Carbine Neutral Newbie May 13, 2002 Share May 13, 2002 My fren's car paintwork was scratched in 2 places while undergoing regular servicing. One about 3cm and the other about 1cm. The workshop has admitted liability. What kind of compensation should he accept to be considered fair? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie May 13, 2002 Share May 13, 2002 Quote My fren's car paintwork was scratched in 2 places while undergoing regular servicing. One about 3cm and the other about 1cm. The workshop has admitted liability. What kind of compensation should he accept to be considered fair? Depending on factors such as: Where are the 2 scratches? How old or new is your friends car? etc.... What I think your friend can do is: 1) get the workshop to re-spray 2) estimate the cost of the re-spray of the 2 scratches AND a) re-spray at other workshop OR b) get the $$ and bear with the scratches OR c) get service credits for future services Hope this helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie May 13, 2002 Share May 13, 2002 Quote Depending on factors such as: Where are the 2 scratches? How old or new is your friends car? etc.... These are important points to note because if your friend's car is new (less than a year) and the 2 scratches are on the left front and left rear doors respectively (or any other places but are close together but on 2 separate panels), then your friend needs to consider that after the re-spray, there could be 2 colour tones on the left side of the car as the 2 doors occupy a large area on the left!!! Similarly, if the car is pretty old and has lots of dings on the body, the negotiation power will drop. So take these points into considerations when negotiating for the compensation. PS: This just my $0.000002 worth and in no means it is exhaustive.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbine Neutral Newbie May 13, 2002 Author Share May 13, 2002 Thanks for the input. His heart is now aching because his car is only about 6 mths-or-so old. I have yet to see where exactly are the scratches but from his description, seems to be on 2 separate positions on the car body, and not the door panels. He's aware that the respraying will definitely result in 2 color tones, dat's why he's all the more TL. Btw, how much will such re-spraying cost? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie May 13, 2002 Share May 13, 2002 Quote Thanks for the input. His heart is now aching because his car is only about 6 mths-or-so old. I have yet to see where exactly are the scratches but from his description, seems to be on 2 separate positions on the car body, and not the door panels. He's aware that the respraying will definitely result in 2 color tones, dat's why he's all the more TL. Btw, how much will such re-spraying cost? 6 months old of course TL lah... Since the car is so new, he should demand more compensation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear May 13, 2002 Share May 13, 2002 Hi, You might want to ask your friend to ask Ronnie of Phua Spray Painting, Tel:64815550. They prep up Lexus pre-owned car before selling them to subsequent owners, so u can be assured of their standards. They're using Sikkens products. I've engaged their services before. One word=Good Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear May 13, 2002 Share May 13, 2002 For your info, for minor scratch on a panel, Ronnie should be doing the following to ensure that the panel will retain consistency in colour: 1. Sand down the scratched area. 2. Surface preparation 3. respray paint (body colour) onto the affected area 4. respray lacquer & lacquer blender such that the new paintwork blends in with the surrounding paintwork. Restoring scratches, dents on those Lexus cars are part & parcel of what they perform everyday. Should try to get your friend to bring the car down, let Ronnie assess the damage, & understand what he'll do to the car. Point to note: Ronnie's prices are not the cheapest of the cheap. Considering the quality, I can vouch that it is value for $. There are workshops which can undertake jobs at cheaper cost .... but quality wise, no comments. This is especially so of a L** Spray Painting workshop in Sin Min which advertises regularly in "Highway". True enough, very cheap. But, I got a 2 toned panel by the end of the spray job. The spray oven is also not properly maintained. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbine Neutral Newbie May 13, 2002 Author Share May 13, 2002 Yah man, if my own car kena scratched, i'll also be damned TL. How much compensation should he demand to be considered as fair? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbine Neutral Newbie May 13, 2002 Author Share May 13, 2002 Thanks. Will pass him the contact for Ronnie, if he's going ahead with the respraying. Btw, where's Phua Spray Painting located? Does he use 2K paints? