Panasonic plasma

Vyap

I think their price is quite comparable. you can try getting a quote from Audiohouse and ask HN to match. Unless the dealer have close linkage with the distributer, their profit margin are actually the same.

I was actually looking at Pana but in the end, I opt for LG PC5...

if you look at the spec of LG, it's better compared to the pioneer, Pana and Hitachi.

and the price also very good. 42inch for abt 1.8k with 3 years warranty. If you keen to know more, I can PM you the shop i got it from. the cheapest quote I have for Pana 70 is about 2.1k. the 700 from japan is much more expensive. I would hold the purchase for Pioneer coz the 8 generation is coming out soon.

Hitachi is still expensive. If I were to get hitachi, i would top up a bit for pioneer but pioneer is going to have new Gen coming.

Hee. I remember while i was searching for the LCD then. I went with my colleague each day after work to one electronic store to check out their prices. AH on mon, HN on tue, BD on wed, Sengkang Courts on thur then Megacourts on fri.

From wat i observed, every store has their own special brand or model which other companies or stores of same company does not have. The pricing for tat particular model will be lower than other companies and maybe it own other branches at times. If u are as free as me, can try to check out every store to find out the difference in pricing for each brand and model.

I read that new Gen8 plasma has improved alot and much better?

any comments on Korean brand plasma?saw a 42" Samsung Plasma at $1999 at Mustafa, and a 37" Sharp at $1999 too.

post-15-1185531414_thumb.jpg

post-15-1185531415_thumb.jpg

If u are watching TV most of the time, plasma will be a better choice but you may not like the reflection on the screen. LCD doesn't have this problem but the picture quality sucks when it comes to normal TV broadcast. So it depends on your preference.

Err, my Pioneer plasma doesn't have reflections. Same as the Pannie series. Reflective screen surface is not determined by whether its a LCD or Plasma.

Generally, go for LCDs or Plasmas with no reflective glass-like screen surface.

Rgds

LCD is better

Its so obvious that plasma is losing this game

the no. 1 bane of buying a plasma is that it doesn't support PC input.

Even panasonic's viera has to keep coming out with "reasons to choose plasma over LCD chart"

I got Sony Bravia V series 46inch. one can argue that the contrast ratio blah blah for plasma is better. but come on, LCD is the way to go.

Look at Sony, Toshiba, Hitachi, Samsung, LG, Sharp and other big players, they have stopped producing plasma and concentrate full force on LCD.

[thumbsup]

Err.. my plasma has PC input. And even support 1080p/24 frames cinematic quality.

The basic misunderstand is the that both are very different technologies.

For movies, its Plasma that have the best "experience" because of how its built. LCD is better for static images coz it has a tendency to have ghosting effect, thus reducing the effectiveness of refresh.

Plasma has one issue though, higher electrical requirement as compared to LCDs.

For the last sentence u put in is in fact not true. There are basically only 2-3 LCD panel makers. The rest uses one of them. I belief LG and Samsung, even sony uses the same panels. (base on my last knowledge)

Comparing it with Plasma, we have basically 2 makers as well, pana and pioneer. Pioneer is already in the 7th generation panels, whereas Sony/Samsung it only to its 4th. Development itself, LCD still has a way to go to beat the quality of plasma in terms of TV/Movies arena, though LCD beats Plasma is presentation and PC applications.

Rgds

I'm also planning to get a 42incher plasma but still could not decide which one.

Pana has very high contrast ratio, very black, but I notice the white has a slight tint of yellow.

Pioneer PDP-427XG very ex.

Anyone can advice on Hitachi 42PD9800TA, which is made in Japan. I heard from a shop that it's the best?!?!?

Hitachi.. errr.. u better check the resolution specs.

One issue i have is that its suppose to be 16:9 ratio screen (wide format).

However, its running at 1024x1024 resolution?????

hehe, now tell me, how did they put into 16:9 format then?

BTW, actual resolution should be for 16:9 format for 1080i/720p is 1388x760 i think.

Rgds

Rgds

LCD is better

Even panasonic's viera has to keep coming out with "reasons to choose plasma over LCD chart"

I got Sony Bravia V series 46inch. one can argue that the contrast ratio blah blah for plasma is better. but come on, LCD is the way to go.

