Hyun Neutral Newbie August 8, 2007 Share August 8, 2007 lai lai, everyone contribute .... this is my favourite. YOUR AMP GOT NOT ENOUGH POWER / LAT / JUICE ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liping24 Neutral Newbie August 8, 2007 Share August 8, 2007 Your amp not good quality, must get the same brand brand higher end one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie August 8, 2007 Author Share August 8, 2007 your tweeter need ONE HUNDRED WATTS amp to drive. (i.e. will sound different than a 10W amp) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear August 8, 2007 Share August 8, 2007 Curious...why myth ? It can be a fact. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clarence07 Neutral Newbie August 8, 2007 Share August 8, 2007 dabbling with ICE is poisonuous and could burn a big hole in your pocket.. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie August 8, 2007 Author Share August 8, 2007 i learn from PAP one - please exprain the fact. sorry not enough. i believe what i dare to post, i dare to defend. so let me exprain before you do. are all amps the same, having the same output? NO. amps can differ in their output by their frequency response. YES, all of you have been staring at speaker frequency responses like it's the SGX index, and no, it's not gonna roll off anytime soon, at least not until i sell everything ..... AMPS too, have a response. published sometimes like +/- 2dB. as of yet, i have not personally seen a published amp response curve. this you have to plot urself, if u are THAT free ...... so can one amp sound different, such that u hear the other amp suits your speaker better? yes. if let's say, ur speaker peaks at 8khz, and the amp dips at 8khz, it "matches" and smoothens out the response. or if ur cabin acoustic creates a standing wave at say 8khz, causing an acoustic peak, anything that dips there makes u feel better. should a 100W amp playing at 100W give the same frequency response as the same amp playing at 1W? it SHOULD be very similar. it is, after all, the same amp. is the "distortion ceiling/threshold/reserve" of a 100W amp playing at 1W significant? i have not tested myself, but i read from reports that such levels of 1% or less total harmonic distortion is undetectable. u'd fare better trying to detect your 8khz peak. so a 100W amp, playing a nice freq response, at power output of 1W, would it be the same as a 1W amp with the SAME FREQ RESPONSE, playing at 1W? likely to be, in my little fantasy world. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie August 8, 2007 Author Share August 8, 2007 > dabbling with ICE is poisonuous and could burn a big hole in your pocket.. somehow, i resisted the urban myths. i also resisted buying concert tickets, going to live jazz pubs, buying CDs .... i must say i don't regret all that. i'm not saying anyone should follow, but it did save me money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear August 8, 2007 Share August 8, 2007 depends on how you look at it lah... 1. Losses. from amp>crossover>speakers with wires, etc... there will be losses and resistances, so 100W at amp does not equal to 100W at the speakers. You need bigger amp to overcome. 2. Distortions. you dont max out your amp at 100%, clippings and distortions will happen at the limits of the amp. 3. Heat. the fins and fans on the amps are not for garang show. at same output, some are cool, some are like BBQ pit. 4. all the above constitute the life span of the amp also. that all i can think of now... Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kermit 1st Gear August 8, 2007 Share August 8, 2007 (edited) emm...remove your amps, drive your speakers with HU onboard amp...good.... I totally regret spending so much money buying all the powerful amps...they don't sound any different at all...same amount of energy, same transient responses, same dynamism....&^%$#@ Oh, anybody want my stuff? I wanna throw away....Hyun, u not interested hor? Edited August 8, 2007 by Kermit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie August 8, 2007 Author Share August 8, 2007 > I totally regret spending so much money buying all the powerful amps...they don't sound any different at all...same amount of energy, same transient responses, same dynamism....&^%$#@ Another factor i did not mention yet - the popular "tube" effect of tube distortion and roll off. There are these various factors. I do not say that they don't exist. I was only referring to absolute POWER OUTPUT - that a 100W amp needs to be used to drive your tweeters because a 10W GOOD amp has NOT ENOUGH POWER / JUICE / LAT / DELETE WHERE INAPPLICABLE. the selling point was the POWER OUTPUT, and not other "features". the MYTH here, is the claim by salespeople, that what's going to improve the sound is the rated wattage. re: amp losses compared to speaker impedance of 4ohms, 8ohms etc, the total resistance from amp to speaker is really small. hardly even reducing the output by 1dB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kermit 1st Gear August 8, 2007 Share August 8, 2007 What is 10W good amp huh? I want to buy to replace my miserable 75W x 4 Tru Tech amp leh...I think it's called bullet series one.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie August 8, 2007 Share August 8, 2007 Come come, throw them to me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie August 8, 2007 Author Share August 8, 2007 actually the situation i came across was more like a 2 x 40W was said to be insufficient, and the recommendation was for something like 2 x 150W. hope u understand, the point was about wattage, not transients etc. and that 40W amp was probably being used at no more than 10W, and was a good brand, but was commented to be "not enough power". by the way, since u mentioned transients, i would like to learn about it. i wonder if at our next opportunity, could you show me an example of a nice transient? thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kermit 1st Gear August 8, 2007 Share August 8, 2007 ok...you help me find the 10w good amp leh...i want leh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kermit 1st Gear August 8, 2007 Share August 8, 2007 Get yourself a COPY of chesky demonstration CD. You can learn everything there. I cannot show you, cos my ICE sucks.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie August 8, 2007 Author Share August 8, 2007 don't worry, i'm used to this response. thanks for sharing anyway. what's the next most popular myth? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kermit 1st Gear August 8, 2007 Share August 8, 2007 I'm also used to responding this way...you sure know me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zambik 2nd Gear August 8, 2007 Share August 8, 2007 Stock paper cone speakers can be modified to perform better than aftermarket ones... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...