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie May 13, 2002 Share May 13, 2002 Quote PS: This just my $0.000002 worth and in no means it is exhaustive.... Your $0.000002 is good enough to squeeze the balls out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear May 13, 2002 Share May 13, 2002 Quote Thanks. Will pass him the contact for Ronnie, if he's going ahead with the respraying. Btw, where's Phua Spray Painting located? Does he use 2K paints? Hi, The location for Phua Spray Painting is as follows: 10 Ang Mo Kio Ind Pk 2A #04-17 Singapore 568047 Ronnie uses Sikkens 2K paint products. In fact, Ronnie is working closely with Lye Designs (specialist in paintless dent removal). Lye Designs is also located at the same level. If you intend to remove dents in future, Ah Lye is the person you can consider. Price is cheaper than PDR at Capitol Tower ($30 1st dent, $15 subsequent dents) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbine Neutral Newbie May 13, 2002 Author Share May 13, 2002 Thanks again! You've been a great help! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lillight Neutral Newbie May 13, 2002 Share May 13, 2002 If I remember rightly, a friend had the door scratched quite badly, and being new, she had the whole door replaced. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie May 13, 2002 Share May 13, 2002 Since it's a new car I suggest getting a good respray done up. Must be the entire panel and not touch up spraying Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear May 13, 2002 Share May 13, 2002 Quote Thanks for the input. His heart is now aching because his car is only about 6 mths-or-so old. I have yet to see where exactly are the scratches but from his description, seems to be on 2 separate positions on the car body, and not the door panels. He's aware that the respraying will definitely result in 2 color tones, dat's why he's all the more TL. Btw, how much will such re-spraying cost? If the car is new... think respraying is ok.... cos the new resprayed colour will blend with the new paint that's on his car now.... if it's an old car with de-colored paintworks.... then it's more troublesome..... bring to the workshop for respray... they'll be able to advise u accordingly... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie May 14, 2002 Share May 14, 2002 Quote Yah man, if my own car kena scratched, i'll also be damned TL. How much compensation should he demand to be considered as fair? Cannot tell lah...how to comment when I dun even know how much it cost to spray paint a panel? Ask your friend to pop by the place recommended in the previous post and get a quotation. Then use this as the basis to negotiate with the workshop people. Wish your friend all the best in his negotiation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie May 14, 2002 Share May 14, 2002 Quote Quote PS: This just my $0.000002 worth and in no means it is exhaustive.... Your $0.000002 is good enough to squeeze the balls out. No lah. I very fair one, dun any how squeeze people's balls.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear May 14, 2002 Share May 14, 2002 Hi, You're welcome. I was once in the agony after seeing blotched-up spray paintwork on my car. My car was rear-ended early this year & have to be repaired by Comfort Automotive Services due to the restrictions imposed by the insurance policy. Spray paintjob undertaken by CAS' contractor, S*** H***, which is directly below Phua Spray Painting. I've to send back the car 4 times to get problems such as uneven paintwork, wrong colour code, 'contour maps' within paint layer (due to use of incorrect putty), bubbles within paintwork sorted out. Even after 4 visits, problems still not solved. Eventually, I wrote a letter to CAS, ask them to allow me to have my car resprayed at Phua. S*** H*** will reimburse Phua accordingly after the repairs. Point to note, of the many spray painters that you see, most of them undertake jobs by car dealers ie. dealers send the car to them to touch up some parts before being sold to the next owner. Often, it is a rush job to ensure high turnover. So, u can imagine the quality of the job (if there is any in the 1st place). Next category belongs to those who do fleet spray painting, like S*** H***. As a contractor of Comfort, they spray paint the Taxis also. Personally saw a few taxis when I visited their workshop. Again, the issue of quality arises. Last category belongs to those who really put in time & effort to respray the cars. Turonver rate is not high, as 1 car requires at least 4 days to be done. I've to leave my car with Ronnie for a week, whereas S*** H*** does it within a day, to have my accident area resprayed. As your friend is driving a new car, I don't wish him to suffer the same fate as me. If you compare the prices, Ronnie's price is definitely not the lowest, but quality is guaranteed. At least you can rest your mind when you know your car is spray painted by a pro, who adheres to a proper SOP when repsraying cars. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...