80000km Servicing

John1979

hi guys!

80000km servicing is a major servicing which got change timing belt, all filters and all fluids.

should i change water pump at 80000km servicing or use until it spoil???

becos some my frens advised change and some dun as they said haven't spoil y change. as this is my first time own a car. pls advise mi, thnks! [;)]

timing belt water pump, all other belts, check ancillary parts of timing belt. all should b replace at end-of-serviceable-life

this msg brought to u, by my kachang puteh fren... sly.gif

hi apollo!

but my car manual book never state the life spend of water pump, so wat should i do?

wat i afraid is wait they replace the water pump n let mi see the old pump still in good/working condition, isn't waste of money to change.

Edited by John1979

Hi

Any recommedation for 160,000km servicing. From general guide line this is also major servicing? Any ideas?

u can heed your friend's advise but u will end up with more damage. water pump change comes together with timing belt change. how u knw it will be spoilt, your engine overheat liao lor by then too late

but hv u ever think of the water pump maybe can last for 160000km - 200000km? if reali can last tat long y change early rite. i noe it can save labour cost when change timing belt and water pump together.

driver who hv drove their car for more than 200000km, pls advise mi. i believe u all hv more experience on those servicing stuff. thnks!

Bro, you are damn funny. You ask whether need to change water pump and all bros here advice to change but you choose not to listen. I guess you already made up your mind not to change. Sure, you can listen to your fren and save some money by not changing but if one day really got problem, please dun start a new thread here saying water pump spoilt...blah blah blah. [rolleyes]

hi Fcw75!

is not tat i dun wan to change. i juz wan a person who hv real experience to advise mi. bro hv u ever drive ur car until this mileage?? only those who hv drive until this mileage or more than tat hv more experience on car.

last time i almost got fool by a workshop, he said 20000km must change brake and clutch fluid. then i ask my colleague, he said no need to change so early. lucky i listen to my colleague advise or else i got cheated. but my colleague dun hv experience on car more than 50000km becos after he drive 3-4yrs, he change car liao so never hit tat mileage b4.

juz imagine if u never drive a car more than 80000km-200000km, how u noe wat servicing is need to do on a car. i can admit, i only noe change timing belt n fluid n filter all these as is inside servicing manual book but the book never state change water pump. tat y i donnoe wat to do.

a driver who hv drive his one n only car for more than 5yrs or mileage more than 80000km will noe wat to do during 80000km servicing, i hope to hear advise frm this type of driver becos they r the true one hv experience.

yes.. the lifespan of the water pump usually is longer but

the recommended servicable life is still within 80k km.

then again, hv u check how much it cost? the pump is dirt chirp but the labor cost is expensive.

here the economy of scale is to replace when given the chance so u save for later.

hi guys!

80000km servicing is a major servicing which got change timing belt, all filters and all fluids.

should i change water pump at 80000km servicing or use until it spoil???

becos some my frens advised change and some dun as they said haven't spoil y change. as this is my first time own a car. pls advise mi, thnks! wink.gif

I would say change ba.

Coz when water pump ki chia meaning no cooling for ur engine.

If u din notice the temp then it mean ur engine may gone case too.

80k km should be 3-4 yrs ba? Unless u doing endless sales job.

Since 3-4 yrs car liao...better dun play play.

u should hv standard change schedule for the car at 80K or 100K.

besides timing belt (major), u also hv auto trans fluid (60K to 80K). if ur mech did not change the engine gaskets at 80k, then u ought to do it at 160K else the oil will really leak.

u need to replace also auto trans filter (if any) another major op.

if man gear, then u sud replace the gearbox oil as well.

hi apollo!

but my car manual book never state the life spend of water pump, so wat should i do?

wat i afraid is wait they replace the water pump n let mi see the old pump still in good/working condition, isn't waste of money to change.

Hmm...how much to change water pump?

200-300 including labour?

For this amount to buy mi a peace in mind knowning my water pump is new, I would do it.

Then maybe u need to go to a better and more reptuable workshop.

My car is almost 5 years old and mileage is 92000KM but I haven't change the water pump yet as my car is running on timing chain. So far so good as the operating temp is still normal. But I have heard that water pump failure dun have any symptoms, it will juz quit on you. I plan to change at 100000km if I still keep the car.

Not sure if it helps.

for cars tat run on timing chain sometimes the owner will forget to change the water pump. mine also on timing chain

yes.. the lifespan of the water pump usually is longer but

the recommended servicable life is still within 80k km.

then again, hv u check how much it cost? the pump is dirt chirp but the labor cost is expensive.

here the economy of scale is to replace when given the chance so u save for later.

hi apollo!

i will check with C&C for the water pump cost, if cheap i will change with timing belt. thnks for ur advise.

Edited by John1979

huh?

CnC sure carrot lah.

goto Min Ghee verawasamy road and check all parts.

if u wanna do i recomm outside workshop lah. 1/2 the price of CnC

find proper one not alibaba job

Edited by Apollo