Pisces69 6th Gear July 16, 2007 Share July 16, 2007 Anyway NEA is beginning to issue warning letters to parked vehicles with engines turned on. So you people who like to keep engines turned on, beware, because I WILL also take down your numbers and send it to NEA. I'm sorry, but I think people who leave car engines turned on are extremely inconsiderate and irresponsible. ======================= I somehow get the impression that these drivers leaving their engines running has bothered you somehow. Maybe they park near your house & the noise or smell gets into your house & u don't like it? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 16, 2007 Share July 16, 2007 Hmmm... How about environmental concerns? Does the carbon monoxide play a part in polluting the environment? =================== New cars with a "cat" won't harm the environment. Only water comes out the back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adawang 1st Gear July 16, 2007 Share July 16, 2007 Any wait longer than 2min with the engine on is a waste of precious finite resources this planet has. Even though I use a cheaper fuel at MYR0.68/kg, I'm not stupid enough to let the car idle for more than 2min. Taxi drivers ought to be shot as well. All those cheap diesel going up in smoke just to power the A/C for them to sleep in it. Deisel trucks & taxis, the culprit. Leave the engine running while they go for the meal break, trucks leave their engine running while awaiting and doing delivery. Stink up the area with the diesel fmes, damn stink Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged July 16, 2007 Share July 16, 2007 even with "cat", it's not just water that comes out of the tailpipe! you have carbon monoxide & dioxide (global warming), oxides of nitrogen (acid rain), benzene (carcinogen), etc. and to those who argue that "if you so concerned, you shouldn't drive": please try to be more objective, stop attacking the person and don't change the subject. we all contribute to pollution and should try to reduce our contributions if we can, and every bit of prevention adds up. why should you bother? because you don't have another planet to move to if we pollute this one beyond repair. so please don't behave like it's not your problem. the haze we experience is the best reminder that what others do, do affect us and what we do, affects others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear July 16, 2007 Share July 16, 2007 If short time, I'll let it idle but if 5mins or more........I'll switched off ignition and enjoy the cool air which is still in my car........ Same here, the only difference is that i would step out of the car if its at night or take the chance to clean off bird sxxt during the day time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 16, 2007 Share July 16, 2007 OK lah. Maybe I sud do a little more for the environment like smoke less, eat less fried foods & shower less. I think I might stop using my computer to conserve electricity & also I heard the amount of pollution when 1 computer is made is much more then burning a couple tanks of petrol. Let's see what else I can do to save the world. I cud go live in a hut in a jungle somewhere. Anybody got a good recommendation for a nice, safe place in a near-by jungle I can use? But i'm afraid if I save the earth, it wil kill me instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear July 16, 2007 Share July 16, 2007 I think I might stop using my computer to conserve electricity & also I heard the amount of pollution when 1 computer is made is much more then burning a couple tanks of petrol. eh TS so when u com is idle, do u turn it off ah.... must off leh, cos when stand by mode also will sap power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear July 16, 2007 Share July 16, 2007 I hate vehicles waiting at the side of roads with engines turned on! Why don't they just turn off their engines? Especially at night, when it's cool... Bro, these people wanna enjoy aircon inside their ride that's why As for me, i would switch off my engine if the wait is more than 3 mins Does starting and stopping your engine more frequently increase wear & tear? What are the ways to counter this problem? (change engine oil more frequently?) Frequent starting will result in the starter to mati faster i believe but of course not to the extend that it will mati immediately Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear July 16, 2007 Share July 16, 2007 Now we so used to AC so even at night can b slightly warm so we leave the AC on. If u stopping for less then 5 mins, u wil use more fuel, wear on starter & battery when u re-start. >5 mins can consider to switch off engine, but then no more AC. actually, the figure is under 15 seconds, for petrol engine.. at most 20 seconds. so it wud actually save petrol to turn off engine at some lights here, just that the added wear and tear makes it not worthwhile Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 16, 2007 Share July 16, 2007 One should always choose the lesser of two weevils. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear July 16, 2007 Share July 16, 2007 i'm afraid the gahmen doesn't really care. but i will applaud ur intention to rock the boat 1. taxis leaving their cabs running to take naps, during mealtimes 2. lovers making out 3. insufficient tax breaks for hybrid and NG cars 4. insistence that diesel is a more pollutive fuel if all these are rampant, i think the occasional idling by private cars is a small evil in comparison Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 16, 2007 Share July 16, 2007 No need hunt in jungle. Just avoid eating more meat. Cultivating meat on this planet is very pollutive as well. All those methane given off by cows can raise temperatures! Nature will try to kill us always. Right now at the rate we are going burning all these fuels wastefully, we are helping nature do her job in executing all of us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 actually, the figure is under 15 seconds, for petrol engine.. at most 20 seconds. so it wud actually save petrol to turn off engine at some lights here, just that the added wear and tear makes it not worthwhile ==================== Then must wait for electric cars. Stop & immediately u stop using any energy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 No need hunt in jungle. Just avoid eating more meat. Cultivating meat on this planet is very pollutive as well. All those methane given off by cows can raise temperatures! Nature will try to kill us always. Right now at the rate we are going burning all these fuels wastefully, we are helping nature do her job in executing all of us. =========================== But if I stop meat & consume more veggies, then I will b giving off more methane. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...