Amphifier>>How to prevent the knobs behind from rusting

Casey

Any brothers here have amphifier and have found a way to prevent the knobs behind from "oxidising" thereby forming a grey rust.

My 2 months old Denon knobs is starting to oxidised, have to rub it to give it its shine.

For illustration purposes on the knobs im referring to....

post-15-1186549226_thumb.jpg

u say liao mah...

oxidixising - the cathlystic effect of air and moisture corroding ferrous material. take away both and it will stop. but oxidising itself is also a form of protection.

mebbe use a bit of dot 5.1 brake fluid, since it is not hypothermic, ie dun absorb water.

but dun say i say one.. this type so cheem things i only toylet janitor, cannot understand...

Three step method to go about it (which I use for all my Hifi/HT equipment:

1. Use Caig's DeOxit to remove the oxidized film

2. Caig's ProGold to protect the surface from further oxidization

3. Buy those plastic RCA caps (available at SLT, SLS and Adelphi) to fit them over the unused connectors.

Try to get the new Philips Contact Cleaner spray.

Blue cap with no residue and oil.

Its a good cleaner for this type of stuff.

Then get the plastic caps to cover it.

If you want to prevent oxidization in the future, spray with K-Power.

Rgds