Sgkingkong Neutral Newbie August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 Agreed... in Singapore, car is never a need (even if your job requires you to travel around). It's always a want. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeochris Clutched August 23, 2007 Share August 23, 2007 hi guys, today i went to CM to test drive their SSS.. i quite 'gain' to buy it.. but i still want to compare the price with PI. wat i like about PI is their megasports model.. any guys here bought the megasports model from PI?? can PM me and recommend a good PI dealer to me?? thanks in advance... btw, CM quoted me $60k for their SSS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie August 23, 2007 Share August 23, 2007 Only buy a car when you can comfortably set aside $1.5k cash every month. That's about the money you will need to own and maintain/repair a 1.6L car. I'm personally against 10 year loans as you are stuck with the car for at least 6-7 years depending on the resale value, else you will owe the bank money if you sell the car. I took a 7 year loan for my previous car while my brother took a 10 year loan. After 3+ years, I changed car and got back $5k to be used as part of my downpayment of my new car. My brother is still stuck with his car until now, which is 4 years already. He still haven't breakeven. One more thing. If *touchwood* anything happens to your car during the first 6 - 7 years that results in the car being scraped or total claim (eg, stolen), the insurance will only pay the market value of your car. That means you will still end up owing the bank money, having to pay instalments when you do not have the car already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonjoey 1st Gear August 23, 2007 Author Share August 23, 2007 thanks for the advice ....not gonna commit to the car as yet.... maybe wait till i am comfortable enuff....to buy th CTR...haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 24, 2007 Share August 24, 2007 as long as you can comfortably afford $1k ++ per mth for the car, then dun have to bother what others say. there ae those who can afford, but dun want spend this type of $. and there are also those who cannot afford, but dream of owning a car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonjoey 1st Gear August 24, 2007 Author Share August 24, 2007 okies...thanks dude! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Catastrophe Neutral Newbie August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 SSS and swift 1.3M XG performance really differ a lot ma ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terras14 August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 Hi all ...I am thinking of getting the Suzuki Swift Sport as my first car...am really a noob at this...so can the experienced MCFers, especially the SSS owners enlighten me the monthly expenditure of owning one? OR any 1.6 car for that matter? I am going for the 1.6M from Champion Motors...probably $5k upfront and the rest on 10 year loan....wat other hidden costs? Really thanks a lot to u guys out there! Hi, did you just start working? Just to share my experience. I bought a near 70k car 3 years ago with 10% downpayment and took up a 10 year loan. At that time, i just graduated and start working for almost 1 year. Thot with my pay, i should be able to be comfortable. It was abt 3k plus a little. But dun forget with a car like SSS, u may go into modding the car and along the way as you work, you tend to spend more on your lifestyle. lucky for me things was pretty smooth for me and i intend to change car this year. Guess what, i need to top up nearly 17k (interest was only 2%, now its higher) just to settle the o/s loan, plus i spend more than 10k modding my car already. In the end, i just hold on to that idea at least for the time being coz i cannot bear to part with 20k plus perhaps another 20k to go for the new car and it will all start again. So if you intend to take a near full loan, prepare to drive this car for quite a while and work real hard so that if you want to change car next time, you can afford to. No offence bro as i wrote with the assumption that you just started working. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 mmz.. for your information, my ride was financed for 2 yrs, and come Dec 2007, my ride would be fully paid up ur $$$ or ur old man? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonjoey 1st Gear August 26, 2007 Author Share August 26, 2007 totall no worries...not offended...thanks for ur advice though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
