Weixiang_06 Clutched August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 (edited) There is nothing morally wrong to buy a car by paying on her own at that level of income. It's just not prudent financially, almost financially inept to do so. actually, i am just dead curious... can TS share with us how much his annual income is? hitting >$50k with bonuses? for me, its below i am just a typical singaporean.... and can he project his future salary scale and etc? if he could, then by all means Edited August 16, 2007 by Weixiang_06 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 (edited) Only u r most sure of your own financial status. Maybe u have a job with good potential for fast promotion, large annual increments or fat bonuses, so just because today u barely can afford a car (I only guessing+assuming hor, no offense) does not mean u will still be in this situation 2 years later. So u can always buy the car now and as your salary goes up through the years u find it easier to maintain your car...or u can play safe and save more $ and salary go up 1st then buy car. I don't think you should be advising TS to buy a car based upon future earnings. It's dangerous. If at current levels he is unable to get a car and have to resort to 10 year loan to get a car, he should simply not get one. Like I say, only he can know his own financial status. What if he is a scholar with a govt agency that just started work after his PHD in MIT? He will not have much savings as he just start work so he go for 10 years loan, but he also have a good career potential. Wah kao! how you know!!! no lah..I tok BULL one... but close lah...close.... wah so u are a civil scholar indeed.. then by all means, go ahead and purchase! are you by any means a SAF scholar? Edited August 16, 2007 by Weixiang_06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonjoey 1st Gear August 16, 2007 Author Share August 16, 2007 haha...first of all, thank you jiejie but ....i think maybe u do not fully know the situation bah ...the thread was more abt knowing the additional costs like monthly carpark and insurance etc... and not knowing the pros and cons of a 10 year loan compared to a 7 year loan and in the end choosing the 10 year option does not mean ONE is not ready financially bah ...maybe just un-informed abt the financial aspects of the car loan system in SG...did not say I "can ONLY put 5k downpayment" wor... but its ok...i still thank you for ur advice... maybe u wanna jalan-jalan with me in ur ride? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 (edited) i think you are a civil scholar.... working in RSAF? they pay Air Engineering Officers really well, $3.8-$4.2k for fresh graduates. or even better, working in MAS? the scholars' pays are really so if you had signed ur bond with that, i really think you can go ahead and buy one Edited August 16, 2007 by Weixiang_06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 why did i say that? coz last time when i was serving in army, there was this EDB scholar who went to Japan to study Economics, and he is bonded to MAS's foreign investment branch.. that time when he came back to army to serve his remaining NS lability, he was alreadie thinking of buying a VW beetle... that was way back in 2003, where a beetle easily cost >$100k... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonjoey 1st Gear August 16, 2007 Author Share August 16, 2007 No No wor...did not say so wor...haha ...dun make wild guesses and please all dun digress from the main topic ...hehe.. I will take this opportunity to thank ALL of YOU in this tread who have been very helpful and informative and also encouraging in sharing your advice and experiences and answering my endless "Tor Hwee" questions. PS: and no disclosing of annual income wor...I think no one will do that right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonjoey 1st Gear August 16, 2007 Author Share August 16, 2007 no lah bro, not meant to be offensive just stating each other perspective. yeah...i know...i just scared wait u all buay song each other and "fight" ...then i really will be sorry liaoz... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 (edited) just kidding.. but then that "disrupted" scholar was earning really money in MAS as a scholar foreign investment officer... Edited August 16, 2007 by Weixiang_06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 (edited) haha...first of all, thank you jiejie but ....i think maybe u do not fully know the situation bah ...the thread was more abt knowing the additional costs like monthly carpark and insurance etc... and not knowing the pros and cons of a 10 year loan compared to a 7 year loan and in the end choosing the 10 year option does not mean ONE is not ready financially bah ...maybe just un-informed abt the financial aspects of the car loan system in SG...did not say I "can ONLY put 5k downpayment" wor... but its ok...i still thank you for ur advice... maybe u wanna jalan-jalan with me in ur ride? alamak then different story liao. then u should really find and read the cost of ownership thread Other cost includes the servicing, change