Wider rear tyre for SSS

Liping24

I am thinking of changing to a wider rear tyre on my swift sport.

My front is now 195/50/16, and it shall remain at that. Wider front tyre may rub against the fender, so I am sticking to the narrow tyre.

However I am thinking of getting a wider rear rim to fix in a 225/45/16 or 235/45/16 or 245/40/16 whichever the bigger one it can accomodate.

This will make the car look nice, especially looking from the rear view. I am not looking for any performance upgrade as I do not promote street racing [flowerface] .

Will the 'handling' of the car change?

1) Like will it cause the car during left/right turning to be 'unbalanced'

2) Will it reduce the acceleration timing? I think not since the driven front wheel remains the same, the rear is only just free rolling wheels(also assume same weight as front). Any comments?

3) Will it affect the ABS since the grip level is now different betweent he front and rear tyres.

Edited by Liping24

wider tyres as the rear are normally done only on rear wheel drive cars...since all the power comes from the rear you want maximum traction there....whereas for dragsters they will put wider front tyres on ff cars...

also wider tyres will definitely affect your acceleration timing, since there is more road contact now.

At traffic light, when you see the car infront of you. You will be able to see the wide tyres. It will give the impression that the car infront is nice.

The twin exhaust on SSS is nice in its original trim, so no need to change. Which is why I am now thinkin of changing to wider tyres to give the rear view a nice stance.

huh? change the front one lah goondoo... then can rub against the fender mah.... rubing is fun... if not belif u go ask tony76, he like to rub and being rub... but we raba raba with other thing not with the tyre... [laugh][laugh]

wonder can mirror the front to the back or not... if can, lagi better... can see both rear wheel [laugh][thumbsup]

since there is more road contact now.

not true. look at this

contactpatch1.gif

Imagine driving on to a glass road and looking up underneath your tyres. This is the example contact patch (in red) for the situation I explained above. The narrower tyre has a longer, thinner contact patch. The fatter tyre has a shorter, wider contact patch, but the area is the same on both.

Bro...some like front; some prefer to come from behind [:)] So behind naturally need more buffer to absorb the shock lor!! Why you care pple come from in front or behind?!! Always like to teach pple what to do wan leh you!!

I am thinking of changing to a wider rear tyre on my swift sport.

My front is now 195/50/16, and it shall remain at that. Wider front tyre may rub against the fender, so I am sticking to the narrow tyre.

However I am thinking of getting a wider rear rim to fix in a 225/45/16 or 235/45/16 or 245/40/16 whichever the bigger one it can accomodate.

This will make the car look nice, especially looking from the rear view. I am not looking for any performance upgrade as I do not promote street racing [flowerface] .

Will the 'handling' of the car change?

1) Like will it cause the car during left/right turning to be 'unbalanced'

2) Will it reduce the acceleration timing? I think not since the driven front wheel remains the same, the rear is only just free rolling wheels(also assume same weight as front). Any comments?

3) Will it affect the ABS since the grip level is now different betweent he front and rear tyres.

By doing so, you can't do rotation anymore, period. Hence the need to change tyres frequently.

Bro...I think tyre rotation is the least of her concern if u read her thread carefully. She can well afford the frequent change [nod]

wat she wanted is this:

(1) she want her left and right 2b balanced although her behind is big;

(2) she want her behind 2b free rolling but the acceleration timing coming from behind must not be reduced;

(3) she want her front and behind to have the same grip.

btw, I'm refering to her SSS...not sleazy innuendos [sly] Liping24 is too nice for me to do tt to her [inlove]

Edited by Chickenfarm

I noticed, i'm just highlighting another concern if she were to upsize her rear tyres...

Another thought to ponder, thats all.

The offset for the rear for most cars allow you to use bigger tyres, as in 'fatter' ones. But the visual change is minimal as your rims are still the same ones. For better visual impact, the rims would have to be say broader (say, 7" front and 8" rear).

For daily street driving, the impact is minimal be it handling or braking. But like everyone is saying, you lose the benefit of tyre rotation. But at 16", tyres are not really that expensive. Then again, you have to choose a tyre that is common dimension, not one that is rare which may end up more expensive than a common 17" one.

still can smoke.... smoke those RX300 with big rear wheel lor [sly]

Actually i would like to know what car u refering to that can smoke a RX300 with big wheels [pirate]

Edited by Wpho

Actually i would like to know what car u refering to that can smoke a RX300 with big wheels. I have an Rx300 with 21" wheels and i am curious to know...

oh... are we going to witness liping's SSS vs Rx300 with 21" challenge??? [sly]

Rx300s with big wheels are not for racing, they are good for the visual but of course, if some thinks they want to smoke it...then...have to see how it turns out... [;)]

Edited by Wpho