Price for changing brake pads

Magiclamp

if ur brake got "Eee eee" sound then can change liao.

but no harm changing earlier since u already got the replacements.

and project u eats stock rotors hor.. use with care. too abrasive liao [sweatdrop]

Hehe.Like that my car no more stock.....Surely project mu improves the braking distance?

How u know when they makan finish your rotor?

if u experience pulsating effects when doing hard braking, then rotor is warped. no its not the abs kind of feeling.

i guess should be ok ba.. normal use should not warp the rotor that easily.

Can't tell unless the mechanic measures the rotors with a caliper during servicing. All brake rotors have a minimum thickness. Once it reaches that, it's time to change rotors.

You can forget about agent bc they will not sell you so cheap. I get it done at one of the workshop at AMK Autopoint.

If you want the actual adress, I need to dig it out.

Edited by Ahyoo2002

Thanks...Brake shoes got brands like our brake pads or not? Like brake pads got brands like mintex, ferrodo etc?

I have a set of project mu brake pads. Haven't changed yet. I am using stock pads now. Still left 40%...Dunno change now or wait for stock pads to be used up first.....

bro, project miu has brake shoe for rear drum brakes as well.....as a general rule of thumb, every other front pads replacement entails a rear brake shoe replacement as well. i was previously on project miu brake shoe....honestly, i cannot feel any diff..... [:|] fyi, stamford tyres do hv ad hoc sales @ certain times of the year...if u r a member they'll mail u some offers...project brake miu shoes after discount is abt 100 bux w installation. [cool]

usually how long do we need to change the brake pad?

mine already 3.5yrs liao, but nv change before.

Ask workshop ppl to check, alway said dun need to change, a bit scare leh... [sweatdrop]

Most disc brakes will give a "grinding" feel when the pads r wearing out. There is a thin layer of material in the pads which will give this feel as a warning to change the pads asap.

Even if your pads r not worn after 3.5years, it is a good idea to have them changed.

I had the same thing as I drive very gently & although my pads were still quite thick, it had glazed over & lost it's grip. I needed an expensive accident with a new Merc to wake me up & have them changed. I also changed all my brake fluid at the same time as that was also overdue.

If u feel your brakes not biting as much as b4, ti's time to let an experienced mech give them a check.

Can see if u remove wheel & turn the steering all the way but I used to do that also but what I didn't see was the pads had glazed over & lost it's ability to bite.

For drum brakes, u need to remove the whole assy to check the thickness of the shoes. Some models have a small hole to peep tru to see the balance of the shoes.