Merc 'E' Class

Luke721

Guyz,

Need advice...

My dad wants to get the 'E' class (even after I persuaded him X 10,000 times not to!) and according to him, the parallel version can be bought at a cheaper price.

Can someone enlighten me on this?

If this is true, how about the maintenance and detailing? Can C & C provide the same coverage for p/imported models?

I came across a sign in C&C service stating that PI mercs have to pay a nominal fee of $200+ just to check the car even if under warranty. Better find out more from C&C about support for PI models first.

From what i've heard... for Parallel import.... they doesn't come with warranty... so if unlucky kena one problematic models.... then got to fork out own $$..... think the saving can be from $15K to $30K... depending on models.... and since alot reckon that u'll probably don't have repair cost that high.... it's wort the risk.... as this is what i've heard... so pls do check it out... and see whether is it the case or not...

If the savings is substantial then a PI one is worth the savings [;)]

Unless kena Lemon car like Guyver mentioned [:/]

Sometimes PI gives you better value for money, like xtra equipment..but does C&C honour the warranty and servicing? I know BMW has to honour warranty claims and servicing for its brand.. [crazy]

According to my old man, he knows this lady agent who says that C & C has to carry out repairs even on PI models ... really need to do a lot of research for him so that he can get a better deal ...

Yep - at the minimum, the savings can be at least $13k, that's why he's so keen to get one (dun really understand old men with the Merc fetish [crazy] )

Thanx for the info - heard that PI models don't come with the C & C logo at the 'backside' - if that's the case, really easy to identify the PI models [laugh]

According to my old man, he knows this lady agent who says that C & C has to carry out repairs even on PI models ... really need to do a lot of research for him so that he can get a better deal ...

Sounds a wee bit edgey, if you ask me - that's quite similar to what this particular chap told me when I asked about the Accord Type-R. However, when I pushed a bit further and asked for how I'd go about doing it (for example, if I needed to book a service session, what would I say and all that) he couldn't give me anything and quickly tried to reassure me that there were 'outside mechanics' who could do equally decent servicing jobs.

Go figure.

I think its the manufacturer who wants to ensure that even if the authorised distributor is not the one selling the car, they should honour the warranty as its the same brand anyway!

Most of the Conti cars will come with the Int'l warranty, C&C may repair the P/I cars, yes, but the bills will be different. i.e. If I P/I Mondeo Max model, RM still carry the servicing for me, but I need to pay like engine oil, spark plugs, and local mondeo is carry free maintance 3yrs. And some of the P/I cars are difficult to get the parts, since model may vary with the local import.

Edited by Mondeo

my fren bot a e200 early last year... like ur dad he spent some time checking out between c&c and PI mercs... in the end bot the c&c version... coz there are some features in c&c mercs tt PI doesn't provide... he told me all the features but i can't remember now... one significant one is the tires and rims... according to him the PI rims are cheaper by at least $2k... and plus some inside features that are not present in the PI version... so the upfront cost of about $20k savings are actually not much if u consider part for part...

warranty wise i gotta ask him again... believe there's no local warranty... or at least u definitely have to pay much more for servicing compared to c&c mercs... unless u have ur own workshop...

go for a detailed comparison b4 u decide lor... [:p]

Yeah - lucky for you [laugh] Remember the secondhand T4 i told you about? Tried selling the idea to him, but he mati mati refuse leh [crazy]

As it is, my white Daewoo also sometimes can flagged down also [:p]

As for his mindset, I think it's like some fetish for him - being able to own one is like a dream come true? [:|]