Aucsl Neutral Newbie July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 Hi Forumers,Recently I notice that my car engine quite noisy and under power when accelation from idle. But sometime its ok. (day by day basic) Anyone experience this? I am using caltex gold and mobil 1 0w40 syn oil and still under warrenty. Pls advice before I go to the AD. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 what car wat mods wat mileage wat ur driving style wat ur current fc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aucsl Neutral Newbie July 25, 2007 Author Share July 25, 2007 Honda Stream 2L, mileage 4xk, normal driving, and fc ~10km pl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 weight of car? BHP? Torque? FF driven right for HONDA? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 Since it is still under warranty..... just go to the dealers to have it checked out. Could be many issues.. but for intermittent ones... my first guess for a relatively new car would be some loose sensor connection. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aucsl Neutral Newbie July 25, 2007 Author Share July 25, 2007 You really test my memory weight = 1490kg BHP = 156ps / 115kw torque = 19.4kgm / 190nm Ya, is ff Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aucsl Neutral Newbie July 25, 2007 Author Share July 25, 2007 thks, but my car is not that new, > 2 years liao. I hate the intermittent issue, the dealer will find the excusses not to fix it and is hard for them too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 Don't tell me you've been servicing with the dealer's all this while? Otherwise, your regular workshop should be able to troubleshoot and advise. First thing first... do ensure all your wear & tear parts are in good working condition. e.g. plugs, fuel filters, air filters, etc..... some of these can also cause issues. Have them changed if you've not done so within their servicing recommendations. Are you using KNN or some air filter that requires oiling? Possibility of your airflow sensor being clogged with the filter oil too..... Sorry, can't help much .... maybe if you can give a better detailed description of the symptom.... some other people might have encountered the same and can advise better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aucsl Neutral Newbie July 25, 2007 Author Share July 25, 2007 I have been sending my car for servicing with the same dealer's all this while. They have just changed the air filter on my last servicing. Ya, maybe you are right. Sound like the air filter issue, the engine might not get enough air for cumbustion. Thks dude Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendly Neutral Newbie July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 Bro Prior to the engine oil brand change any problem? If you have no problem with the previous brand of oil then the grade of the current one may not suit well with your car. Another possibility...Do a quick check with your eng. distick on level ground in the morning, check if they had over filled the engine oil. Oil level should be on the "H" mark or slightly higher only. If not slightly lower oso alrite. If it about 0.5-1mm above then definately over filled liao. Ok, over filled the engine with engine oil will cause air starvation so it may be the cause of your sluggisnest. Another oil to check is your auto trans oil...same too much or too little will also affect its operations. Lastly, remove your air filter to check if its clogged, or it may not changed. Happy finding. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aucsl Neutral Newbie July 25, 2007 Author Share July 25, 2007 no, I am using same brand of engine oil. Thks for your advice, I will find it out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 Quote Honda Stream 2L, mileage 4xk, normal driving, and fc ~10km pl 'Engine noisy and under power' quite ambiguous question Honda Stream 2L, from PI right? a bit trouble they may ask you what is the stardand Engine noisy? what is the stardand of Engine power? how to you define 'Engine noisy and under power'? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aucsl Neutral Newbie July 25, 2007 Author Share July 25, 2007 errr... the reason I said engine noisy is because I can hear it louder when all the windows are close and air-con is off. (as compare to normal "quiet" mode) As a result, I feel that the engine a bit sluggish and require me to press the pedal harder. (under power) This is not happend once, and is intermittent. BTW, my car is from AD not PI. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 (edited) Have you changed the fuel filter??? Edited July 25, 2007 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silveratenza Neutral Newbie July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 (edited) I agree with you. I have encountered these from Kxh Mxtxrs before with my previous ES5. The stupid car has that infamous "farting" sound from the aircon valve when it was only 1mth old...and it is a very irritating sound that comes and go as it like every 5-10mins, more prominent when it's cooler day. On and off, I was visiting their workshop for at least 5-6 times within 3mths time before they finally resolved the problem. Although finally the "farting" sound is gone, a new problem has surfaced and this time is even worst. On any cold start or cold weather, if I ram the rpm or "kui vtec", there will be a foul smell (burning) coming from the aircon vent...this is something they still couldn't solve till I sold off the car eventually! And you know what...whenever I visit them at workshop, they will always give you excuse like..."it's normal for this car, many people has this issue too" I was like WTF!!! This car is just 1mth old and you tell me it's "normal"?!?! To make it worst, they dun seem to be anxious to solve the problem for you. Always do bit by bit to troubleshoot until they finally solve it after 3mths!!! And they can tell me what they did was only to flush the valve... I dun know, but I know many ES5 owners have the same problem...so much about Honda's quality though... So to all bros, I know many are Honda fans and swear by it...but do also know that there's always a blacksheep in any product... For me, my Mz6 has been serving me well for the past 5mths without a single problem till now!!! And that's considered good for me as I was already scratching my head at this time when I was having the ES5... Edited July 25, 2007 by Silveratenza Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 switch to 20 or 30wt oil change ur air filter every 10k use LC20 and Fp60 to clean ur engine and fuel system of sludge and carbon change ur spark plugs to iridium Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freakman Neutral Newbie July 25, 2007 Share July 25, 2007 i am having the same problem...mine is 15 yr old car... same symtom as TS mention.. at time engine roar but seems like not moving, but at time engine quiet and can feel the power... for mine no specific time, as and when 'she' feels like it.. i driving suzuki swift saloon, with K&N filter, others remins... any advise?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dalenico 1st Gear July 26, 2007 Share July 26, 2007 Quote I have been sending my car for servicing with the same dealer's all this while. They have just changed the air filter on my last servicing. Ya, maybe you are right. Sound like the air filter issue, the engine might not get enough air for cumbustion. Thks dude ===================== Throttle body? should clean it once in a while..throttle response will be better ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...