parts like tyres, brake pads, wipers, timing belt. car grooming cost, minor repairs like dent, rims, spray painting, accessories for cars Then u have the poison category. ICE, Guages, parts upgrades, vinyls. Edited August 16, 2007 by Osiris Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgkingkong Neutral Newbie August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 I understand your feelings. Buying car is like a dream and now, it's finally coming true although you have to stretch slightly. It's a battle of the heart vesus the mind. When I bought my first ride in 2003 (a Lancer 1.5 GDI), I really did up a lot of sums and finally decided on it over a couple of other because it's relatively cheap... It was a stretch, but a rather low risk one. I paid about 20% and took a 7 year loan, bringing the installment to about $850 per month... I was quite please with it then but sold it in less than 3 years... My current ride (bought in 2005) was a huge huge stretch, and one that is very risky... I paid about 10% upfront and took a 7 year loan, making my monthly installment a wooping $1800... I initaily ask for a 10 year loan which means my installment would be about $1200 but decided to change to 7 years and the impact in more manageable I could survive if I am force to sell the car in 3 years (for 10 years loan, i calculated that the top up after 3 years would be about $60k and I would be in deep trouble if it happens)... My point is... plan not just for the good times, but also the rainy times. We can follow our hearts sometime, but make sure we have a rope to cling on in the worst scenario. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonjoey 1st Gear August 16, 2007 Author Share August 16, 2007 okies...understand....thanks for the advice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vollov Neutral Newbie August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 fwah...your appetite for risk is very very high....I would do 1.8k a mth only if I can clear everything in 3 yrs, no longer than that. the amount you must be paying in interest must be enough to buy a QQ already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgkingkong Neutral Newbie August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 Total interest is about $25k. You live only once... ;) but as I said, we need to always make sure there is an escape route... :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blues Neutral Newbie August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 personally, i've been thru stages with car and without car for me, without car, life is care-free. not in hurry, then take bus & mrt. rushing to go somewhere, get a taxi. really don't want to waste time waiting, then call for taxi-booking. this is good becoz my money is with me until i need to spend it owning a car means that i have to set aside a fixed amount each month, definitely much money $ compared to taking taxi everyday becoz there is the car loan, petrol, parking, erp, car manitenance and touch-wood emergency money for that unexpected body work should there be an accident of course, owning a car makes going places very convenient, just drive and go, hardly need to 'think' & plan what bus/mrt/taxi to take in addition, can carry more things any time, unlike when without a car, anything i bring or buy is limited becoz even with taxi, there is no storage space until i get into the taxi but then again, in spore, parking space is so precious, drive to popular places, always worry cannot find a parking lot this is not a problem if i don't have a car, just take bus/mrt/taxi there only thing is return journey, bus/mrt/taxi all very crowded or long-wait (e.g. orchard road) conclusion - in spore becoz land is so scarce, either without or without car, plenty of pros and cons and some things come with car, e.g. when need arise, give ride to friends, colleagues etc and people hardly ever offer to pay for parking etc, even if they did, chances are car owners say no-need to save face Ok, you may say these are small things, but let's face it, they add up owning car is a lifestyle, trying to balance (justify/reason) the $ part and my conclusion is always, better not buy car unless the intangible benefit is very strong for car owner, becoz it feels good & cool to have ride of your choice just my 2 cts, no offence to anyone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonjoey 1st Gear August 16, 2007 Author Share August 16, 2007 you make good sense too...and its precisely the pros of having car and cons of not having one that you mentioned that made me wanna have a car...hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 well said Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lokech34 Clutched August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 why have to be so faster than the others. Traffics are always infront man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Congxdead Clutched August 16, 2007 Share August 16, 2007 how about owning a sss, with 10k upfront. opc car. how much do i need to pay each mth ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...