Lmango Neutral Newbie July 20, 2007 Share July 20, 2007 I tried 180km/h with full load on my lancer on Ns highway not bad leh never floor can reach le but 5krpm... think was at that speed fora gd 3min not really floating but ya engine quite noisy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Florinelee Neutral Newbie July 20, 2007 Author Share July 20, 2007 yah the thing is that the safety features are there.. i personally learnt driving using a lancer.. but i dun really like it as i think the engine is really noisy.. machiam taxi lidat.. and the car is too long for my liking.. btw can the rear seats be folded? i personally like getz's design more.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 20, 2007 Share July 20, 2007 To sit 5 in a getz is pretty tight in terms of space and comfort. Unless your trips are short and your passengers dun complain I think it's ok. I think u should also try cars of other makes within your budget. Go with your parents for test drives and judge for yourselves. Dun rush into making a decision whatever the SEs tell u. U can always come back to MCF and ask for more opinions of the cars u had tried on and decide later. No problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear July 20, 2007 Share July 20, 2007 (edited) Rear seats can be folded.....in fact the rear passenger can crawl in/out of the boot from the inside while the car is in motion. The noise can easily be cure by replacing with quiter tyres like briadgestone GR-80. The stock tyres really CMI. Safety wise...got driver airbag and ABS.....good mah. The length of the car u will get use to it......doesnt really matter. Thats why rear leg room is good, with a decent boot space also mah. Edited July 20, 2007 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear July 20, 2007 Share July 20, 2007 I tried 180km/h with full load on my lancer on Ns highway not bad leh never floor can reach le but 5krpm... think was at that speed fora gd 3min not really floating but ya engine quite noisy Ya.....i almost went deaf with the engine noise......really unbearable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Florinelee Neutral Newbie July 20, 2007 Author Share July 20, 2007 yah i understand all these.. lol.. i think im going C&C to try lancer also.. but im worried abt the servicing from C&C.. isit really that bad as rumoured? isit more expensive than others? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear July 20, 2007 Share July 20, 2007 (edited) Servicing wise...only 1k & 5k labor free nia. Mineral oil repalcement still have to pay yrself. Damn pathetic. I service outside from 10k onwards. Average $100+ nia. Best is to go for test drive. But bear in mind its only a "good value for money" point A to point B kind of jap-made car. Dont put yr expectations too high. Current OPC Auto Lancer costs abt 33k nia....good value. I bot mine @ 40k in Aug 2005. The recent statics show Lancer sales is currently no.1 in Singapore.....beating the ever-popular Altis. Furthermore....there will be 3 generations of Lancers on our roads very soon.....very few models can boost such records. Edited July 20, 2007 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kc0378 Neutral Newbie July 20, 2007 Share July 20, 2007 Lancer engine and model might be old, but technology is proven. Car is decent sized, comes with ABS and EDB, airbags as standard for safety features Built quality and finishing is pretty decent, and the car's made in japan good value for money in my opinion, cos the new model is launching soon, so it makes a decent priced, nicely spec-ed budget car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear July 20, 2007 Share July 20, 2007 Quote I think the only disadvantage is the low torque bah...aka slow pick-up. Other than that, stock tyre is noisy above 100km/hr. Now so cheap....50k for a auto Lancer. Make in Japan somemore. Interior nothing especial....very plain one. But its great value for money. I driven my OPC Lancer to Melaka, Port Dickson, Desaru.....ok mah. Push it 180km/hr for a few seconds.....this car not meant for high speed..not a good idea...floating feeling and engine damn noisy. Hi Pal...u r absolutely right in the low torque, the Lancer engine is a high reving one so it has characteristics like poor low-end torque but response gets quite gd when you have reached higher speed or higher gears. Contrary to Sunny, it has gd low-end torque which relates to fast pick-up but the car becomes poorer in response very soon at the higher end. Driving on NS highway is a gd experience of both types of engines that is poles apart. Floating feeling? True many cars in this category mostly experience the same thing too. Cheers... