Boyboy 1st Gear July 12, 2007 Share July 12, 2007 Hi Slayer, Gear 2 --- 20km/hr @ rpm 2K Gear 3 --- 30 km /hr @ rpm 2K Gear 4 ---- 45 km /hr @ rpm 2100 Gear 5 ----- 60km/hr @ rpm 2200 I just have monitored driving with Windows down. NO PINGING of the Engine. Cheers Gimmy u can change gear at even lower speed, but if u dun mind slowpickup if u want fast pickup, better to drag abit of gear for safety and less strain on engine. just my 2c ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear July 12, 2007 Share July 12, 2007 When I looked that the thread title..."Tips to increase FC"... I thought... isn't it easy... rev all you can... fuel consumption sure increase one... BTW... just curious... you are trying to reduce FC for saving $$$ or for the kick of it. I think you could have spend more $$$ than you save via fuel-saving. You might incur more cost later, cos keeping engines at low-revs is a sure way of carbon build-up. My friend got to overhaul his engines due to carbon build-up because he never rev pas 2500rpm. He decided to scrap the car instead. Is yours a AT? You may also wear the transmission if you switch between D and N too often... if its a MT... then it's not so bad. BTW, when going down hill, if you release the accelarator pedal, the momentum keeps the car engine going, some ECU actually cuts of fuel to the engine. But if you are in neutral, the engine have to run on petrol to keep it idling... so you might not save petrol in this way. Good luck to you... BC I like ur reply man!!!! it sounded like the TS has just banged his balls no. it sounds like most pple here dun think abt the free-wheeling issue if u freewheel when braking to a stop for the lights, u waste fuel as scag said if u freewheel on a downslope to a flat, no intention of stopping, u reduce drag from the engine (whether u accelerate to an unsafe speed or not as a result, i shall not dwelve into). sure, engine burns fuel at idling rate, but overall u save fuel in such a situation. in the limited time i've had this ride and the limited conditions i've driven, two main conditions do not permit freewheeling. 1. hard cornering at high speed (track for e.g.) 2. driving downhill in mountainous regions where do we get that in singapore? HA-HA at safe speed, nope, i never felt a need to keep the car in gear. only to allow engine to "push" the car so no fuel is burnt then Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear July 12, 2007 Share July 12, 2007 u are exactly right. i have the chance to drive auto and manual.. seems like many pple here only drive manual Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zcold 2nd Gear July 12, 2007 Share July 12, 2007 hmm.. i also dun have the gear ratio... hell.. even if i had i also dunno how to calculate wad speed wad gear... anyways i tink i didnt put my point across clearly... wad i meant is one shld change gear according to the road conditions (or 'feeling') instead of doing sticking to a specific rpm like TS ... of course u can hit 5th gear at 50... much easier if you are going downslope... but somehow i feel that that defeats the purpose of having gears? .. besides... for average sedan... even if the gear ratio are different... is it the difference that great such that i cant generalise? ... i dun tink that car designers design 5 gears juz for hitting 50hm/h rite... aft 50km/h then nothing to do le? my england not so good... dunno if u understand wad i mean... paiseh arh hmmm... wads the check spelling icon for... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear July 12, 2007 Share July 12, 2007 ya i still do. that's what I am talking about. can drop to 1(L) or 2 too ya but in normal mode it wont' drop. actually once u off OD the gear automatically drop according to speed to provide engine brake, very handy really too bad not available in my current car. in my current if i need engine brake i'll have to go into manual mode to select gear myself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear July 12, 2007 Share July 12, 2007 yea he's just trying to share tips to achieve good fc, in a polite manner somemore, but why so many ppl shoot him herd mentality. typical of most pple, particularly citizens of our nation even the free-wheeling issue.. auto cars have practically no engine braking to speak of at normal cruising speeds. so all auto cars are freewheeling, unless u purposely downshift (and make the transmission up lorry faster). so auto cars dangerous? personally, i dun support freewheeling all the time, for FC reasons. but it isn't as dangerous as driving school