Do you believe in layering or is it quite pointless in S'pore?

XLR8

I was wondering whether you guys do multiple layers for your sealants or waxes. I realised that no matter how many layers of sealant you apply, the slick and thick feel will surely disappear after a super HEAVY downpour.

When I ran my fingers across the paintwork, the paint feeling became very thin and not slick the least bit. So I decided to just AIO and wack one layer of sealant like Klasse or 2180. After the rain, the feeling is the same as compared to 3-4 layers of whatever protection. I always thought that layering and layering will give a super thick gloss and protection but the bloody rain so powerful can wash off everything damn it! [furious]

What you guys think? Polik kings Maddriver? Coltagious?

I do believe in layering as 476 will last quite a while(mine last about 2mths). I had 3 layer of PBA & 105 then 2 layer of 476 & 3 layer of 845 done about a month ago. Still very [sunny] & water bead [thumbsup][thumbsup].

I know water beading and shine is still there but the slickness is gone. Which means when you wash the car, the water does not come off as easily as before when you wipe. I dont know if you get me. Its quite hard to explain. [:/]

Funny, I also use JW at times but after heavy rain bo liao. Just shine only, no smooth feeling. [:|]

for the preparation PRIME.. i am using the haze for 30 minutes then bluff off.. i am not using the WOWO method... though the haze for 30 minutes then bluff off is more xiong [sweatdrop]

but happy with the results

I'm more concerned about the looks, water beading, protection against the elements than slickness.

If you wanna regain the slick feeling, then touch up using a QD instead.

I feel layering of same product is a waste of time, its LDMR law of diminishing marginal returns. [laugh]

However if you're saying a layer of wax on top of a sealant base then that's pretty much my routine.

imho, the haze method is to allow the product to sufficient cure and bond to the surface of the paint... which we would remove the excess after the hazing, ard 30 minutes later..

it sure last better than the WOWO method which i used last time...

i have tried OCW, Klasse, JW.. i still think JW is the best, but its the most expensive [furious]

Bro, i'm also using JW [:)]

IMHO, after a heavy shower the slickness is at least 70% gone.

If you use Prime every 4-5 months then layer the JW, the slickness is [thumbsup] but as what i feel, most are gone after 1-2 session of heavy shower [nod][nod][nod]

laugh.gif lai liao... Polik siao...

let me share abit of understanding.. i maybe wrong hur...laugh.gif

Ok,lots of people have the thinking when the surface is not smooth,the wax or sealant is gone..Basically the smooth feeling everytime after waxing is from the solvent or some people called it oil content in the sealant or wax..So when heavy downpour or after washing,the surface is not as smooth as before.. Is actually the layer of solvent or oil have been wash away but that does not mean wax is no longer there..

How do we know if it is still there??.. by the beading .. beading is just to indicate that the wax is still there.. how come there is beading..?? when u apply oil on a surface,pour with water..it sures bead.. so is actually oil/solvent from the wax or sealant gives u the beads...

Certain sealant,if apply multiples of layer continously,it will mute the shine,same goes to wax..so best do it weekly or biweekly,each time after car wash,use a Quick detailer to have the just wax feel...nod.gif

slickness is hard to maintain bro... unless u QD everytime.

I feel the same way as u... just apply new layer of sealant after everytime it rain tats all for mi now. [sweatdrop] No more layering....

sometime just wipe with clean water tats all didnt even apply QD hahaha

I know water beading and shine is still there but the slickness is gone. Which means when you wash the car, the water does not come off as easily as before when you wipe. I dont know if you get me. Its quite hard to explain. [:/]

Bro, u may want to check what kind of car shampoo you use to wash ur car. It affects the paint condition too. IMHO, it's best to wax ur car once a week for 2 - 3 months, then after that you can wax it for just once a month. Use water to wash ur car, no need any shampoo.

Just my 2cents...

cheers

Edited by Newbie89

Not all wax can be layered.

Slick and water beading doesn't mean protection too.

We are all betting on the manufacturer claims on protection.

I was wondering whether you guys do multiple layers for your sealants or waxes. I realised that no matter how many layers of sealant you apply, the slick and thick feel will surely disappear after a super HEAVY downpour.

When I ran my fingers across the paintwork, the paint feeling became very thin and not slick the least bit. So I decided to just AIO and wack one layer of sealant like Klasse or 2180. After the rain, the feeling is the same as compared to 3-4 layers of whatever protection. I always thought that layering and layering will give a super thick gloss and protection but the bloody rain so powerful can wash off everything damn it! [furious]

What you guys think? Polik kings Maddriver? Coltagious?

I don't really believe in shampoo bro. Water for me thats all. Unless I kena mud. [dizzy]