Chewbacca80 Neutral Newbie July 13, 2007 Share July 13, 2007 Hi! am a newbie to all these ICE stuff, was actually looking at changin my HU to make it IPOD compaitable, but after searching and researching and talking to ppl... i got kinda poison and after being with my ride for a mth, am getting abit dissatisfied with the sound system. oh yes as i was sayin i wanted to make it ipod comp, but realise those with ipod comp hu compromise on sound quality, so decided to prb get those conventional ones that can go further on upgrades like the p80 or alpine 9887... but now was told by another that i shld stick to stock n change my speakers instead... haizzz so any suggestions? shld i change HU first or speakers? all get a whole package.... budget about 1.5k any honest installers to recommend? cos i got a pls bluff me face! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spherex 1st Gear July 14, 2007 Share July 14, 2007 get a decent pair of component speakers and sound-proof the two front door for a start... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Replica_77 Neutral Newbie July 14, 2007 Share July 14, 2007 there's no right or wrong answer. if you are on a budget, then it'll make sense to change your speakers to a component set first. That said, if you have enough budget, do get your HU changed as well. HU will probably be a heavier investment than speakers (generally lah.... but my component is more costly than my HU, a P80). why is HU important? 'cos people say "rubbish in, rubbish out". So if you are very particular of sound quality, the source is very important. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rskeisuke Clutched July 14, 2007 Share July 14, 2007 sorry to hijack this thread.. how much to replace all 4 stock factory speakers? Just decent one will do, my aural range not fantastic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitty Neutral Newbie July 14, 2007 Share July 14, 2007 four speakers plus cross over plus tweeters and installation cost about $200.. JVC or Pionneer brand.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca80 Neutral Newbie July 14, 2007 Author Share July 14, 2007 went to check out several shops today, was recommended HU - pioneer p80, Morel dotech and amps - audison srx... 2.1k. issit worth it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saabretooth 2nd Gear July 14, 2007 Share July 14, 2007 Whats your objective? You want immmediate change in sound? Change speakers 1st. You want to have ipod compatibility, change HU first. What is your current HU and Speakers like? If you got budget, of course change both. Last but not least, do you know how to tune your system? or are you getting the installer to tune for you? is he going to charge? or just one price? If you don't want to spend money on tuning, change Speakers 1st. If you know how to tune, and got some money, Change HU, cause you can tune it to work with what you have, or you could meet up with the bros here and learn how to tune. Along the way, you can find a good budget set of speakers that one of the bros is letting go, you'll get your speaker set then. So which one is your priority? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca80 Neutral Newbie July 15, 2007 Author Share July 15, 2007 me changing both HU and speakers already.. getting installer to tune for me.. went to soundwerkz... v good! v professional and v patient. They even asked me to listen to 2 other their cars there and took time to explain to me the technicalities. so am getting the p80, audison srx amps and morel dotech speakers.. all in all 2.1k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic July 15, 2007 Share July 15, 2007 good setup for SQ did they setup passive or active for you? also, at this price, was soundproofing done? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kanchelsk 2nd Gear July 15, 2007 Share July 15, 2007 woofer for ur bass leh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic July 15, 2007 Share July 15, 2007 sorry to hijack this thread.. how much to replace all 4 stock factory speakers? Just decent one will do, my aural range not fantastic. replace fronts to components will do. leave the back as stock. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca80 Neutral Newbie July 15, 2007 Author Share July 15, 2007 installer say jus dont install first, next time if i am being poison further then install... no hurry.. slowly then will hear the diff in sound when this and that is added haaa.. aiya help me save money also good! sound proofing he also say slowly.. later not happy then soundproof Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic July 15, 2007 Share July 15, 2007 (edited) i disagree with your installer. your components are good. without soundproof and woofer, it doesn't do justice to your whole setup at all. i haven't come across any installer who does not think soundproof is necessary when first installing ICE. Edited July 15, 2007 by Theoldjaffa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca80 Neutral Newbie July 15, 2007 Author Share July 15, 2007 yahlor.. but i guess he say later cos he dont want me to spend too much mah... cos i told him my budget... n he say listen first.. when not happy then come back later to sound proof... as for sub wo.. am driving a nissan march.. super small boot space Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saabretooth 2nd Gear July 15, 2007 Share July 15, 2007 Not too bad, take your time then. In about a year, you'll prpbably find the funds to start changing or improving your set up. Congrats on your ICE journey. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca80 Neutral Newbie July 15, 2007 Author Share July 15, 2007 yes yes.. i hope i will enjoy my current ice for a long time n not get too restless so fast! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saabretooth 2nd Gear July 15, 2007 Share July 15, 2007 I think oncey you've saved up enough $$, you can do the Sound proofing at Sub at the same time. at that time, I think you might have to add some amps to power up the system. Next thing for sure is, you'll be buying, "borrowing" a lot of CDs.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kanchelsk 2nd Gear July 15, 2007 Share July 15, 2007 if u fixed slowly u luigi leh... the installer earn more money... cos of installation fee... if u do all one shot he dun earn tat much mah.. i also like ur case.. slowly put one by one... component speaker -> subwoofer -> amplifier -> jus did my 2 layer sound insulation last weekend... feel so expensive now.. if tat time fixed all i would be able to save the installation charge to buy a head unit liao.. haha... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...