paints it to be agreed but we better stop here else we'll invite flames very soon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear July 12, 2007 Share July 12, 2007 i was on manual for more than 10 yrs before switching to auto due to the constant need to get caught in the causeway jam i would love to have a manual again but unfortunately, it's not available on our ride my next ride would probably be 6 to 9 yrs later liao... hopefully i still remember how to drive manual then Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazz 2nd Gear July 12, 2007 Share July 12, 2007 brake is still working leh.. unless he off engine as well You making me laugh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear July 12, 2007 Share July 12, 2007 Glad that you enjoy the free jokes... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear July 13, 2007 Share July 13, 2007 It does drop a little I tried out late last night while driving home. cruising at 80km/h, flat road, when i release the gas, it took 5 second or there about to drop 5kmh to 75kmh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear July 14, 2007 Share July 14, 2007 eh that one is more like wind resistance la engine brake is as good as nothing if the rpm stays below 3k anyway, we all drive gentle gentle one no need engine brake, it's not that we go for race or cuping corner at limit or what Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mysupercar Neutral Newbie July 20, 2007 Share July 20, 2007 (edited) I've heard that constantly switching to N gear while driving will spoit the Gear Box easily. What do you want to achieve? A reliable Gearbox or a good FC (with lousy Gearbox)? By the way the Best FC I've found out is Don't Drive (unnecessarily). Edited July 20, 2007 by Mysupercar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepgod Neutral Newbie July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 Bro... just my 2 cents worth. 1) Changing gear at 1500 ~ 1700 rpm per gear is not idea. You are not maximising each gear efficiency properly and when you step up to the next gear, more effort (petrol + air) will be needed for the car to get back to the optimal driving point per gear. Idea gear change is around 2500 ~ 3000 rpm. 2) Are you sure that the $620 EZ-stab EXTreme is getting you 12 ~ 13.5Km/L? Or perhaps your car is still new, in run-in condition where the injectors are very clean? 13.5Km/L is unbelievable to me, which means that if you top up at say at 47L... your mileage is around 634.5Km... really too good to be true, bro. When it comes to savings....STP Fuel Injector Cleaner addictives (around $7 per bottle) is a great buy and helps to clean your injectors, better your FC and increase milleage. Given $620, I will be able to buy 88 bottles to use every month for 7 years. Thats almost the life span of Singapore cars nowadays. Just my 2 cents worth of opinion... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepgod Neutral Newbie July 24, 2007 Share July 24, 2007 (edited) No, switching to N gear does not spoil the gear box. It minimises wear and tear on the gear bushings or sychro mesh. But then again, this is not a good reason to use N gear in expense of FC and safety Edited July 24, 2007 by Sleepgod Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rofy Clutched July 26, 2007 Share July 26, 2007 Just for reading interest, http://www.motherjones.com/news/feature/20...ypermilers.html http://kotv.com/news/local/story/?id=126883 http://www.hypermiling.com/ http://www.kotv.com/news/topstory/?id=126884 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear July 26, 2007 Share July 26, 2007 Bro, The tips to INCREASE FC is full throttle your car wherever you go. That was pretty easy huh. I suppose you mean DECREASE FC. 1) Turn off air-con 2) I change gear every 2.5krpm ( Will get me around 0.1 - 0.3 Boost ) Able to achive avg 9km/l Oh man... ur sentence..Damn Sacrastic.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbine Neutral Newbie July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 If i was i wounldn't write something else. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hungryforcar 1st Gear July 27, 2007 Share July 27, 2007 Bro, i driving impreza as well, i find that 60 km engage 5th gear the car abit underpower leh, provide str road, abit uphill dun eng 5 gear so fast. im drive as normal change gear at 2-3rpm, FC is 10km/l, havent first scv yet now only 1100km. My frd adv after the first scv, usually the FC will improve. AWD is good. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...