Agent Warranty is Stingy, Warranty is Ploy to Earn our Money?

Gim_ong

Dear all fellow car owners,

I would like to invite you guys to share your experience on the agents when servicing claming Warranty etc.

Please share base on any of the following Cat.

1) Agent Name

2) PRICE of basic maintence Service.

3) WORKMANship quality

4) Ease of claiming warranty

5) Is the warranty easily Void

6) If we choose to void warranty, will we save more when we get outside Service centre?

7) Any Unhappy Experience with Authorized Agent or even PI.

8) The competency of the Service Crew. Seasoned or Green on the job training crew.

I like to share one of my negative experience as a Consumer point of view.

I felt that Agent gave the 3 years warranty is to give them the opportunity to earn even more then the Cars that they sold.

I when to C&C to service my Lancer, I wanted to bring in own Engine oil.

They say cannot, told me will void warranty.

I bring in same brand same specs of Engine oil. Shell Hylix Ultra. They won't even allow.

I can get it cheaper from outside, I do not mind paying labour charges.

When I service by them. They have Engine Oil in OIL DRUM, which means they buy in bulk and then RIP us off, made us pay more for the Shell hylix Ultra than we pay for off the shelves Shell Hylix Ultra.

CourFour, during Sale sold @ $60 (4litre bottle)

Currently the Basic maintence Package cost $162. It is really expensive.

It is really upsetting to see your car being molested by in-experienced on the job training Trainee Crew.

The price outside cost cheaper , like $130 with Engine Oil plus get an EXPERIENCEd Old bird to do for you.

Sigh!

Anyway please feel free to Recomend Value for money Worshop for servicing.

The aim for this Thread is to let fellow drivers know what they are getting from the Authorized agent and PI. Is that really worth it.

And also share the good news among drivers when they wanted to have a good deal .

Please do not zap me or anything I just want to create a sharing of information so that All END user can all benefits from

The purpose is to take agent into consideration when choosing cars

1) When Buying Car, take into consideration the reputation of Agent and the quality of the service team.

2) Obtain good and value for moeny information Auto Car service like, spray paint cost, Repair cost etc.

3) Know who are the bad hats in the Authorized agent and PT.

4) Discuss on : Should we buy cars without warranty ? So that we buy at the cheapest price possible?

Happy Sharing

Gimmy

Edited by Gim_ong

[reply]

I bring in same brand same specs of Engine oil. Shell Hylix Ultra. They won't even allow.

What is the excuse from C&C? Did you ask for a written confirmation from them (i.e. black and white)?

[reply]

4) Discuss on : Should we buy cars without warranty ? So that we buy at the cheapest price possible?

If you want to buy cars without warranty, they will play the same trick as the one they use with buying cars without COE.

that is one reason i prefer resale car.

for other examples, have you noticed why car warranty is 3 year but the car air con warranty is 1 year?

did u ever wonder why their warranty is either 3 year 60,000km or 5 year 100,000km when similar similar warranties are quoted in miles in other countries?

60,000km for a driver in the USA may last him only 1.5 years only. it is no coincidence because the national average mileage in singapore is about 20,000km per year. They are only willing to warranty up to 3 years but will gladly shorten the warranty if you drive much more than the average drivers in singapore.

Ya, Hyundai cars in USA is with 10-years warranty and they are dirt cheap. Now tell me about it...

For resale cars, if they are still under the AD's warranty, do you still go back to them or go somewhere else?

my AD workshop is still fairly reasonable as they allow me to bring my own service materials like oil and filter (and skip service interval) and since warranty supposedly paid for by 1st owner, i still go back. but that is really dependent on my impression of the AD workshop. if they try to impose limitations that make my servicing cost go much higher, i may find it not worthwile to stay with them. afterall, warranty claims usually only happen 2-3 times per 3 years.....and the item claimed may not exceed $300 - $400 most of the time.

during these 2-3 years, if every servicing pay 100 -200 extra, that will mean essentially our ownself are paying for the warranty items we are going to claim in the 2-3 years.

I share your sentiment, and is precisely why mostly like my next car will be a PI-ed car. You want to know PML? respray a bumper they charge >$500. Outside can do same job and faster(within 1 day) at half the price. [:|] . A simple check needs 1 whole day or must leave car overnight. Outwise workshops can do it within few hours and service better.

