Karoon Turbocharged July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 let's hope they just walked into a bar...... Indonesia says four foreigners missing after opening school JAKARTA, Indonesia (AP) -- Four foreigners - an American, Italian, Japanese and Singaporean - were reported missing in Indonesia after opening a language school, a Foreign Ministry spokesman said Wednesday. "Police do not know yet if they were kidnapped, are missing or on the road," said Kristiarto Legowo, adding that they were last known to have been in Surabaya, a major city on Java island, on Tuesday. John C. Taylor, the public affairs officer at the U.S. Consulate General in Surabaya, said in a statement that "we continue to work with Indonesian authorities to try to determine the whereabouts of a U.S. citizen who we are concerned about," but gave no more details. In Japan, Chief Cabinet Secretary Yasuhisa Shiozaki was quoted as saying that Indonesian police had informed consular officials about the disappearance. "I would refrain from making comments because of a lack of details and out of consideration that it could also affect human lives," Shiozaki told Kyodo News agency. Legowo said the four worked for the Berlitz language school. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 luckily i make my way back home safely yesterday... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 I think they usually won't 'eat' seaweed...so you're kind od safe! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 Whoah leow...... I am in Indonesia right now lei...... Some more I am going to Surabaya next month...... seow loew..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 Aiyah....they are found already lah..... Apparently they were detained by immigration officers in Surabaya.... In Indonesia, you must have the right papers in order to conduct any "official" business..... even if it is just for a meeting. Otherwise you run the risk of getting "caught"..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Penthousepauper Clutched July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 Report of missing foreigners false SURABAYA, Indonesia, July 25 (Reuters) - A report that four foreigners were missing in Indonesia's second largest city of Surabaya is false, police said on Wednesday. The four men had been held in Singapore's immigration office and had not entered Indonesia, Deddy Prasetyo, police chief detective in Surabaya, said. He said police would arrest the woman who filed the report that the four had been kidnapped. No other details were available. An Indonesian foreign ministry spokesman had said earlier police were investigating a report that four foreigners -- a Japanese, an American, a Singaporean and an Italian -- were missing. A police officer in the city had earlier said the group had gone to Surabaya to open a language school. http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNew...0725-19706.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 LOL..now our side kena.. will ICA please comment? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 Now this is getting more interesting..... Seems like maybe these people are looking more than just opening a language school. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 I also want to open a language school here. More specifically, a vulgar-language school. No need to hire any ang-moh at all, the locals hands down win them already. The more uneducated the lecturers are, the better they teach. Hardest part will be getting MOE approval. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 ICA got place for them to play majong meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miniskoda Neutral Newbie August 9, 2013 Share August 9, 2013 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...