A-Klasse5 Neutral Newbie August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 btw, CM quoted me $60k for their SSS May I know whether the price quoted is it for Manual or Auto transmission? How many COE bidding? Me quite kind to change ride. The new ride will be shared with wife thus I prefer an AUTO transmission. Wonder, did anyone rally for a group-purchase on SSS? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedsun Clutched August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 Owning a normal 1600cc car in singapore, be prepared to spend averaging $1300 per month in general. Of course this amount varies as it depends on the loan period, initial downpayment and etc. If you have just started working, it is best for you to get insurance at a younger age (cheaper), save and invest a bit. Buying a car should be your last priority as it would deplete most of your salary unless your salary is high or your job does require you to drive and provide you with transport allowance. The younger you learn to save and invest, there is a higher chance of getting better returns. With good returns from your investments, you would not need to worry much of owning a car then, you may even have a wider range of cars for you to choose from. Remember buying a car with loan can be anytime but maintaining it requires financial planning. This is just my opinion. Money is yours, importantly do what you deem fit and do not regret later after taking so many comments here into your consideration. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 he wun reply one la.. me posed the same question earlier on.. no reply also. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheongtako Neutral Newbie August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 personally, i've been thru stages with car and without car for me, without car, life is care-free. not in hurry, then take bus & mrt. rushing to go somewhere, get a taxi. really don't want to waste time waiting, then call for taxi-booking. this is good becoz my money is with me until i need to spend it owning a car means that i have to set aside a fixed amount each month, definitely much money $ compared to taking taxi everyday becoz there is the car loan, petrol, parking, erp, car manitenance and touch-wood emergency money for that unexpected body work should there be an accident of course, owning a car makes going places very convenient, just drive and go, hardly need to 'think' & plan what bus/mrt/taxi to take in addition, can carry more things any time, unlike when without a car, anything i bring or buy is limited becoz even with taxi, there is no storage space until i get into the taxi but then again, in spore, parking space is so precious, drive to popular places, always worry cannot find a parking lot this is not a problem if i don't have a car, just take bus/mrt/taxi there only thing is return journey, bus/mrt/taxi all very crowded or long-wait (e.g. orchard road) conclusion - in spore becoz land is so scarce, either without or without car, plenty of pros and cons and some things come with car, e.g. when need arise, give ride to friends, colleagues etc and people hardly ever offer to pay for parking etc, even if they did, chances are car owners say no-need to save face Ok, you may say these are small things, but let's face it, they add up owning car is a lifestyle, trying to balance (justify/reason) the $ part and my conclusion is always, better not buy car unless the intangible benefit is very strong for car owner, becoz it feels good & cool to have ride of your choice just my 2 cts, no offence to anyone Totally agree, especially on the care-free part. My car was in the workshop for 4 days after being rammed by a drunk driver. So i had to commute by bus and mrt to work, send, pick up kids etc. It was great. I realised I get to talk to my kids much more when you let someone else drive. The other thing is that when my wife asked me 'how does it feel?' on the first mornign after we got our car back, I immediately realised I was stressed free the past few days when I did not have to drive. U hv to be on your toes looking out for XXXhole and inconsiderate drivers in singapore and that is stressful! Same as Blues, just my humble opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 Im worried of Sillypore future sia...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 sort of agree with you. if the person is single with not much family commitments, then even a 2k salary is enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonjoey 1st Gear August 27, 2007 Author Share August 27, 2007 sure...okies...thanks for the advice man... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear August 30, 2007 Share August 30, 2007 Only buy a car when you can comfortably set aside $1.5k cash every month. That's about the money you will need to own and maintain/repair a 1.6L car. I'm personally against 10 year loans as you are stuck with the car for at least 6-7 years depending on the resale value, else you will owe the bank money if you sell the car. I took a 7 year loan for my previous car while my brother took a 10 year loan. After 3+ years, I changed car and got back $5k to be used as part of my downpayment of my new car. My brother is still stuck with his car until now, which is 4 years already. He still haven't breakeven. One more thing. If *touchwood* anything happens to your car during the first 6 - 7 years that results in the car being scraped or total claim (eg, stolen), the insurance will only pay the market value of your car. That means you will still end up owing the bank money, having to pay instalments when you do not have the car already. The installment for 10yr loan is too attractive to make people don't take liao. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...