Engine sputters during startup

Try_conti

Guys/gals,

I had encounter this perculiar problem over 4 instances. Its only during startup, can be 1st start in the morning or after driving & park for a while & engine still warm.

When I crank the engine, all I hear is only the crank sound. Either engine doesn't fire up or it will come up half-dead, sputters & die. All over in less than 2 seconds.

The last time I encountered this when I crank the engine, it started half dead, sputter, I step on the gas pedal immediately to rev the engine a bit before it had a chance to die off, & it was ok.

Idling was ok after that, not really smooth but doesn't sputter.

Any idea or suggestion what could be the problem ? As I said, it doesn't always happens & couldn't really be repeated. It comes once in a blue moon. So far, in almost one year, I encountered 4 times already.

i encounter the problem on warm start. can crank but engine won't start on first try. on 2nd try it works.

cold start np.

had to replace fuel pump. but mine's a sunny

I encountered this before a few times as well. The engine can start up, but sputters and dies off. Stepping on the accelerator helps. One fine day, the engine just refused to start up. Had to replace the fuel pump. But mine is a Chevy... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Experienced this a number of times....Do you notice if there is a "car" looking indicator light goes blinking....if it is so, a very common issue...let me know and will tell you how to rectify it.

Guys/gals,

I had encounter this perculiar problem over 4 instances. Its only during startup, can be 1st start in the morning or after driving & park for a while & engine still warm.

When I crank the engine, all I hear is only the crank sound. Either engine doesn't fire up or it will come up half-dead, sputters & die. All over in less than 2 seconds.

The last time I encountered this when I crank the engine, it started half dead, sputter, I step on the gas pedal immediately to rev the engine a bit before it had a chance to die off, & it was ok.

Idling was ok after that, not really smooth but doesn't sputter.

Any idea or suggestion what could be the problem ? As I said, it doesn't always happens & couldn't really be repeated. It comes once in a blue moon. So far, in almost one year, I encountered 4 times already.

Bro, did you install a fuel regulator? If not, then you better change your battery. Same symptoms as my octy.

nothing out of the ordinary on the panel. no extra lights that light up when its not supposed to.

when you mention blinking, I supposed u mean when I turn the key to 'on' (without starting the engine), that light blinks ? Didn't really noticed but I'll pay special attention to that indicator when I start my car tomorrow. tongue.gif

last servicing didn't remove batt connectors lah ... just oil & filter change niah ... so cannot be battery connector. Also, jus check the connectors on Sunday, beri tight....

I noticed the MF batt has this note near an indicator that says "if it appear clear or yellow, change the battery" or something like that.

I don't notice any color on the indicator leh .... maybe that means 'clear' & its time to change batt liao .. tongue.gif

so fast ah ... less than a year, batt dying already ? And I didn't even have any big ICE setup in there. Everything still stock.

Cud b some small leak in your fuel system & when it is left for awhile, the fuel evaporates. When u start, the remaining fuel is not enough to fire up the engine. By the time u start again, the fuel system has already been charged with fuel.

I'm just guessing cos I only had this long ago on a carb car. I found out the carb was faulty. I don't know if there cud b some problem with your throttle system??? [confused]

mine also used to behave the same like yours. refused to start up when initial cranked on the igniton switch. had to turn-off the switch and try again. sometime up 3 try lah.

Now, the problem had all gone away liao. Maybe, you should try the following:

Turn on the ignition and Do remember to be patient and wait forwait[/b] for the system check to complete and the warning buzzer sound to go off. Then crank start your engine. The Problem should go away. [thumbsup]

hmmm .... leak in fuel system ... sounds dangerous leh ..... like anytime can catch fire & explode like that ... sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

how do you check for leak in fuel system ?

Are you referring to dirty throttle body when u mention prob with throttle system or something more problematic ? Unlikely dirty throttle body as problems did not surface only recently. Has been around for the past 10 months & this sputtering startup only happened 4 times so far.

Maybe I should bring it back to the AD for them to troubleshoot but I doubt they will know what to do .... shakehead.gif apart from taking things apart & then missed one or two screws while putting everything back together .... sweatdrop.gif

That's what I ALWAYS do. Wait until everything complete, then only crank the engine but I can't remember if these happenings were during the times when I was rushing or not tongue.gif

Always the case, right, when you're in a rush, it tends to be slower because of more obstacles in your path .. laugh.gif