How does starting and stopping your engine increase wear & tear?

Liquidh

I hate vehicles waiting at the side of roads with engines turned on! Why don't they just turn off their engines? Especially at night, when it's cool...

Does starting and stopping your engine more frequently increase wear & tear? What are the ways to counter this problem? (change engine oil more frequently?)

Now we so used to AC so even at night can b slightly warm so we leave the AC on. [sly]

If u stopping for less then 5 mins, u wil use more fuel, wear on starter & battery when u re-start.

>5 mins can consider to switch off engine, but then no more AC. [sweatdrop]

Anyway NEA is beginning to issue warning letters to parked vehicles with engines turned on. So you people who like to keep engines turned on, beware, because I WILL also take down your numbers and send it to NEA. I'm sorry, but I think people who leave car engines turned on are extremely inconsiderate and irresponsible.

Hmmm... How about environmental concerns? Does the carbon monoxide play a part in polluting the environment?

Idling is doing no good to anyone... except to make you feel more comfortable in the car. It hurts your wallet, pollutes the air, acclerate global warming. Please don't do it...

If short time, I'll let it idle but if 5mins or more........I'll switched off ignition and enjoy the cool air which is still in my car........

hey...u can bring ur stupid digital camera n go to the Sing-JB course way n take all the fugging car's number plate liao... all of them are idling there in the jam...

u really damn boh liao...... next time u get complain, make sure u dun whine here.

I hate vehicles waiting at the side of roads with engines turned on! Why don't they just turn off their engines? Especially at night, when it's cool...

care to explain why u hate them? i really don't understand what's wrong with leaving engine on when waiting leh hur.gif

Any wait longer than 2min with the engine on is a waste of precious finite resources this planet has.

Even though I use a cheaper fuel at MYR0.68/kg, I'm not stupid enough to let the car idle for more than 2min.

Taxi drivers ought to be shot as well. All those cheap diesel going up in smoke just to power the A/C for them to sleep in it.

I'm with you on this..

After reading the few postings here, just can't believe they are people who are just so inconsiderate even to themselves, by polluting the environment. They just forgot that global warming affects them, their parents, their siblings and their children too.

So just have to take down plate no and send in to NEA right?

All this idealistic talk... so much for being an environmentalist.

I care for the environment and is concern about global warming issues... but then all this nitty gritty things aint gonna help save our planet. if u care so much abt the global warming, sell ur car and take public transport, don't turn on the air con at home, reject all plastic bags and carriers when u go shopping, make sure u sort out ur plastics, paper and metal into recycle bins all the time... etc.... u can do all that?

being angry at people to leave the car engine on while car is idle? hah... might as well be angry at people who use plastic bags when they can bring their own carriers, might as well be angry at everyone who drives a large CC car (use more petrol what).

If TS is so much of the environmentalist than the hypocrite he is, he should be angry at the amount of fuel burnt for NDP practice and actual days then.

fuel for aircraft and transports, gunpowder for fireworks, the plastics used for the NDP goodie bags, the paper waste from all the confetti and plycards...etc

The traffic jams caused by the in evidently closed roads all are harmful!

Who knows, maybe he should stomp the entire NDP parade and copy down all the MID car numbers to NEA. [laugh]

I guess its all about being a sh1t stirrer, or rather, not being one.

Edited by Slowmo