Adrianli Hypersonic August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 Do u ever regret after giving way??? I did, last Friday. I was on the left most lane and was going to turn left in 1km away. I was 2 car length behind the car in front. On my right front, half car length forward of me, a car signalled left. I gladly let go accelerator n slowed down for him to change lane. After lane change, the MF slowed down drasticly n kept a 4-5 car length from the car in front!!! I lan lan follow behind as my turn off n his were abt 600m away. After turning left, I accelerated quickly n overtake the MF. It turns out to be a 50-60 yr old man driving a COE Ford Laser. The road speed limit was 70km/h. Sometimes such ppl dont deserved to be given way. I should jus speed up n kept pace wif him n make him miss a turn. Jus thinking only. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nash10 Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 Hate those idiots who drove so slowly!! Some even drive 40km/h..But,wat can we do? the most is overtake them.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 Look at it this way. You yourself and your car are still in one piece after giving way. He may be a maniac driver showing some of his siao or crazy driving styles..... But because you give way and let him move on and ahead, you have averted yourself a big danger.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titank 1st Gear August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 Oh no give way then the driver taking own sweet time to filter in?Ya sometime I agree with you too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 Think about this... you let him filter in, he decides to jam brake for whatever reason and you hit the back of his car.... whose fault? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 YAh....encountered several such incidences......one of them a taxi....was traveling on the 1st lane of expressway and traffic is heavy but moving.... this taxi in the 2nd lane see that the 1st lane moves faster and wants to join in the 1st lane...he just suddenly start nudging into the 1/2 car space between my car and the car in front.... I bo pian (could have horn at him...but that day good mood ).... slow down to let him in.....after which he start leaving 3-4 car space infront of him and obviously all the lane 2 cars start filtering infront of him....in the end, lane 1 from the taxi onwards (including me behind) start to progress much slower than lane 2 coz the cars in lane 2 can speed up to take up space infront of that taxi.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picantorian Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 i do.. cause the car which i gave way to took the 1 and only parking lot left. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vince69 Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 kenna this before... my fault, I bang him, so I pay for the repair (for my own car), his, he only do minor touch up so still affordable..... anyway, not really his fault, he filter into the gap between me and the front car, the front car brake, he brake, I brake and bang into him... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 wah... like this also want to regret, somemore many days pass already. i was thinking you regret after give away baby, or house, or car or something like that. cmon, life is too short to stress over such things. live and let live. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crummytyre Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 (edited) Do u ever regret after giving way??? I did, last Friday. I was on the left most lane and was going to turn left in 1km away. I was 2 car length behind the car in front. On my right front, half car length forward of me, a car signalled left. I gladly let go accelerator n slowed down for him to change lane. After lane change, the MF slowed down drasticly n kept a 4-5 car length from the car in front!!! I lan lan follow behind as my turn off n his were abt 600m away. After turning left, I accelerated quickly n overtake the MF. It turns out to be a 50-60 yr old man driving a COE Ford Laser. The road speed limit was 70km/h. Sometimes such ppl dont deserved to be given way. I should jus speed up n kept pace wif him n make him miss a turn. Jus thinking only. Look at it this way. He's driving a family sedan. He's driving within the speed limit. He's keeping to the left. He signalled before changing lane. I don't see anything wrong. Why regret? It's like helping an old man cross the street. Would you regret wasting that time and effort to help him across, and having to cross back to your side again to get on your way? Look at it another way. You are driving and you need to filter left to exit. On your side and slightly behind you is a lambo keeping a distance of 1 car length from the car to his front. You signalled, and surprise surprise, the lambo gives way. Then you travel at the road limit of 90km/h at a distance of 2 car lengths from the front vehicle with 600m to go. After exiting, the lambo appeared at your side and the driver turned and looked at you as if he's regretted giving way to you. Then he goes to whatever forum that lambo drivers goes and ask the same question about a MF whom he gave way to... Edited August 6, 2007 by Crummytyre Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 I wouldn't be too bothered by it. Since I was prepared to give way...I'll accept the consequences. If I really find it the car in front is travelling too slow, I'll just overtake and forget about it. No regret, etc whatsoever. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidwookokliang Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 Think not every driver is unappreciative ba I encounter many drivers will wave back to gesture their thanks when you gave way but of course, they are exceptional one, like those who will think that you are an alient when you give way to them . No expectation no disappointment, when I choose to give way I just do it because he signalled and he wanted to change lane, for these drivers I give way, whether they appreciate it, is up to them. But if he did not signal and change abruptly , but try not to la... no la, my son in the car la... cannot be a bad example Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 live and let live... just be glad to reach home safe and sound Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 Do u ever regret after giving way??? I did, last Friday. I was on the left most lane and was going to turn left in 1km away. I was 2 car length behind the car in front. On my right front, half car length forward of me, a car signalled left. I gladly let go accelerator n slowed down for him to change lane. After lane change, the MF slowed down drasticly n kept a 4-5 car length from the car in front!!! I lan lan follow behind as my turn off n his were abt 600m away. After turning left, I accelerated quickly n overtake the MF. It turns out to be a 50-60 yr old man driving a COE Ford Laser. The road speed limit was 70km/h. Sometimes such ppl dont deserved to be given way. I should jus speed up n kept pace wif him n make him miss a turn. Jus thinking only. Your are lucky, at least at the left lane. My experience is that I gave way at the first lane after seeing the front vehicle signal and trying to come out into the first. Thinking that the driver should speed up after his action but KNN, 10km below the speed limit. LL, have to wait until the center lane clear and overtake that idiot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 Understood your situation.For me , I will just overtake from his right and filter back to the left again and get on with my life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohdj Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 i've encountered it too many times. i really wonder why i bothered to give way...and time after time, i live and let live....i encountered another case. maybe i should install rocket launchers... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 You give way because he signaled mah. You won't know his style before that. That's a good practice itself. I ever kanna give way then no time to cross the junction on green, LL have to wait till next green light. Bobian. What's a good deed if it does not cost the giver anything? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liping24 Neutral Newbie August 6, 2007 Share August 6, 2007 Sometimes...after giving way to a vehicle on a small road, this car manage to zoom pass the changing traffic light, while I would be stuck at the read light. Or some times after giving way, this vehicle slowed down cause he is turining into a building or small road, and I can see many many other cars cutting infront of the slowed down car. Or sometimes after giving way to another car going into shopping center/airport, then luckily he managed to get a 'GOOD' carpark lot, while I will be circuling around looking for a lot in the crowded carpark. I am not against giving way....but in above cases after giving way it 'inconvenienced' me, thats when I will get a little agitated for being 'courtesy'. But hey....today I give way....the next time someone will give way to me too.....cannot win them all lah....live and let live loh. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...