it has been about 2 yrs since i moved to my new place

yet i still see lil ants crawling from the kitchen cupboard down to the oven

dunno y but we have cleared and did a thorough clean and check several times

the ants still come back leh

my neighbours also experienced same problem, but theirs more on little spiders

[sweatdrop]

any one of u out there has same case?

how u counteract?

PS: have placed those stickons for bait stations already...

[crazy]

Edited by Strawberrypink

wah is there a way to get rid of ants totally? i just assume that ants will be around no matter what u do. i see those tiny ants all the time in my house. usually in the kitchen. they so tiny can hide anywhere man, how to get rid?

but as for ur neighbours with spiders problem that is kinda weird.

here's what i did:

1)boil a kettle of water

2)put a pinch of sugar in the middle of the kitchen sink.

3)when i see an army of ants feasting on the sugar, pour the boiling water all over them. [sly]

do this a few times, they will be gone or at least greatly reduced.

actually tap water will do but boiling water has better effect.

Edited by Ultramega

Best way to get rid is to allow it to bring poisoned bait into their nest, it will kill most of them, except the eggs. Had the same problem, but markedly reduced since I started baiting.

nope.. if the scout ants go missing, more scouts will be sent out to hunt for them and food. once food is found, a chain will b formed to ferry it back to the nest. ants will be changing nest if they r not suitable.

treat house ants like ur natural vacuum cleaners. they meant no harm. unless they r fire ants, or termite then one will hv a serious problem.

if getting rid of them is necce, do a barrier of insecticide at the front door and adjacent window for continuously 1 week.

or just borrow some of the little spiders from your neighbour's house and rear them in your place. the spiders will eat up the ants. [:)]

usually ants are around because there is excess food. what i do is make sure you religiously clean up rubbish, and bits of food. cover all your food containers properly. i also shift the rubbish bag to a different position every day. just make sure the ants don't constantly find any food or the rubbish bin. because once they hit on a jackpot, it will reinforce their foraging activities in your house.

then once you have removed their food source, a good spray or two of insecticide will greatly reduce their numbers. keep this up and they will shift hunting grounds.

then go hunt for the small cracks through which they are coming through and use a silicon gel sealant (like the ones used on aquariums to make the edges water proof) on the openings. easy to find the openings - just follow the trail of ants and watch where they go.

same thing with flies and cockroaches - get rid of food and rubbish and they will disappear.

thanks all for the comments

i see these ants in trails de

yes i clean the rubbish and all regularly

mom n dad oso makes a point not to leave the day's kitchen rubbish in the house -all muz clear b4 bed.

i ok with the antz

but its kinda frustrating to hear my mom nag over it. lol

tried to find the source of the army of antz but no chance leh.

unless there's a dead pest we overlooked behind the fridge or something

[crazy]

try breaking the ants trail...

get them all confused..

the way of doing this is to use water to splash their path...

make sure they scatter around..

but me more cruel..me make sure all those ants die..

but religion wise..me praying that they will lead a better life in their next life..

and not be ants again of coz..so dun flame me sweatdrop.gif

and once u break their path continously...the ants prob will be reduced..

oh yah..always kill the scouts..without the scouts..

the ants cant find the paththumbsup.gif

My place also got ant n spider problem.

When I moved in, there were a lot of them n I bought the baits to kill them n their nest. It worked but recently these ants start appearing again. Not as many but 2 or 3 of them wondering ard the dining table, kitchen n coffee table although no food source available. Now killing them on sight wif my fingers.

Spiders a plenty also. I always vacuum the corners of the house but then another spider will take over the spider I killed. Its a neverending problem.

I hope to keep some lizards to eat away these pests!!! But my wife hate lizards, I love catching them n touch their soft soft skin n use them to scare the ladies!!! [laugh] Dont know why such cute lizards, ppl so scared of them. [:p]

Edited by Adrianli

I use rat poison, those little powdery / crystal stuff that they will carry back to their nest and the next day they'll be all gone. They'll be back again once the smell food though.

water is not effective. the best of the best is dettol. becos it will break up the chemical trail set by the ants.

this is to be done in a long continuous line so they wun hv idea to use it by getting ard the loop.

mopping the floor with dettol type chemical will help also then using those flowery scent type.

Bait station takes about a week or so to work so patience is the key. And while the bait stations are put to work, you will have to put up with the increased ant activity around the area... If you can find the source or at least where most of the ants are gathered, a pot of hot boiling water will do the trick nicely...

the bait put there very long le

lol

some bros and sis oso recommended me boiling water. but place where? i dun even know where the trails of antz come from leh