Question on Overseas Allowance

Porker

How much more (%) does one generally get when posted overseas for work (for a few years that is)? Mucho Gracias

Edited by Porker

Overseas allowance varies a lot for different countries according to the standard of living. For a given country, the allowance is usually a fixed sum. It is independent of your pay, meaning that whether u earn 1k or 10k per mth, the allowance will be the same. So it is not a % increase of your pay.

At least this is the case for my company. But I believe most companies follow this guideline.

Hmm.. Vietnam sounds like a cheap place to stay in. I guess a $100/day allowance should be reasonable for a long term attachment. The allowance should cover weekends too... so you are probably looking at an extra $3k per mth.

How much more (%) does one generally get when posted overseas for work (for a few years that is)? Mucho Gracias

At least 100% .... [nod][nod]

you must recomm some upclass K-O-K lah. then ask Porker head down to blue lagoon @ Joo Chiat to hv a taste of the viet experience.

You should give more information on hand so that we can assess and help you in your bargain.

Example.

What type of overseas posting? (Short or longterm)

Do you have a ticket back to singapore? (if yes how freq)

Do you have accommendation?

Do you have allowance so far?

Insurance coverage?

Where is your location of office?

Do you have a family currently?

etc etc.

If based overseas for a longer period, usually allowance will be difference (lesser) from those short overseas trip daily allowance. Yes, its based on standard/cost of living of the country and going to country like Vietnam will mean much less allowance as compared to Europe.

And you also need to look into other issues such as -

1)will you be getting part of your salary in Singapore currency, normally credited into your sg bank a/c monthly and balance in Vietnam Dong. This is to minimise loss from any huge changes in currency fluctuation. (also allow you to be discipline and save more)

2)Your employer CPF contribution - will they compensate you in cash?

3)During your stay in Vietnam, will your allowance be adjusted in the event you have pay rise since allowance is calculated from your basic salary.

4)One time relocation allowance and one time repartiation allowance.

5)Host country taxation - do you need to pay income tax? Not too sure about Vietnam but for many other countries, one needs to pay taxes and its make a lot of difference whether is the company paying for you or you pay yourself.

Rgds

Hate to burst your bubble.

Vietnam is not a cheap place to stay. It appears cheap and common for this misconception to surface just because it is a developing nation.

But the 3k allowance sounds reasonable.

Archon gave a pretty good list for you to ponder when "negotiating" with your HR.

If you are indeed heading to VN (can you bear to leave your huskies behind?), some things are cheap. some are not.

Food wise, if you take a food court meal, the prices are rather similar to s'pore. Unless you are particularly fond of local fare and are willing to eat at places where the hygiene factor is lower (still safe, maybe a tummy ache now and then).

Accommodation is not cheap either unless you are prepared to stay some distance from Dist 1. A 2 bedroom "condo" service apt rental in Dist 1. is starts from ard USD2.4k. You might be able to get by with abt 1.6k if you opt for a 1 bed full service apt.

Flying back is not an issue. I guess you shd be negotiating with your HR based on SQ prices. If they give you a budget of 4 flights per annum, ask for it in allowance. It is only a 1hr 50min flight, it won't kill to fly budget...heck you can even finish a damn movie on krisworld.

If u get 4 SQ tick allowance and are prepared to fly budget by booking your tic in advance, u could be flying back 8 times per annum.

Taxi rides are cheap (only bec trip dist in Dist 1 is short). Flag down is between SGD1.20 - SGD 1.40. Cab ride from airport to Dist 1 shd not exceed SGD7.50.

Entertainment wise, if you are into drinking, smoking ...ie: vices, they are cheap. A friend who came to visit was like a exhaust pipe and alcoholic all rolled into one. Golfing is available. But barring all that, as a non-tourist, HCMC is a pretty boring place unless you are prepared to explore the other parts of the country.

Water and electricity are pretty ok. but opt for a residence with back up power, this country has a chronic power shortage, so blackout and power diversions (away from you) are common.

I come back one a month to stay in touch and regain some of my sanity.

Vietnam is not exactly a location that most are fighting to be in. So if u do drop by (actually don't think you are), be prepared to meet a few more sleazebags than you expect.

porky

wonsim and archon list have covered almost everything.

for taxation, you must remember to ask for tax equalization.ie: you will pay the same amt of tax as if you were still working in S'pore. The rest, your company takes care.

taxation here is no laughing matter. if you are an expat here, you marginal tax rate shd be in the 30%-40% category. but if u ain't in that tax bracket, then you must have got suckered into coming. and the tax here is collected upfront monthly hor...