Need advice: Breaking OPC plate seal

Megadark

Yes, you can change it easily. But when come to road tax renewal, need to pass the OPC seal inspection [sweatdrop]

Of course any OPC owners can just change to normal plates lar....illegally.

But then hor, the seal got serial number and fix with non-reusable seal type.....how on earth u gona replace this seal and pass the annual plate inspection for road tax renewal ?????

How can nobody know ????? Once discovered its as good as a cheating police case.....

Edited by Hiphiphoray

Won't damage the car meh? The seal looks strong leh.

Actually that part is always cover by the number plate....doesnt really matter if its damage. Just drill holes elsewhere to hold-on the new plates lor. Worst scenoir use gas cutting torch lor. [:|][:|][:|]

Oh, and I presume you believe there is a power drill and an oxy-acetylene torch in every home?

If you cannot break it, paint the red to black lor..

but seriously, the place where you buy the new number plate can do it.

Actually the seal is not difficult to remove.

It is called a seal to make sure it shows signs if the no. plate is removed.

Thank you Sony and Ivan96935sg. Called a few car plate shops but they dun do it leh. I think I may have asked the wrong merchants. Any suggestions? I'll diy if I need to but this will be so silly if a vendor is willing to do it for me if I buy the plates from him.

I had this problem when I converted my ride couple of mths ago. Called Vicom and they don't break the seal.

Called up a couple of car plate shops and they all wanna charge $20 for the service.

So LL pay for them to do it.

Depending on your car design, it is not as easy as everyone thinks. They will actually use a huge scissors (those they use to cut the lock on containers) to cut off the seal. if you have used 1 before, you need some skill and strength to cut the seal. You cannot just use sheer brute force to cut it off at 1 shot. Besides, care must be taken to prevent the seal from flying off and damaging your car paintwork. In my case, they had to dismantle some panels and then saw off the seal using an electric saw.

I did mine at Kwang Wah Signcrafts. A lil' expensive in my book but hasslefree.

I paid total of $90 or $95 in total. My plate was the normal type you find on cars now, with the frame and aluminium plate. No fanciful euro or whatever plate.

1 day to ready your plate after you place a deposit and choosing your design. It's opp LTA in Sin Ming. So you can head there straight after paying the conversion fee.

Don't forget to update your insurance company! (and topup)

Yes, you can change it easily. But when come to road tax renewal, need to pass the OPC seal inspection sweatdrop.gif

orh... ok understand, they have yearly inspection, so cannot cheat. smile.gif

I got my red plate removed few months at a workshop in sin ming drive, very near to the LTA where I do the conversion to normal plate. there is a block where all the shops are car workshops. this workshop is the extreme right unit (when you are facing the block). think it is block 34. they specialise in opc plates installation and removal. i heard they are one of the appointed red plate installers for many of the car distributers such as C&C. it cost me $90 for making the new plate + labour for replacing the plate. drive in in the morning and collected my car around 3pm. very friendly boss.. overall, very satisfied with service and worksmanship. [thumbsup]

hey, me thinking of converting soon... please update this thread when you get yours done, thanks!

Of course any OPC owners can just change to normal plates lar....illegally.

But then hor, the seal got serial number and fix with non-reusable seal type.....how on earth u gona replace this seal and pass the annual plate inspection for road tax renewal ?????

How can nobody know ????? Once discovered its as good as a cheating police case.....

Interesting to see how rigid the thinking of Singaporeans is. Keep talking about the seal, the seal, the seal. And how is the bumper mounted to the car? Is it not just bolted on? Or is the plastic bumper one contiguous piece homogenously formed from the same material as the front wheel arch / engine compartment / boot?

And how many OPC coupons does it take to buy a whole new bumper front and back (for those cars where the construction is such that the number plates attach to the bumper not the boot)? Normal road tax disc is easy enough to scan, modify and print.... Oops I think I have just exposed a couple of OPC cheats.....

Can't remember the name liao. The shop just beside a coffee shop. (HDB block)

They use a giant sicssor to cut it. When the guy cut the seal, I [sweatdrop] for him, not easy ler cutting without damage the car. Good thing is they do it for free if I get the plate from them. [thumbsup]

Is it this company?

http://www.mrssign.com/about.html

I saw this shop when passing by.

Blk 28 Hoy Fatt Road #01-30 Tel: 62760063

Edited by Fcw75

The Seal is bolt onto a metal construction which is welded to you chassis so there is no way to remove the bumper and replace it unless...