Simonsoh 2nd Gear July 25, 2013 Share July 25, 2013 On 7/24/2013 at 11:27 AM, Boxster said: Lucky yr kid can understand yr instructions I think most auto car have a solenoid to prevent the lever to be shifted from P which is actuated when you press the brake which contacts the brake switch. This switch is used for brake lights also However if gear is in Neutral , etc this doesn't applies really dun have any safety measure leh... once engine on, means gear can anyhow change liao. i knew it too late i guess... yup... lucky kid understood when i guided her through the zig zag sequence to put back to PARK... if not, i prepared to machiam jacky chan fly forward and inwards towards centre console and pull up handbrake all the way liao... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theyiqin October 15, 2013 Share October 15, 2013 gearbox problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 15, 2013 Share October 15, 2013 On 7/24/2013 at 11:18 AM, Simonsoh said: side track a bit. from what i hear, most of you need to depress your foot brake before or got some catch to release before can change your auto gear? my forte seem to be no need. got one time bloody dangerous. i put my 3yr old in front car seat, on engine and aircon and go put shopping bags in behind passenger seat. she change the gear from PARK to REVERSE. and because my handbrake was not fully engaged, the bloody car slowly inching backwards when my half body was in rear passenger side and her in front passenger seat. I use whole body weight to tahan the car and calmly guided her to push the gear back to PARK. i know from the PARK to REVERSE got a zig-zag sequence but somehow she managed to change gear. so from that day onwards, no matter how hot the car is, i NEVER on engine and aircon until limpeh is sitting in front and just before driving off. I tot u supposed to strap yr 3 yo in a car seat. Like that she cannot reach the gear selector. Otherwise next time she put in gear n press accelerator. Then sure got BANG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mgmgphyo 1st Gear October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 Never put kids in the front car seat. When I was like 5 years old, my dad left me and my brother in the car and went for a meeting. I was sitting in the front passenger seat and the car is manual and handbrake is not working. Suddenly I started playing with the gear and somehow it got into neutral position. The car started rolling but fortunately people come running help hold the car. Since then I was never allowed to sit at front till I could drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 On 10/15/2013 at 9:35 PM, Pisces69 said: I tot u supposed to strap yr 3 yo in a car seat. Like that she cannot reach the gear selector. Otherwise next time she put in gear n press accelerator. Then sure got BANG. she was in booster seat, those with backing type. so the seat belt is retractable as using car seat belt. can stretch forward and sideways to adjust aircon and radio etc and of course can reach the gear. but no way can reach accelerator lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 On 10/16/2013 at 12:26 AM, Mgmgphyo said: Never put kids in the front car seat. When I was like 5 years old, my dad left me and my brother in the car and went for a meeting. I was sitting in the front passenger seat and the car is manual and handbrake is not working. Suddenly I started playing with the gear and somehow it got into neutral position. The car started rolling but fortunately people come running help hold the car. Since then I was never allowed to sit at front till I could drive. Wah yr father never fix his handbrake ah? Then how he do handbrake turns? On 10/16/2013 at 3:39 AM, Simonsoh said: she was in booster seat, those with backing type. so the seat belt is retractable as using car seat belt. can stretch forward and sideways to adjust aircon and radio etc and of course can reach the gear. but no way can reach accelerator lah... Hahaha. So a good lesson u learnt. Anybody with kids in the car sud tell them very seriously never to touch the handbrake or gear lever even with engine off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mgmgphyo 1st Gear October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 On 10/16/2013 at 12:56 PM, Pisces69 said: Wah yr father never fix his handbrake ah? Then how he do handbrake turns? haha. He never replaced the handbrake cable but he is an old school. No need handbrake turns for him. I think if he see anybody do that, I am sure he will report the driver to TP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 On 10/16/2013 at 1:42 PM, Mgmgphyo said: haha. He never replaced the handbrake cable but he is an old school. No need handbrake turns for him. I think if he see anybody do that, I am sure he will report the driver to TP. Hahaha. So his "handbrake" is to put in gear. Then how to handbrake when engine running? Put stone under wheel ah? U see I also old school. Hahaha. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...