Look at Sony, Toshiba, Hitachi, Samsung, LG, Sharp and other big players, they have stopped producing plasma and concentrate full force on LCD.

[thumbsup]

Totally skewed info.

Hehe.. totally agreed on the skewed part.

I was looking for a LCD screen to play my PS3 too. That was B4 the GST hike. The salesman at Megacourts told me that if I wanna get a LCD tv for playing PS3, it is adviseable to get a Sony LCD screen as the dunno wat frequency is more in sync with the PS3 as both products are from Sony. He told me that Xbox or watever wun haf such prob as Xbox dun have its own TV brand. How true is it??

Anyway in the end, I bought a Toshiba LCD due to budget constraint. Was struggling inside whether to heed his advise and get the Sony LCD. [sweatdrop] But ok lah. I think my screen is rather clear for a 32". [thumbsup]

Hey, its a bit bull on wat the sales person say.

Since the last firmware upgrade of PS3, it does support 1080p/24

Ok, cut this short and easy, as long as your LCD supports the resolution the PS3 can throw, who cares?

PS3 can throw in these resolution:

1080p - 50/60hz

1080p/24 - cinemagraphy scope

1080i

720p

520p

480i

etc.

Another thing, check your games you bought for PS3. Only less then a handful support 1080p. Most is only 720p, which in my humble opinion, is good enough. So, a tip. Unless you get a screen near 100", otherwise stick to 1080i as max resolution for your screen and save the dough for your games or even better, Bluray movies!!

I've got Planet Earth Bluray running at 1080p/24 on my Pioneer 50" plasma. Seriously, besides better colour, resolution is the same. Its as clear as it gets! hahaha

(Note: 1080p/24 is actual film based, or wat u call true film progressive based rendering. By right, all cinema are running at this rate. 24. And all films are filmed using this.)

Rgds

Bro, thanks for your reply.

For the LG PC5, any reviews on the internet? I tried searching for them but to no avail.

Any freebies that LG is giving for the purchase?

Thanks!

There's only a few review in US. Not many in S'pore coz it just launch not long ago.

for that kind of price, no freebies liao..

Frankly, it's either they mark up and give freebies or sell at a reasonable price. last time they gave HTS and HD setup box but their asking was 2.7k

I think I have go to enough shops to check out the price liao..

btw, where is megacourt? is it Courts or another shop?

go for Pana or pioneer.. samsung is better for LCD.

if you are game to try the up-and-coming, then LG based on the spec which is fairly similar to pioneer coz beside pioneer, it's the other one to use single panel.

yea i know only few makers of LCD panels, the rest just buy the panels. And i know NEC is one of the panel makers.

but the thing is, all these brands have stopped producing plasmas. so i guess its an indication where they "believe" the market is heading towards.

tats what i meant.

lastly, the most irritating thing about plasma is the reflective screen. it makes plasma only suitable for dark rooms.

LCD is better

[thumbsup]

Totally skewed info.

Did u just purchase a plasma at a bargain price? [laugh]

go any megastores and look at the ratio of plasmas versus lcds. i've been avidly following the trends and realized plasmas are losing popularity.

The strongest point of Plasma is its high contrast which is easily matched by LG's dynamic contrast 15,000:1.

and the compatibility of LCD with computers is aiding its popularity. Honestly, Try using PC input on a plasma for a long time. lets see what happens to ur eyes. for the case of LCD, u'r staring at it right now as u'r typing the reply.

Not really, for plasma, I think it comes with anti glare type of coating on the panel, so it should not be that bad...

if that is the con of plasma, then watching tv prog on LCD that is not on HD is even worse.

I own both LCD and Plasma, so I'm not just comparing spec but from end user's experience as well.

frankly, I'm his business partner and I didn't know we are having roadshows... Our customers are usually walk-in.. ahem, I meant.. carried in [laugh]

strange you didn't answer my previous reply to you... but here is one of the question again. [:)]

and the compatibility of LCD with computers is aiding its popularity. Honestly, Try using PC input on a plasma for a long time. lets see what happens to ur eyes. for the case of LCD, u'r staring at it right now as u'r typing the reply.

How many people are using 50inch or even 37inch LCD/Plasma as PC monitor?