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kc0378 Neutral Newbie July 20, 2007 Share July 20, 2007 think the transmission comes to play also. i think the lancer's cvt is the cause of the poor low end i tried maxing out the cvt lancer on the nshw, max at 170+ at 6000+ rpm, engine noisy as hell. takes forever to reach top speed from 140km onwards. But i feel the manual one should be more fun to drive. Anyway back to TS topic, btw the 1.4 and 1.6 getz only, ill take the 1.6 definately, since its an opc car, roadtax and FC wouldnt matter so much. Rather get something more enjoyable to drive since opc driving hours are limited. The 1.6 manual getz is quite a perky car to drive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flameblade 1st Gear July 20, 2007 Share July 20, 2007 u sure about the sunny having good low end torque ? the weakness of the sunny engine is the poor low end torque, sunny only mid to high end is good. thats why my mom change from a sunny to a latio, and me having driven a lancer and sunny before, lancer have a better low end then sunny. but the sunny will fare better at the mid to high end as compared to the lancer. To the threadstarter: if u do plan to get a sunny, don't get the auto version, the auto gearbox of the sunny sap alot of the engine power and its not that efficient. The lancer is also quite a good car, but only for the manual version, the CVT of the lancer have a very bad rubber band feeling. I have a friend who drove a getz 1.6(M), quite a good car, but if it was my money, i will still get the lancer/sunny option. My 2 cents. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl1500k Clutched July 21, 2007 Share July 21, 2007 http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/Asian_Make...elder_P1825554/ Toyota Fielder a good hatchback car with good FC and space. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear July 21, 2007 Share July 21, 2007 (edited) i tried maxing out the cvt lancer on the nshw, max at 170+ at 6000+ rpm, engine noisy as hell. takes forever to reach top speed from 140km onwards. I tried it too.....to reach that speed, i had to floor it and even that, the speed crawl up beri beri slowly. Takes a good 1-2 minutes to reach 180km/hr. By that time, got other cars zooming in from behind liao....hahahaha...have to slow down & filter into slower lane and start all over again. Edited July 21, 2007 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic July 21, 2007 Share July 21, 2007 Quote hi fellow bros. i've decided to buy a Getz OPC and i intend to go to the car showroom this weekend. however, i still cant decide whether to get 1.4a or 1.6a. will have to carry full load usually (which means 5 adults including driver). the price difference between the 2 cars are abt $500 (i think.. anyone can cfm?) but im worried abt the FC. isit worth getting the 1.6 cos of the extra power and ABS? wad more difference are there b/w the 2 cars? also, wad freebies should i ask from my SE? thanks in advance for your advices! 1.6 is better given the little price difference. other alternatives you can consider for a hatch, is the chevrolet aveo hatch 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 21, 2007 Share July 21, 2007 (edited) Quote yah the thing is that the safety features are there.. i personally learnt driving using a lancer.. but i dun really like it as i think the engine is really noisy.. machiam taxi lidat.. and the car is too long for my liking.. btw can the rear seats be folded? i personally like getz's design more.. Main thing is the lack of noise insulation in mistubishi cars. A brand new lancer todae sounds like a nissan/mazda/toyota which is 5 yrs old. One reason y i'll never buy a lancer. Apparently the r/v of the new lancer todae also pointed out the lack of noise insulation. Nothing against lancer but i think its the car's greatest fault. Edited July 21, 2007 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moonstar Neutral Newbie July 21, 2007 Share July 21, 2007 Lancer have greater perks than Getz, if you consider a 1.4 Getz and a 1.6 Lancer with the same FC, why not take the Lancer, beside that it can ferry for people and come with boot which will always come in handy when you need to move stuff or do marketing. Lancer may be an old engine, but old engine is well tested, mean reliablility and less bugs. Morever Lancer is assemble in Japan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 21, 2007 Share July 21, 2007 [reply] u sure about the sunny having good low end torque ? the weakness of the sunny engine is the poor low end torque, sunny only mid to high end is good. thats why my mom change from a sunny to a latio, and me having driven a lancer and sunny before, lancer have a better low end then sunny. but the sunny will fare better at the mid to high end as compared to the lancer. To the threadstarter: if u do plan to get a sunny, don't get the auto version, the auto gearbox of the sunny sap alot of the engine power and its not that efficient. The lancer is also quite a good car, but only for the manual version, the CVT of the lancer have a very bad rubber band feeling. I have a friend who drove a getz 1.6(M), quite a good car, but if it was my money, i will still get the lancer/sunny option. My 2 cents haha i'm sure that she wont sacrifice the auto gearbox for manual. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mach Clutched July 21, 2007 Share July 21, 2007 I think the 1.6A is still using the old Elantra/ Matrix engine, not the CVVT version as found in the Verna 1.6. The 1.4 is the newer engine, which supposedly has been designed for better efficiency. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...