What service, its just an illusion. It just a way to tie u down.

I called up the Customer Service Officer called Brandon or Branson...

Told me that C&C do not know how long the Engine Sit on the Shelve of the Retail shop.

Maybe the Engine I buy is Expire.

But I told him got Shell life one ... , use within Shell life shouldn't be problem

Later he said still company policy ... cannot bring in own Engine Oil.

Gimmy

I guess most pple who have been sending their cars to the AD & also those BIG ws know that their charges r over-inflated, quality of work is questionable & after-sales service is almost non-existent here.

Many send for fear that if something major goes wrong, outside ws cannot fix it cos may need some "special" equipment.

I tried the services of those AD & big ws & was disappointed most if not all the time. That is why I now only use trusted & reliable smaller ws where normally the boss does the repair himself.

Why do u think many AD now tie u down with the threat that they will void the warranty if u send to other ws for servicing. During this 3 year period, they have the best chance to slice your throat [knife] from ear to ear cos they know many motorists r scared to void the warranty.

I wonder if anybody has actually challenged the legality of their ability to void the warranty just bcos u service at another ws?

You'll b surprised that it is actually illegal if u can prove that the car was serviced according to the manufacturers handbook.

Why don't u try & call their bluff & ask them to state in black & white that they will void the warranty if u service at another ws? Most if not all won't dare put it in writing.

As long as your car was serviced properly, they still have to honour the warranty.

Sporeans r so easily conned. [sly]

C&C all along have this policy of not allowing owner to bring own oil. That suxs, frankly tat's part of the reason why I dun buy from them.

Borneo not too bad, can bring own engine oil only.

Kah the best, when I bring my Jazz for servicing, I brought engine oil, oil filter, spark plugs, fuel filter, etc. No problem. [thumbsup]

Later he said still company policy ... cannot bring in own Engine Oil.

========================

Of course "company policy" is to make as much $$$ from the customer as possible. [sweatdrop]

As long as the oil complies to the API rating for your car & u use the correct grade, it is perfectly ok. U never ask him how long his oil was sitting on the dealers shelf b4 they bought it? Probably he also don't know. [rolleyes]

Kah puts it in writing. [:/]

Note: You are advised that the preventive maintenance services and repairs must be carried out only by the Honda service centres of KAH MOTOR CO. SDN. BHD. Any alteration, replacement or repair works carried out by any unauthorised person or persons may involve improper workmanship or tools and the use of non-genuine Honda parts and this may cause damage and/or consequent damage to your new Honda vehicle. Please note that such unauthorised works carried out during the duration of this warranty may render the warranty void. Such works also do not fall under the scope of this warranty and KAH MOTOR CO. SDN. BHD. shall not be held responsible to the owner for any damage or subsequent damage caused to the vehicle as aforesaid.

Edited by Fcw75

YOu got the point.

I did ask him, he cannot give me an answer.

just tell me they gurranty the Freshest Engine Oil as they keep replensih stock.

What a BS king!!

Man... Honestly I really hate C&C..

Since Got lobang outside, I sometimes, Wish to buy car without Warranty.

They Should sell 30% cheaper since no Warranty.

Gimmy.

Maybe next time if anybody want to buy a new car, just ask the salesman how much their warranty is "worth". If he say $2K, tell him to give u a $2K discount & u will "survive" without their warranty. See if this make them re-think their policy.

You see the warranty actually costs them almost nothing but the extra $$$ they make from you when u send your car to them for servicing is very profitable.

How much Kah charge for Labour cost only?

Gimmy

Edited by Gim_ong

Ya, Hyundai cars in USA is with 10-years warranty and they are dirt cheap. Now tell me about it...

For resale cars, if they are still under the AD's warranty, do you still go back to them or go somewhere else?

====================

USA got "Fair Trading Act" & many other laws to protect consumers which we have none over here. [sweatdrop]

We only keep hearing the words "Transparent, Transparent, Transparent" but see very little cos we wear glasses without transparent lenses.

I forgot liao...long time never send back since my warranty ended. [:p]

But for my case not too bad as I changed quite a number of items under warranty.