Ms_tan Neutral Newbie July 31, 2007 Share July 31, 2007 Anyone has bought Monmilk (packet) & Anchor Fortified Full Cream milk powder for your kids to drink? Wanna find out more these 2 brands... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 31, 2007 Share July 31, 2007 i tot i posted b4, bovine milk r not really suitable for humans. fortified milk = heaty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ms_tan Neutral Newbie July 31, 2007 Author Share July 31, 2007 Oh izzit? You have?? Sorry... Tot of getting a full cream milk for my elder girl since she is very difficult to gain weight yet easy to loss weight... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 31, 2007 Share July 31, 2007 gain weight = less stress (mental & physical) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ms_tan Neutral Newbie July 31, 2007 Author Share July 31, 2007 Stress... I don't give my girl stress lei... We give her lotsa playtime... Only when her mood comes, she will then 'automatically' do her homework... So , why got stress... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Esprit Neutral Newbie July 31, 2007 Share July 31, 2007 If you expect her to only look chubby, that's also stress. When mother is stressed, dotter also stressed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ms_tan Neutral Newbie July 31, 2007 Author Share July 31, 2007 Chubby is out of the question for my kids. I'm worry cos she is 5 but her weight is underweight as claimed by doctor (13kg) while I have no worry for my 3 cos her weight is 10++kg & doctor claimed is very good already.. And becos my 5 keeps lossing weight despite she eats alots but very difficult to gain weight. Doctor has advised us to give her full cream milk & other nutrients will be depending on the foods liao... Pediasure is no no to us cos 2 ex... & we've tried out abt a year but she still don't gain weight While her younger sister gain... Checkup, nothing lei... Dono why aso... Current resort, buy her full cream milk... We just discovered Monmilk & Anchor milk this week, (both are full cream), but not sure how many SG kids drinking them. Just doing some survey for myself... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear July 31, 2007 Share July 31, 2007 Point to note, Mon milk is from China. With so many news on Chinese food product recently, do you feel safe giving it to ur girl? Sure, AVA or watever govt authorities check on them but izzit 100%? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ms_tan Neutral Newbie July 31, 2007 Author Share July 31, 2007 Mon milk is from China? I was told by my sis-in-law that was from Mongolia lei? And the box was shown from Mongolia when the carrefour staff doing some storaging.. If from China, don't think I wanna buy liao.. How abt Anchor milk? It said in then can from New Zealand but the price is very cheap... $15.50 for 1.8kg... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 31, 2007 Share July 31, 2007 Don't fret yourself. Don't worry about the milk. It's not going to make them gain weight or anything. Just buy a reasonably affordable brand. No need Pediasure. The real way kids gain weight is not just in nutrition. They got to play. It's the same as adults. Exercise is good but the other part of the equation is nutrition. If the body doesn't need food to build muscles and tissues, it's not going to absorb more than what it needs. Feed them and make them work it out. Get them to play, go climb trees, get scratches, bruises, scrapes and cuts. With destruction comes rebuilding and building. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Killingtimes Neutral Newbie July 31, 2007 Share July 31, 2007 Also have to depends on the parents size...if parents are skinny....u expect the kids to be chubby.... Anyway....try Dumex Full cream milk loh..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear July 31, 2007 Share July 31, 2007 Mongolia is part of China. Mon Milk is produced by China Milk. Think this co is listed in SGX... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ms_tan Neutral Newbie July 31, 2007 Author Share July 31, 2007 Thanks for pointing out to me... me really a sotong balonglong mummy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear July 31, 2007 Share July 31, 2007 Chubby is out of the question for my kids. I'm worry cos she is 5 but her weight is underweight as claimed by doctor (13kg) while I have no worry for my 3 cos her weight is 10++kg & doctor claimed is very good already.. And becos my 5 keeps lossing weight despite she eats alots but very difficult to gain weight. Doctor has advised us to give her full cream milk & other nutrients will be depending on the foods liao... ... My 6 yr old weighs abt 15kg.... when he was 5, he weighs less than 13kg.... I dont c anything worrying abt that. He is cheerful, and energetic. Today, he eats 2 full bowls of rice with a generous portion of meat, and fish... so I dont sense anything wrong with yr girl. My 4 yr old weighs less than 12kg now and looks smaller than his peers in childcare.... eats very little to, abt half a bowl of rice.... very choosy. I am instead more worried.... however, he is healthy and energetic too. Am now giving him chocolate milk to try to boost up his weight and size.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ms_tan Neutral Newbie July 31, 2007 Author Share July 31, 2007 Not sure liao, Cos too many ppl who knows us said "Something with your girls liao, can eat alot but cannot gain weight". "Then, loss weight so easily, aiyoyo, u better do something ya". Most sounds so scary to me.. I don wanna lose my girl just becos I din do anything... Even my 5 years aso said, "I wana eat more to become fat"... She puts beauty in the 1st... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged July 31, 2007 Share July 31, 2007 (edited) When I was young, I can hardly gain weight too though I eat quite a fair bit. Now different story of course as I grow older. The size of your child is very dependent on the genes passed on to her/him. Therefore, if both you and your husband and even relatives like grandparents, uncles/aunties are more of the skinnier kind who do not put on weight easily, high chance your child will follow that same pattern. As long as she is eating well (meaning a wide variety of food), playing (outdoor games) enough, resting/sleeping well and seldom sick, you should have nothing much to worry about. If there is no tearing of tissue, the tissue will not grow back stronger. If there is no sufficient rest, tissue has no time to grow back. I am no nutritionist but milk and cheese will help provide additional protein and calcium to grow and develop strong bones. Eggs are good too. And lots of vege of course. Don't worry too much. Edited July 31, 2007 by Kxbc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ms_tan Neutral Newbie July 31, 2007 Author Share July 31, 2007 (edited) She can eat alot, play alot, sleep little (she hate to napping), sick alot... Tats y worry... She can't eat cheese cos she always cough after eating. Milk intake daily around 200ml niah... Cos morning childcare got bf, nite cant drink alot cos she will wet the bed.... Very jialat hor... Edited July 31, 2007 by Ms_tan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear July 31, 2007 Share July 31, 2007 Dont worry too much. U r the mother, if u feel ok, its ok. But if u r influence by others, its not ok, it affects u and the child instead. When my son went for his final growth chk, a staff nurse was commenting he cannot see properly.... maybe something wrong with his eyes because me and wifey both wore specs..... I told nurse tat its because he still dont know his alphabets well.... and bcause he wants to play play.... he dont want to read from the board. Also he feels uneasy with one eye close during eye chk. Finally, nurse sent my son for thorough chk at KK. When there, the eye doctor told us he is absolutely ok... and commented that the nurse in polyclinic probably just being cautious. I told doctor that because she being cautious, she cause a scare to both me and my wife.... and we hv to take leave just for this chk up. The gist of it here is, if yr daughter is jumping fine, and behaving like a normal child and eating good, she is good. I am not a doctor or psychiatris... but just saying from a parent point of view. U nvr know.... yr daughter might grow up to become healthyly slim like Miss Uni ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...