?