Monroe Sensatracs

Turbobrick

Anyone tried Sensatracs? I nearly got a set but went on the Koni/Bilstein search after hearing that Sensatracs are comfort and not performance biased. [:(]

Very pleased with my Bilsteins now [;)]

Saw Autobacs stacking it up on the staircase... the most prominent brand in shock absorbers since they spent so much efforts on adverts.

Lowering springs causes premature compression in the Sensatracs? Well I guess it is a stock replacement rather than performance upgrade then. [crazy]

IMHO,not very lasting as OEM replacement. My bro in law replaced the sensatrac for his Swift GTi and after 7-8 months....one side already leaking liao.....

Performance is sure better than stock. Tired his car & can corner much better. But do a few corner hard & the car will still roll.

Please lah, Swift GTi using original spring??? Not a problem to 2 close colleague who use them with original spring and they last over a year and still counting.

I know you will reply me with something, but remember I said 'OEM replacement using original spring'

So dun tell me will leak cause owner change to lower spring, cause I knew that already.... [:p][:p][:p]

Hi Gavin,

I dont think sensatracs will suit u. They r more like oem replacements with a little thrill thrown in.

I got my sensatracs re-done a few days back after those idiots at comfort auto scvs did a screw-up on the installation a few months back.

Initially they would be very soft at low to moderate speeds(upto abt 60kmh) and would even make me feel a little sea-sick at times. (When installed by CAS).

Now after re-installing them at another workshop, they r like oem shocks upto about 70kmh(no more sea-sickness thank god) and as the speed increases you feel them tightening up.

At about 110-120kmh, they r pretty firm, even after hitting some undulations, the car feels steady n in control. (My springs are all stock).

I would say they feel better at speed, then oem's, & cost is about same. For their durability, i'm cant comment as they r about only 4 mths old but so far so good. (As i mentioned, my springs r stock).Previously, i installed the normal monroe gasmatic in a hyundai & found that they lasted longer than the oem's i put in previously so i'm waiting to see if these sensatracs r just as good.

Hey Martin, how's things? [;)]

We're chatting up on Sensatracs whether being OE replacement or performance part. I personally am using Bilstein Sports so handling is way up there but comfort is at rock bottom [:p]

Hard, hard, hard.....all the way! [cool]

Hey Martin, how's things? [;)]

We're chatting up on Sensatracs whether being OE replacement or performance part. I personally am using Bilstein Sports so handling is way up there but comfort is at rock bottom [:p]

Hard, hard, hard.....all the way! [cool]

I believe that OEM replacements like Monroe Sensatrac or Sachs Supertouring has an edge of being a gas shock compared to oil shocks some manufacturer are still using. Most OEM gas replacements are twin tube type for progressive comfort shock absorbsion but still could be bouncy when pushed hard.

Well, my interior is rattling like I have a pet rattle snake living in my brick. No probs for me, rattling better then buanging! [;)]

Yup, was comparing my sensatracs with the oem/toyota gas shocks i used previously.

I never used aftermarket oil shocks b4.

I went to jb when i was looking for replacement shocks a few months back, n seems they still using mostly oil shocks. The workshop boss even had the cheek to tell me that oil shocks r better than gas. What a load of crock. [mad]

So how u find those oem shocks compared to original?

Personal preference I will go for oem as original are relatively expensive. For Toyota spares, I would look for Tokinco or KYB as most of these shocks are made by them. As for ride comfort, I would not go for australia gas shocks - find them pretty stiff.

Yup, was comparing my sensatracs with the oem/toyota gas shocks i used previously.

I never used aftermarket oil shocks b4.

I went to jb when i was looking for replacement shocks a few months back, n seems they still using mostly oil shocks. The workshop boss even had the cheek to tell me that oil shocks r better than gas. What a load of crock. [mad]

[reply]So how u find those oem shocks compared to original?

Personal preference I will go for oem as original are relatively expensive. For Toyota spares, I would look for Tokinco or KYB as most of these shocks are made by them. As for ride comfort, I would not go for australia gas shocks - find them pretty stiff.

Edited by Pisces69